Bayou Charlie S Tales Myths and Legends

Author: C.M. Andrews
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781479767762
Release Date: 2013-01-31
Genre: Fiction

ARE THEY FACT ?......................ARE THEY FICTION? ARE THEY MYTH?......................ARE THEY LEGEND? ARE THEY REAL? .......................ARE THEY FAKE? THESE SHORT STORIES WERE TOLD TO ME BY THE PEOPLE THAT LIVE ON THE BAYOUS. BY THE PEOPLE THAT LIVE THERE FOR GENERATION AFTER GENERATION. WEATHER THEY ARE TRUE OR NOT, MYTH LEGEND OR FANTASY IS FOR YOU THE READER TO DECIDE.......AND BEWARE. BAYOU CHARLIE

Myths and Legends of America

Author: Charles M. Skinner
Publisher: Fireship Press
ISBN: 9781611790252
Release Date: 2007-12-19
Genre: Fiction

266 Strange Tales, Myths and Legends that Help Define the American Character. It is said that, compared to Europe, America has no real stockpile of myth and legend. As a nation grows forward, that supply accumulates backward, and America has simply not been around long enough for it to build-up. This book makes that belief itself into a myth. In the late 19th Century, Charles M. Skinner set about on a journey to collect the myths and legends of America before it was too late—before they passed into oblivion. Scouring old records, histories, newspapers, magazines, and oral narratives, he reconstructed 266 tales from all corners of our nation. This priceless record of our cultural heritage is presented in this Fireship Press edition. - How many New Englanders are aware that the Hudson River was created by one of the three wise men of Bethlehem fame? - If you live near the Great Lakes, did you know that Hiawatha was born on Mackinaw (Mackinac) Island? - How many Southerners know the story of the Biloxi Indian tribe that marched into the sea and drowned rather than surrender to an army of Choctaws? - Somewhere along the Purgatoire River in Colorado a fortune in gold is buried—put there by a Spanish infantry regiment that entered the valley... and simply disappeared. All of these stories and more—from every region of the country—can now be found in: Myths and Legends of America. It is where myth and history combine that legend is most interesting and appeals to our fancy or our sympathy most strongly... Charles M. Skinner

Eerie Alabama Chilling Tales from the Heart of Dixie

Author: Alan Brown
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
ISBN: 9781467141673
Release Date: 2019-08-26
Genre: History

Known for antebellum mansions and sunny beaches, Alabama also claims an abundance of fascinating mysteries and legends. The White Thang is a Sasquatch-like creature that has terrorized Alabamians for generations. For a brief period in the 1980s, Needham gained national attention because of its "crying pecan tree." In 1854, a farmer named Orion Williamson simply vanished in a field in Selma. From the aquatic beast known as the Coosa River Monster to the story of the Leprechaun of Mobile, these stories have evolved over generations. Author Alan Brown presents some of the strangest stories from this collective tradition.

Bayou Underground

Author: Dave Thompson
Publisher: ECW Press
ISBN: 9781554906826
Release Date: 2010-09-01
Genre: Music

A veteran music journalist explores rock-n-roll’s bayou roots in “a jolting 18-track joy ride [that] unlocks secrets and back-stories worth savoring” (The Wall Street Journal). The bayou of the American south—stretching from Houston, Texas, to Mobile, Alabama—is a world all its own, with a rich cultural heritage that has had an outsized influence on musicians across the globe. In this unique study of marsh music, Dave Thompson goes beyond the storied stomping grounds of New Orleans to discover secret legends and vivid mythology in the surrounding wilderness. In Bayou Underground, the people who have called the bayou home—such as Bob Dylan, Jerry Reed, Nick Cave, Bo Didley, a one-armed Cajun backwoodsman, and gator hunter named Amos Moses—are unearthed through their own words, their lives and music, and interviews with residents from the region. Included interviews with legendary musicians like Jerry Reed and Bo Didley, Bayou Underground is part travelogue, part social history, and part lament for a way of life that has now all but disappeared.

Children s Literature

Author: Diana Mitchell
Publisher: Allyn & Bacon
ISBN: UVA:X004664831
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Literary Criticism

Addresses the reader to look critically at each piece of children's literature and to consider the author's cultural understanding, values, and perspective on the world. This book also asks to examine world views and reflect on how these views may manifest as biases when interpreting and teaching children's literature.

The Wrath of Angels

Author: John Connolly
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444756463
Release Date: 2012-08-30
Genre: Fiction

A gripping Charlie Parker thriller perfect for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly. 'Haunting, scary and addictive' - Independent on Sunday In the depths of the Maine woods, the wreckage of an aeroplane is discovered. There are no bodies. No such plane has ever been reported missing, but men both good and evil have been seeking it for a long, long time. Hidden in the plane is a list of names, a record of those who have struck a deal with the Devil. Now a battle is about to commence between those who want the list to remain secret and those who believe that it represents a crucial weapon in the struggle against the forces of darkness. The race to secure the prize draws in private detective Charlie Parker, a man who knows more than most about the nature of the terrible evil that seeks to impose itself on the world, and who fears that his own name may be on the list. It lures others too. But as the rival forces descend upon this northern state, the woods prepare to meet them, for the forest depths hide other secrets. Someone has survived the crash. Some thing has survived the crash. And it is waiting . . .

GUMBO YA YA

Author: Robert Tallant
Publisher: Pelican Publishing Company
ISBN: 9781455605446
Release Date: 1987-05-31
Genre: Fiction

The living folklore of Louisiana returns in this new edition of the classic Gumbo Ya-Ya. Long considered the finest collection of Louisiana folk tales and customs, Gumbo Ya-Ya chronicles the stories and legends that have emerged from the bayou country. Meet the Krewe of Zulu, New Orleans' most colorful all-black Carnival club, and the many tribes of Indians who help celebrate Mardi Gras with their fierce pageantry. Listen to the street criers entice customers to buy their goods. Produce peddlers hawk watermelon, cantaloupe, snap and butter beans, and strawberries. The charcoal man sells fuel to stoke the wash-day fires, while the kindling man offers to saw two cords for a dollar and dinner. Zabette and Rose Gla dispense the choicest coffee available in the French Quarter of New Orleans. The bottle man collects old bottles, rags, and bones, driving a hard bargain with the children who expect handfuls of peppermints, whistles, horns, and rattles for their hoards of treasure. All aspects of society are detailed in this wonderful album of Louisiana tradition: the Vieux Carr Creoles, with their strict codes of family honor; the burly Irish Channel immigrants; the lively Italians who still honor St. Joseph and St. Rosalia with all the pomp of the Old Country; and the fun-loving Cajuns, with their curious family names and spirited fais do do. There's no escaping superstition and voodoo in Louisiana. Several sections explain the customs and beliefs that have sprung up over the centuries. Always burn onion peels to ensure a steady supply of money. Sprinkle nutmeg in a woman's left shoe every night at midnight to drive her crazy. Kiss your elbow to change your sex. Gumbo Ya-Ya ( Everybody Talks at Once ) is a charming look at the legends and practices of Louisiana, particularly New Orleans. Originally written as part of the WPA's Louisiana Writers' Program, it has endured as a classic of its genre and is again available in a beautiful Pelican edition.

Blockbuster Video guide to movies and videos 1996

Author:
Publisher: Island Books
ISBN: 0440221145
Release Date: 1995-08-01
Genre: Performing Arts

With over 300 new entries added since the 1995 edition, this ultimate video guidebook for all video viewers gives a clear plot summary of each film, an MPAA rating, and extensive indices. From new releases to classics, foreign films to children's viewing, this reference contains over 20,000 entries of films available on video.