Disability and Social Media

Author: Katie Ellis
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781317150275
Release Date: 2016-11-10
Genre: Social Science

Social media is popularly seen as an important media for people with disability in terms of communication, exchange and activism. These sites potentially increase both employment and leisure opportunities for one of the most traditionally isolated groups in society. However, the offline inaccessible environment has, to a certain degree, been replicated online and particularly in social networking sites. Social media is becoming an increasingly important part of our lives yet the impact on people with disabilities has gone largely unscrutinised. Similarly, while social media and disability are often both observed through a focus on the Western, developed and English-speaking world, different global perspectives are often overlooked. This collection explores the opportunities and challenges social media represents for the social inclusion of people with disabilities from a variety of different global perspectives that include Africa, Arabia and Asia along with European, American and Australasian perspectives and experiences.

Daredevil Vol 3

Author: Mark Waidÿ
Publisher: Marvel Entertainment
ISBN: 9781302481285
Release Date: 2015-07-22
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Daredevil's recent traumas have left him coping in an unexpected way! A mystery that's been building since issue one starts to pay off big! San Francisco now has two men without fear -- and only one will be left standing! Collecting Daredevil (2014) #11-15.

Comic Connections

Author: Sandra Eckard
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781475828092
Release Date: 2018-12-28
Genre: Education

This book is designed to help teachers from middle school through college find exciting new strategies to help students develop their literacy skills.

Daredevil

Author: Mark Waid
Publisher:
ISBN: 1302481282
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Comic books, strips, etc

Collects Daredevil (2014) #11-15. The end begins here with the return of one of Matt Murdock's oldest and (now) scariest enemies. But who? A mystery that's been building since the very beginning starts to pay off big as Daredevil's recent traumas have him coping in an unexpected way! Writing his own life story has forced Matt Murdock to face his darkest demons -- and it's changing him. Kirsten and Foggy don't like the man Daredevil is becoming -- and neither do the San Francisco police! As the Owl sets his machinations into motion, another old foe waits in the wings to blindside Daredevil. Matt must make some hard choices -- but is he going off the deep end? Guest-starring the Stunt-Master!

Death Disability and the Superhero

Author: José Alaniz
Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi
ISBN: 9781626743274
Release Date: 2014-10-15
Genre: Literary Criticism

The Thing. Daredevil. Captain Marvel. The Human Fly. Drawing on DC and Marvel comics from the 1950s to the 1990s and marshaling insights from three burgeoning fields of inquiry in the humanities—disability studies, death and dying studies, and comics studies—José Alaniz seeks to redefine the contemporary understanding of the superhero. Beginning in the Silver Age, the genre increasingly challenged and complicated its hypermasculine, quasi-eugenicist biases through such disabled figures as Ben Grimm/The Thing, Matt Murdock/Daredevil, and the Doom Patrol. Alaniz traces how the superhero became increasingly vulnerable, ill, and mortal in this era. He then proceeds to a reinterpretation of characters and series—some familiar (Superman), some obscure (She-Thing). These genre changes reflected a wider awareness of related body issues in the postwar United States as represented by hospice, death with dignity, and disability rights movements. The persistent highlighting of the body’s “imperfection” comes to forge a predominant aspect of the superheroic self. Such moves, originally part of the Silver Age strategy to stimulate sympathy, enhance psychological depth, and raise the dramatic stakes, developed further in such later series as The Human Fly, Strikeforce: Morituri, and the landmark graphic novel The Death of Captain Marvel, all examined in this volume. Death and disability, presumed routinely absent or denied in the superhero genre, emerge to form a core theme and defining function of the Silver Age and beyond.

Chase s Calendar of Events 2014

Author: Editors of Chase's Calendar of Events
Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional
ISBN: 9780071830911
Release Date: 2013-10-04
Genre: Education

