Belshazzar s Daughter Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1

Author: Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755382132
Release Date: 2010-12-09
Genre: Fiction

A secret worth killing for... Barbara Nadel introduces Inspector Cetin Ikmen for the first time in her debut novel, Belshazzar's Daughter. Perfect for fans of Jason Goodwin and Donna Leon. 'Exciting, accomplished and original' - Literary Review Leonid Meyer is found murdered in his flat in Balat, Istanbul's decrepit Jewish quarter, a swastika daubed on the wall in the old man's blood. But Inspector Cetin Ikmen is quick to eschew the obvious conclusion that this is a racist attack. The evidence leads Ikmen and his young lieutenant, Suleyman, to two people: Robert Cornelius, a teacher observed outside Meyer's flat shortly after the murder, and a retired businessman, Reinhold Smits, known to have had Nazi sympathies. But another link connects these two: a ninety-year-old Russian émigré, Maria Gulcu, a widow who thinks she possesses a secret worth killing for... What readers are saying about Belshazzar's Daughter: 'An engaging, fascinating picture of life in Turkey. Wonderful characters and a deep plot that constantly draws one to read on' 'An excellent murder mystery set in the twilight world of old aristocracies in modern day Istanbul' 'An intense psychological drama with an impressive array of characters and colourful descriptions of the less salubrious areas of Istanbul. Nadel successfully evokes the hot sultry atmosphere of modern Turkey'

Belshazzar s Daughter

Author: Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Minotaur Books
ISBN: 9781466869288
Release Date: 2014-04-29
Genre: Fiction

When a brutal murder shocks Istanbul's rundown Jewish quarter, the Turkish police force unleashes their best weapon - the chain-smoking, brandy-swilling Inspector Cetin Ikmen, husband to a strict Muslim woman (who disapproves of his drinking) and loving father of eight (with another on the way). With a colorful, multi-layered setting and a delicious labyrinthine plot, Barbara Nadel's Belshazzar's Daughter is a stunning and evocative crime debut, and Inspector Ikmen will surely join the ranks of beloved foreign cops Aureilo Zen and Guido Brunetti.

Last Rights Francis Hancock Mystery 1

Author: Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755378517
Release Date: 2010-05-06
Genre: Fiction

How deeply can you bury a crime? Critically acclaimed crime writer Barbara Nadel introduces undertaker Francis Hancock in the first of her brilliant World War Two crime series. Last Rights is perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths and Nicola Upson. 'Gripping and unusual detective story... vivid and poignant' - Literary Review October 1940. The London borough of West Ham is in the grip of yet another night of bombing, and undertaker Francis Hancock is in the grip of yet another night of temporary insanity. A veteran of World War One, Francis is forced by the nightly air raids to relive the trauma of the trenches, and all he can do is try to outrun the horrific flashbacks. So when he sees a man lurching through the rubble, screaming about being stabbed but with no visible wound, Francis dismisses it at the ravings of another lost soul... until the man's body turns up at his funeral parlour, two days later. Suspecting foul play, Francis feels compelled to discover what really happened that night - but he finds himself pitted against violent thugs, an impenetrable network of lies and his own fragile sanity. What readers are saying about Last Rights: 'Nadel brings the horrors of the Blitz straight home to the reader in a very readable way that no history book or documentary could come close' 'Tight, disciplined and very interesting novel' 'A good, atmospheric read for those of us who enjoy a good murder'

A Passion for Killing

Author: Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline Book Pub Limited
ISBN: 0755337522
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Fiction

A killer with means but no motive, and the body count is rising... A man is found dead in a hotel room, a single stab wound in his heart. Could he be a victim of the 'Peeper'? The body of the man is delivered to forensics, but it is entirely clean. Has someone tampered with it? Meanwhile a young carpet dealer, on the brink of a huge sale, is found dead in the mangled remains of his Jeep. The deal would have made him - the carpet he wanted to sell used to belong to Lawrence of Arabia. Inspector Cetin Ikmen discovers that the young man was hiding a deadly secret...

The Ottoman Cage

Author: Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Minotaur Books
ISBN: 9781466861572
Release Date: 2013-12-31
Genre: Fiction

Barbara Nadel's The Ottoman Cage is a spicy thriller set in Istanbul's back alleys. When a brutal murder shocks Istanbul's rundown Jewish quarter, the Turkish police force unleashes their best weapon - the chain-smoking, brandy-swilling Inspector Cetin Ikmen, husband to a strict Muslim woman (who disapproves of his drinking) and loving father of eight (with another on the way). With such a colorful personality and unrivaled investigative powers, Ikmen will surely join the ranks of beloved foreign cops Aureilo Zen and Guido Brunetti.

What Do I Read Next

Author: Neil Barron
Publisher:
ISBN: IND:30000096130921
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Fiction genres

This volume contains descriptions of 1,245 books in nine fiction genres, including author or editor's name, publication information, story type, major characters, setting, plot summary, and more.