The Defining Decade

Author: Meg Jay
Publisher: Canongate Books
ISBN: 9781782114932
Release Date: 2016-04-07
Genre: Self-Help

Contemporary culture tells us the twentysomething years don't matter. Clinical psychologist Dr Meg Jay argues that this could not be further from the truth. In fact, your twenties are the most defining decade of adulthood. The Defining Decade weaves the latest science of the twentysomething years with real-life stories to show us how work, relationships, personality, social networks, identity and even the brain can change more during this decade than at any other time in adulthood. Smart, compassionate and constructive, The Defining Decade is a practical guide to making the most of the years we cannot afford to miss.

After College

Author: Erica Young Reitz
Publisher: InterVarsity Press
ISBN: 9780830894369
Release Date: 2016-08-08
Genre: Religion

"The first year out was one of the hardest years of my life." —Curt The years after college can be some of the most uncertain, unstable times of life. Recent graduates grieve the loss of community, question their place in the world and struggle to find meaningful work. It can be shocking to discover that college did not fully prepare you for the challenges you now face. "It's much rougher than I thought. I thought things would just play out, and they didn't. I don't have friends, I don't have a job and I hang out with my parents every night." —Kate But you are not alone. For more than a decade, Erica Young Reitz has specialized in helping college seniors and recent graduates navigate the transition to post-college life. Drawing on best practices and research on senior preparedness, she offers practical tools for a life of faithfulness and flourishing during a critical, transitional time. This practical guide addresses the top issues graduates face: making decisions, finding friends, managing money, discerning your calling and much more. Discover how you can thrive beyond your undergraduate years. If you feel lost in transition, here are resources to help you flourish as a Christ-follower in a complex world.

The Thinking Girl s Guide to the Right Guy

Author: Joanne Davila
Publisher: Guilford Publications
ISBN: 9781462523375
Release Date: 2015-12-15
Genre: Family & Relationships

Love--like life--is full of choices. But choices can be complicated. Do you want to settle down and get married? Do you want to maintain your independent lifestyle, yet still have a partner? Are you looking for a friend with benefits? According to relationship experts Joanne Davila and Kaycee Lashman, the key to finding the right guy for you is shifting the focus to you. This empowering guide offers evidence-based strategies and practical tools to help you figure out what you need to be happy and fulfilled--and whether he has what it takes. Vivid, realistic stories of women in their 20s illustrate how to approach dating with self-confidence, navigate conflict with communication and understanding, and recognize the red flags of unhealthy relationships. An exciting, caring, and respectful partnership is possible--build the skills to make it happen.

The 30 Day Love Detox

Author: Wendy Walsh
Publisher: Rodale Books
ISBN: 9781609619718
Release Date: 2013-04-23
Genre: Self-Help

There is no question the terrain has changed. We can do what we want and date who we want, but do we have the tools to navigate our hard-won sexual freedom? Now, from the dating doyenne of the Sex and the City generation comes a groundbreaking prescription for smart, savvy, slow-love. Dr. Wendy Walsh's outside-the-box approach to relationships turns traditional thinking on its head by using evolutionary psychology to offer advice that is both empowering and practical. In The 30-Day Love Detox, Walsh offers a step-by-step, five-part attachment strategy with a 30-day "detox" that helps weed out the bad boys and sets you up to meet the right guy, including: - The five sexual myths that keep women single - When to say yes to sex in a new relationship - How to use technology to bring your crush closer - How to spot a commitment-oriented man at his peak readiness Melding scientific research, anthropological truths, and proven techniques, The 30-Day Love Detox is a revolutionary road map to finding lasting love in a modern world.