As featured on The Today Show! 12,500 entries. 196 countries. 365 days. Find out what's going on any day of the year, anywhere across the globe! If you're looking to tie a promotional event to a special month, create a suggested reading list based on a literary birth anniversary, travel to a music festival halfway around the world, blog about a historical milestone or do a celebrity birthday round-up on your radio show or Twitterfeed, Chase's Calendar of Events is the one resource that has it all. For broadcasters, journalists, event planners, public relations professionals, librarians, editors, writers or simply the curious, this is one reference you can't do without! Chase's Calendar of Events 2014 brings you: Major sporting events such as the Games of the XXII Winter Olympiad at Sochi, Russia (Feb 7-23), and the FIFA World Cup in Brazil (June 12-July 13). Milestones such as the 450th birth anniversary of William Shakespeare; the 200th anniversary of "The Star- Spangled Banner"; the 100th anniversaries of the beginning of World War I and the opening of the Panama Canal; the 75th anniversary of the beginning of World War II; the 50th anniversaries of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Beatlemania and much more. New birthday entries for sports stars such as Mo Farah (Mar 23), Ryan Lochte (Aug 3) and Gabrielle Douglas (Dec 31); actors such as Kerry Washington (Jan 31), Lena Dunham (May 13) and Mads Mikkelsen (Nov 22); musical artists such as Carly Rae Jepsen (Nov 21) and Psy (Dec 31); and authors such as Téa Obreht (Sept 30) and Ann Patchett (Dec 2) and many others. Special days such as National Ferret Day (Apr 2), World Lindy Hop Day (May 26), Extra Mile Day (Nov 1), Lost and Found Day (Dec 12) and more. Search Chase's Any Way You Want! Whether you want to target a specifi c date, location or subject, our fully searchable CD-ROM (PCand MAC-compatible) makes your research quick and easy. Also included is a free installer, so you can load Chase’s directly to your hard drive.

Books in Print

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015062097707
Release Date: 2005
Genre: American literature

Books in print is the major source of information on books currently published and in print in the United States. The database provides the record of forthcoming books, books in-print, and books out-of-print.

Pushing the Limits Collection Volume 2

Author: Katie McGarry
Publisher: Harlequin
ISBN: 9781488098888
Release Date: 2018-01-15
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Don’t miss these irresistible reads from the beloved Pushing the Limits series by critically acclaimed author Katie McGarry, perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout, Stephanie Perkins, and Erin Watt! TAKE ME ON Champion kickboxer Haley swore she’d never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young, the guy she can’t stop thinking about. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she’d stay away from. Yet he won’t last five seconds in the ring without her help. BREAKING THE RULES For new high school graduate Echo Emerson, a summer road trip out west with her hot and soul-battered boyfriend, Noah Hutchins, means getting away and forgetting what makes her so…different. Now, with one week left before college orientation, jobs and real life, Echo must decide if Noah’s more than the bad-boy fling everyone warned her he’d be. CHASING IMPOSSIBLE Tough and independent, seventeen-year-old Abby lets very few people into her inner circle. It’s common knowledge in her Kentucky town that she deals drugs, but not even her closest friends know why. When Abby’s lifestyle leaves her in danger, she finds herself reluctantly forced to lean on daredevil Logan. Titles originally published in 2014 and 2015.

Born in the 40s

Author: Tim Glynne-Jones
Publisher: Arcturus Publishing
ISBN: 9781784043742
Release Date: 2014-08-15
Genre: History

Take a stroll down Memory Lane with this wonderful collection of photographs of Britain in the 1940s, which evokes those Happy Days when everyone pulled together to defeat Hitler and kept smiling despite the hardship of the post-war years.

America History and Life

Author: Eric H. Boehm
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015065458393
Release Date: 1997
Genre: United States

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

The Dark Knight Returns The Last Crusade Deluxe Edition

Author: Frank Miller
Publisher: DC Comics
ISBN: 9781401275693
Release Date: 2016-12-20
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Frank Miller, along with co-writer Brian Azarrello and artist John Romita Jr., revisit the gritty world of to the best-selling and genre-defining graphic novel, THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS, with this time telling prequel, THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS: THE LAST CRUSADE, The tale of Batman’s last adventure before his retirement and eventual return years later. As the Joker is manically returned to Arkham Asylum, Bruce Wayne is struggling to train his sidekick and heir apparent, the new Robin, Jason Todd. While a new string of bizarre killing sprees involving Gotham City’s elite take up Batman and Robin’s attention, critics begin to question if the Dark Knight has a right to endanger the life of a child. What does night after night of danger and brutality do to a child? And what is the Joker planning? THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS: THE LAST CRUSADE presents this prequel story to THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS plus a variant cover gallery, pages from Frank Miller's original script and pencils by John Romita Jr.