Unexpected Twist An Oliver Twisted Tale

Author: Michael Rosen
Publisher: Scholastic UK
ISBN: 9781407189420
Release Date: 2018-09-06
Genre:

An original story by Michael Rosen, inspired by the Charles Dickens classic Oliver Twist. Shona is moving house because her dad's lost his benefits. At her new school, she finds that keeping out of trouble isn't easy - just like for Oliver Twist, in her English class readings. After Shona is unexpectedly given a mobile phone, she begins to suspect there's something dodgy about the boys she's met. Some gifts, she comes to learn, aren't exactly free.

Oliver Twisted

Author: J. D. Sharpe
Publisher: Egmont UK
ISBN: 9781780310770
Release Date: 2012-02-06
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Mash up Charles Dickens’s Oliver Twist with a teen horror story and what do you get? Oliver Twisted. “FLESH,” the woe-begotten moaned at Oliver, baring teeth which were ragged and black. “FLESH” came another moan, and he turned to see two more behind. They began to shuffle towards him, barefoot. The world according to Oliver Twisted is simple. Vampyres feed on the defenceless, orphans are sacrificed to hungry gods and if a woe-begotten catches your scent it will hunt you forever. On the advice of a corpse, Oliver flees his ghastly orphan life to seek his destiny in the dark streets of old London Town, despite the perils of the woe-begotten zombie-infested journey. There he meets the shadowy Dodger, the evil old soul-stealer Fagin, and the menacing Bill Sikes, who is more beast than man. But will Oliver Twisted be the world’s salvation, or its downfall?! Like your books for teens to be edge-of-your-seat thrillers with a dollop of literary heritage? Oliver Twisted is the young adult horror mash-up for you.

Television and Serial Adaptation

Author: Shannon Wells-Lassagne
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 9781315524528
Release Date: 2017-01-20
Genre: Social Science

As American television continues to garner considerable esteem, rivalling the seventh art in its "cinematic" aesthetics and the complexity of its narratives, one aspect of its development has been relatively unexamined. While film has long acknowledged its tendency to adapt, an ability that contributed to its status as narrative art (capable of translating canonical texts onto the screen), television adaptations have seemingly been relegated to the miniseries or classic serial. From remakes and reboots to transmedia storytelling, loose adaptations or adaptations which last but a single episode, the recycling of pre-existing narrative is a practice that is just as common in television as in film, and this text seeks to rectify that oversight, examining series from M*A*S*H to Game of Thrones, Pride and Prejudice to Castle.

THE STORY OF LONDON Charles Dickens Perspective in 11 Novels 80 Short Stories Illustrated Edition

Author: Charles Dickens
Publisher: e-artnow
ISBN: 9788027225132
Release Date: 2017-10-16
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

This unique collection of "THE STORY OF LONDON: Charles Dickens' Perspective in 11 Novels & 80+ Short Stories (Illustrated Edition)" has been designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. Contents: Novels The Pickwick Papers Oliver Twist Nicholas Nickleby The Old Curiosity Shop Barnaby Rudge Martin Chuzzlewit David Copperfield Little Dorrit A Tale of Two Cities Great Expectations Our Mutual Friend Short Stories Sketches by Boz The Beadle. The Parish Engine. The Schoolmaster. The Curate. The Old Lady. The Half-pay Captain The Four Sisters The Election for Beadle The Broker's Man The Ladies' Societies Our Next-door Neighbour The Streets – morning The Streets – night Shops and their Tenants Scotland Yard Seven Dials Meditations in Monmouth-Street Hackney-coach Stands Doctors' Commons London Recreations The River Astley's Greenwich Fair Private Theatres Vauxhall Gardens by Day Early Coaches Omnibuses The Last Cab-driver, and the First Omnibus cad A Parliamentary Sketch Public Dinners The First of May Brokers' and Marine-store Shops Gin-shops The Pawnbroker's Shop Criminal Courts A Visit to Newgate Thoughts about People A Christmas Dinner The New Year Miss Evans and the Eagle The Parlour Orator The Hospital Patient The Misplaced attachment of Mr. John Dounce The Mistaken Milliner The Dancing Academy Shabby-Genteel People Making a Night of It The Prisoners' Van The Boarding-house Mr. Minns and his Cousin Sentiment The Tuggses at Ramsgate Horatio Sparkins The Black Veil The Steam Excursion The Great Winglebury Duel Mrs. Joseph Porter A Passage in the Life of Mr. Watkins Tottle The Bloomsbury Christening The Drunkard's death Sketches of Young Gentlemen Sketches of Young Couples Master Humphrey's Clock Sunday Under Three Heads Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was an English writer, social critic and is regarded as the greatest novelist of the Victorian era.

