Au Revoir Liverpool

Author: Maureen Lee
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409124719
Release Date: 2011-02-17
Genre: Fiction

A gripping Second World War novel, from the bestselling author of NOTHING LASTS FOREVER and THE LEAVING OF LIVERPOOL. Liverpool, 1937. Jessica is married to Bertie, a mean, patronising man who she has stayed with purely for the sake of her two young children. To make up for the love and passion that is missing from her life, she spends the occasional afternoon at the local cinema, lost in romantic films. But when an unexpected glass of champagne is offered to her in a Liverpool hotel, the consequences turn out to be shattering. When Bertie discovers his wife's deceit, he is ruthless in his revenge. He sells their house and disappears with her beloved children, leaving Jessica devastated and alone. Then she is asked to visit Paris and help an old friend and her small daughters return to Liverpool before the onset of the war. But Jessica finds herself stranded in Paris under German occupation. With new friends and a small family to care for, she must find the courage that she never knew she possessed...

Goodbye Liverpool

Author: Maureen Lee
Publisher: Orion
ISBN: 1409192962
Release Date: 2019-09-19
Genre:

A heartbreaking story of wartime love, loss and courage, from No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and queen of saga, Maureen Lee. Liverpool, 1937. Trapped in a loveless marriage, Jessica endures her husband's petty cruelty for the sake of her two young children. Her only escape is the local cinema, where she can lose herself for an hour or two in the glamour and passion of the silver screen. But when she is offered a glass of champagne in a Liverpool hotel - and with it, the thrill of her own romance - her quiet life is shattered forever. When her husband uncovers the truth, he is ruthless in his revenge. Left without a home, and separated from her beloved children, Jessica is alone and desperate. But as the storms of war begin to gather, there are others in even greater need. Attempting to help a friend and her children escape from France, Jessica finds herself stranded in Paris under German occupation. To care for her new family in this darkest hour, she must find a courage she never knew she possessed... *Previously published as Au Revoir, Liverpool*

The Seven Streets of Liverpool

Author: Maureen Lee
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409140634
Release Date: 2014-03-27
Genre: Fiction

Liverpool, 1942. As the residents of Pearl Street prepare for Christmas, adversity and tragedy bring them ever closer together. A powerful new saga from the bestselling author of AFTER THE WAR IS OVER. Eileen is worried about the growing distance between herself and her RAF husband since he was seriously injured. Why does Nick find every excuse to stay in London on his weekends off, not returning to his loving wife and gorgeous little boy in Liverpool? Lena Newton has longed for a baby of her own but, with her husband posted overseas with the Navy, it's looking unlikely. Lena's lonely days are brightened by visits to the cinema with her neighbour, Mr Ransome, until a familiar face returns to Pearl Street... Since she discovered her American lover was already married, Kitty has hidden away, too ashamed to return to Pearl Street in disgrace with her baby. Finally facing her fears - and her old friends and neighbours - Kitty learns that life has one more surprise in store for her. As the final years of the war are played out, Pearl Street sees friendships forged, hearts broken, babies born and the most joyful of reunions. Once again SUNDAY TIMES Top 10 bestseller Maureen Lee brings to life the small Liverpool street where everyone has a key on a string in their letter box, in case a friend is in need...

The Kelly Sisters

Author: Maureen Lee
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409140658
Release Date: 2015-07-30
Genre: Fiction

It should have been the start of a brand new life in Liverpool... Patricia, Tara and Aideen couldn't be more excited about leaving Dublin with their father and heading for a new life in Liverpool. Yet it soon becomes clear that all is not as it seems. The day after the family arrive in England, father Bernie hastily sweeps the girls onto a huge ocean liner heading to New York. When Bernie tragically vanishes midway across the Atlantic, the grieving sisters are forced to prepare themselves for a new life far away from home, friends and family. What was their father running from? Can the girls put the tragedy behind them and build new lives in New York? A heartwarming family saga from Sunday Times bestselling author Maureen Lee - perfect for readers of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court and Kitty Neale. What readers are saying about Maureen Lee - the queen of Liverpool sagas 'A great storyteller' Liz, Amazon reviewer 'The characters jump off the page, I would definitely recommend' R, Amazon reviewer 'I never want to put Maureen's books down' Whitehouse, Amazon reviewer 'I couldn't put this book down' Pat, Amazon reviewer 'Kept me gripped from the very first page...highly recommend' Diana, Amazon reviewer