Dare to Date

Author: Aukelien van Abbema
Publisher: SPCK
ISBN: 9780281077021
Release Date: 2017-01-19
Genre: Religion

‘It’s Complicated’ Matters of the heart always seem to be. But dating in the church? It can be even worse. Relationships can be difficult to define, intentions hard to discern. But with singles making up a third of the total church congregation in the UK, there is a real need to demystify the dating process and return to dating in its simplest form. Rediscover how to date. In this brand new handbook, couples psychologist and dating course leader Aukelien van Abbema offers guidance on how to understand yourself and your own dating patterns, how to rely on your network of friends, and how to bring God into the whole process. Filled with wisdom, stories and practical advice, this book is a freeing reassessment of the dating scene. Begin a whole new romantic adventure filled with hope, joy and a lot of laughter. Go on, dare to date.

What Doesn t Kill Us

Author: Stephen Joseph
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780748119110
Release Date: 2012-02-02
Genre: Self-Help

Research has shown than anywhere from 30 to 90 per cent of people confronted by tragedy, horror and adversity emerge as wiser, more mature and more fulfilled people, sometimes despite great sadness. Relationships become stronger. Perspectives on life change. Inner strengths are found. For the past twenty years, Stephen Joseph has worked with survivors of trauma and sufferers of posttraumatic stress. In this groundbreaking book, he boldly challenges the notion that trauma and its aftermath devastate and destroy the lives. His studies have shown that a wide range of traumatic events - from illness, separation, assault and bereavement to accidents, natural disasters and terrorism - can act as catalysts for positive change, strengthening relationships, changing one's perspective and revealing inner strengths. In What Doesn't Kill Us, Stephen Joseph shares the six steps we can all use to manage our emotions and navigate adversity to find new meaning, purpose and direction in our lives.

Malled

Author: Caitlin Kelly
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101476376
Release Date: 2011-04-14
Genre: Political Science

One woman's midcareer misadventures in the absurd world of American retail. After losing her job as a journalist and the security of a good salary, Caitlin Kelly was hard up for cash. When she saw that The North Face-an upscale outdoor clothing company-was hiring at her local mall, she went for an interview almost on a whim. Suddenly she found herself, middle-aged and mid-career, thrown headfirst into the bizarre alternate reality of the American mall: a world of low-wage workers selling overpriced goods to well-to-do customers. At first, Kelly found her part-time job fun and reaffirming, a way to maintain her sanity and sense of self-worth. But she describes how the unexpected physical pressures, the unreasonable dictates of a remote corporate bureaucracy, and the dead-end career path eventually took their toll. As she struggled through more than two years at the mall, despite surgeries, customer abuse, and corporate inanity, Kelly gained a deeper understanding of the plight of the retail worker. In the tradition of Nickel and Dimed, Malled challenges our assumptions about the world of retail, documenting one woman's struggle to find meaningful work in a broken system.

Social Inequality in Canada

Author: Edward G. Grabb
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015082721302
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Canada

Social Inequality in Canada is a collection of twenty-eight articles that cover all of the major aspects of social inequality. The text covers two broad components: objective or structural conditions of social inequality (power, poverty and wealth, occupations, and educational attainment, in particular) and ideologies that help support these differences. Readers who would prefer a more egalitarian society than currently exists in Canada will find reasons for both optimism and pessimism in the research presented here. The studies in this collection demonstrate that some types of inequality are generally becoming more marked over time, while others have considerably diminished, and still more that show little change in recent decades.

Language Policies and Dis Citizenship

Author: Prof. Vaidehi Ramanathan
Publisher: Multilingual Matters
ISBN: 9781783090211
Release Date: 2013-08-07
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

This volume explores the concept of 'citizenship', and argues that it should be understood both as a process of becoming and the ability to participate fully, rather than as a status that can be inherited, acquired, or achieved. From a courtroom in Bulawayo to a nursery in Birmingham, the authors use local contexts to foreground how the vulnerable, particularly those from minority language backgrounds, continue to be excluded, whilst offering a powerful demonstration of the potential for change offered by individual agency, resistance and struggle. In addressing questions such as 'under what local conditions does "dis-citizenship" happen?'; 'what role do language policies and pedagogic practices play?' and 'what kinds of margins and borders keep humans from fully participating'? The chapters in this volume shift the debate away from visas and passports to more uncertain and contested spaces of interpretation.