The Video Movie Guide 2002

Author: Mick Martin
Publisher: Fawcett
ISBN: 0345421000
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Motion pictures

This bestselling video guide to films, serials, TV movies, and old TV series available on video is completely updated with the newest releases. Containing more than 18,000 listings, this revised edition includes 400 new entries that are detailed with a summary, commentary, director, cast members, MPAA rating, and authors' rating.

DVD and Video Guide 2005

Author: Mick Martin
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 0345449959
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Performing Arts

Now in its twentieth edition, a concise guide to the video and DVD market provides in the most recent year's edition more than 400 new entries, a star-based rating system, cast and director indexes, an Academy Award winner list, and more than 18,000 reviews. Simultaneous. 45,000 first printing.

In the Company of Strangers

Author: Barry McCrea
Publisher: Columbia University Press
ISBN: 9780231527330
Release Date: 2011-06-14
Genre: Literary Criticism

In the Company of Strangers shows how a reconception of family and kinship underlies the revolutionary experiments of the modernist novel. While stories of marriage and long-lost relatives were a mainstay of classic Victorian fiction, Barry McCrea suggests that rival countercurrents within these family plots set the stage for the formal innovations of Joyce and Proust. Tracing the challenges to the family plot mounted by figures such as Fagin, Sherlock Holmes, Leopold Bloom, and Charles Swann, McCrea tells the story of how bonds generated by chance encounters between strangers come to take over the role of organizing narrative time and give shape to fictional worlds—a task and power that was once the preserve of the genealogical family. By investigating how the question of family is a hidden key to modernist structure and style, In the Company of Strangers explores the formal narrative potential of queerness and in doing so rewrites the history of the modern novel.

Whited Sepulchres William Monk Mystery Book 9

Author: Anne Perry
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755383238
Release Date: 2010-11-25
Genre: Fiction

A broken promise opens the door to one of Monk's most baffling cases... Whited Sepulchres is the ninth novel in Anne Perry's Monk series, in which the enigmatic detective becomes embroiled in further mystery and intrigue in the foggy streets of Victorian London. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. 'No one weaves plot and subplots as seamlessly as Perry... Fans will be delighted by the long-awaited romantic denouement, which brought tears to my eyes' - Los Angeles Times Young Killian Melville is arguably the most brilliant architect of the age; passionate about his art, he is liked by everyone. So when he visits Sir Oliver Rathbone, in need of a lawyer to represent him over his alleged 'breach of promise' to marry the daughter of his patron, Rathbone agrees despite his misgivings. The case is not an easy one. Zillah is beautiful and even-tempered, heiress to a fortune and a good friend. What more could any man want? And why would Melville risk losing the professional reputation he has worked all his life to build? Frustrated by his client's refusal to divulge any further information, and convinced he is keeping something from him, Rathbone, his own professional integrity at stake, decides to ask his close friend Hester Latterly for an objective opinion about the case. She, meanwhile, has contacted William Monk to investigate a mysterious family matter from twenty years ago. Little do they realise that the three of them are about to tackle the most baffling and complex case with which they have ever been faced... What readers are saying about Whited Sepulchres: 'There were two instances in this book where I nearly dropped it from excitement, disbelief and admiration for an author who continues to keep her readers guessing' 'An enthralling story by Anne Perry with lots of twists and turns and an unexpected ending' 'A Breach of Promise is Perry's best work ever. This book was such a satisfying read, from start to finish'