Violet s Children

Author: Maureen Lee
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409140672
Release Date: 2018-08-09
Genre: Fiction

The brand new novel from queen of the saga and No. 1 bestselling author, Maureen Lee. In times of trouble, family is all you need... Liverpool, 1950. They say you can choose your friends, but you can't choose your family. Yet when Violet Duffy is asked to give a home to the orphaned children of a distant relative, it is precisely the choice she must face. Abby and Will have had young lives full of tragedy. Life with Violet offers love and safety. But as they grow up, their past won't let them be. Will they choose Violet, or the lure of bigger cities and new horizons? Private passions, tough choices, lost loves and second chances pull them in different directions, but wherever life takes them, Violet's door is always open - after all, it's love that makes a house a home.

After the War is Over

Author: Maureen Lee
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409140245
Release Date: 2012-05-10
Genre: Fiction

A heart-warming tale set in Liverpool and London during the post-war years, from bestselling author Maureen Lee. Liverpool, 1945. Three women, firm friends, return home from the war and try to fit back into their old lives after they've been demobbed. They've been thrown together by the war, and have shared all sorts of good and bad times. Now their old lives seem dull in comparison. But not for long... The younger women, Maggie and Nell, are both twenty-one and are full of hope and excitement; Iris, on the other hand, is feeling apprehensive about returning to civilian life. At the age of thirty, her only wish in life is to have a baby, but sadly this wish has yet to come true. When one of the women falls pregnant, there begins a dramatic sequence of events so far-reaching that the three friends' lives will become more intricately interwoven than they could ever have imagined. Over the next quarter of a century, this story of three remarkable - and very different - women unfolds into an uplifting tale of how three ordinary families become extraordinary.

Flora and Grace

Author: Maureen Lee
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409140610
Release Date: 2013-03-28
Genre: Fiction

The Second World War - a mother must make a heartbreaking sacrifice in order to save her child...A poignant and powerful family saga from the author of Au Revoir Liverpool. 1944. It is spring, late morning, when Flora's life changes for ever. She is standing on a platform in the Swiss mountains, watching as a cattle train draws near. From within the wooden trucks she can hear human voices - groaning, pleading and desperate. Horrified, she begins to run alongside the train, frantically trying to help. But as the train picks up speed, a filthy bundle of rags is thrust through the slats and into her arms - 'Take him. His name is Simon.' Flora stands on the platform, a baby boy cradled against her. And although everything looks exactly as it did moments before, nothing will ever be the same again. Sunday Times bestseller Maureen Lee has written a powerful, moving story of war, motherhood and love.

Scouse

Author: Tony Crowley
Publisher: Liverpool University Press
ISBN: 9781781389089
Release Date: 2012-09-18
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Nowhere in Britain is more closely associated with a form of language than Liverpool. Yet the history of language in Liverpool has been obscured by misrepresentation and myth-making and narratives of Liverpool's linguistic past have scarcely done justice to the rich, complex and fascinating history which produced it. Scouse: A Social and Cultural History presents a ground-breaking and iconoclastic account which challenges many of the forms of received wisdom about language in Liverpool and presents an alternative version of the currently accepted history. Ranging from the mid eighteenth century to the present, the book explores evidence from a host of different sources including the first histories of Liverpool, a rare slaving drama set in the port, a poor house report which records the first use of 'Scouse' (the dish), nineteenth century debates on Gladstone's speech, the 'lost' literature of the city, early to mid twentieth century newspaper accounts of Liverpudlian words, idioms and traditions, little-known essays which coined the use of 'Scouse' to refer to the language of Liverpool, aspects of popular culture in the 1950s and 60s, the Lern Yerself Scouse series, and examples drawn from contemporary literature. In addition the analysis draws on recent developments within the fields of sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology - particularly with regard to the study of language and identity and the relationship between language and a sense of place - in order to provide a radically new understanding of 'Scouse' in terms of its history, its representation, and its contemporary social and cultural significance.