Sea of Shadows

Author: Jeff Edwards
Publisher: Stealth Books
ISBN: 9780983008552
Release Date: 2010-12-29
Genre: Fiction

"Here is a writer at the top of his game. The result is a brilliant techno-thriller, the kind a young Clancy would be proud to call his own." -- HOMER HICKAM, Bestselling author of 'Rocket Boys' A minor accident at a German nuclear power plant, a Biological Warfare attack on the British Embassy in Washington, DC, and a secret arms deal combine to drive a trusted NATO Ally into an illegal alliance with a rogue Middle Eastern state. With the world hovering on the brink of war, a handful of U.S. Navy warships must track down and destroy a wolfpack of state-of-the-art submarines. Their enemy is skilled in deception, and incredibly lethal. Out-gunned, out-maneuvered, and out-thought, the U.S. Navy crews must throw the rulebook out the window, and become every bit as devious and deadly as their enemy. If they fail, the consequences are unthinkable... "A timeless warrior epic. Jeff Edwards spins a stunning and irresistibly-believable tale of savage modern naval combat." -- JOE BUFF, Bestselling author of 'Seas of Crisis,' and 'Crush Depth' "...fast and lethal. I read it in one sitting." -- PAUL L. SANDBERG, Producer of 'The Bourne Supremacy,' and 'The Bourne Ultimatum' "... as close as you can get to naval surface combat without being shot at. Jeff Edwards has penned a fast, no-holds-barred thriller that never lets up. Highly recommended." -- JACK DuBRUL, Bestselling author of 'The Silent Sea,' and 'Havoc' (Originally published as 'Torpedo')

Sceptre of Sea and Sky

Author: Terry Ho
Publisher: BookBaby
ISBN: 9781483576268
Release Date: 2016-07-20
Genre: Fiction

Returning to the enchanted world of Erda in search of their missing friend, Keith, Anna and Vijay are once again enlisted in the desperate struggle against the Dark. Keith sets off for Chapterhouse Manaung, where he is to receive training in the arts of the magi. Anna and Vijay, accompanied by the Royal Mage of Turasik, a warrior woman and a runaway boy, embark on a voyage of a thousand leagues that will take them to the dominions of a lustful queen, a city under the sway of a sinister abbot, and a land of vengeful spirits. In a garden of dreams and nightmares, their destination is revealed: the Place Where Sea Meets Sky, where on of them must make the ultimate sacrifice. There is little time. In the icy North, the iron fetters of the Frost Giants are loosed, unleashing primeval powers not seen on Erda in millennia. And beyond the dusky skies, an ancient evil looms at the portals of Space and Time.

Shadow of the Inimicus

Author: R.E. Villanti
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781469117775
Release Date: 2009-11-12
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

K..Stripped of its conjecture and melodrama, Inimicus, is simply one mans testimony of his tribulations with the unseen forces of evil. Super powers that once conspired to conquer his soul in a vengeful and deliberate attempt to rob him of his God-given inheritance. Exposed within its pages, is the potentially fatal venom of an ancient enemy, and of the subsequent consequences when it is injected into a spiritually deprived and unsuspecting lifeKFortunately, there is another sideK It is also a journal filled with wondrous miracles. As a diary, it records, in chronological format, the extraordinary relationship between the human spirit and the Sovereign Power that gave it life. Eventually it culminates (or should I say begins again) with the miraculous intervention of an incredible and unequaled Love, mercifully reaching down from the heavens to rescue a tormented soul from the horrors of eternal damnationK.

Sea of Shadows

Author: Kelley Armstrong
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 0062071254
Release Date: 2015-03-03
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones. Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed. But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong. With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

Shadow of the Cross

Author: Mario Cappello
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595295388
Release Date: 2003-11-01
Genre: Fiction

During the many years of recorded history there were tyrants and those who opposed injustices. Then there were those who fought subjugation by the words of their God. Their deep obsessions in many instances have changed the course of history. This is a tale of love and strife in a very controversial time in history that might have taken place. Imagine if you will, it happening as I tell it.

A Fine Gray Rain In the Shadow of Mount Pinatubo

Author: Robert Reynolds
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9781365082412
Release Date: 2016-12-26
Genre:

In 1991, Mount PInatubo awoke after 500-yrs dormancy. Nearby, America's Clark Air Base evacuated military personnel and dependents to Subic Bay Navy Base. One thousand Air Force and civilians remained to safeguard Clark AB. A series of violent volcanic eruptions hurled ash, rock and gas into the sky. At the same time Typhoon Yunya blew in off the Pacific and earthquakes repeatedly rattled the Philippines countryside. As the rain-laden ash fell back to earth, aircraft hangars, warehouses, homes and buildings crashed to the ground as muddy ash covered the terrain. When the eruptions let up, military officials began evacuating tens of thousands from the country while those deemed mission-essential began salvage operations. This is a true account of this historic event from the perspective of a small group of civilians who were present throughout.

Shadows on the Sea

Author: JOAN HIATT HARLOW
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781471103698
Release Date: 2012-12-11
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

The United States is at war with Germany. Fourteen-year-old Jill Winter's mother is traveling to Newfoundland to be with Jill's sick uncle and must pass through the treacherous North Atlantic where German submarines -- U-boats -- stalk like wolves. Jill's father, a famous pop singer, is on tour, so Jill is sent to Winter Haven, Maine, to stay with Nana. Quarry, a local boy, says that "gossip ain't never been so good," and Jill soon discovers he's right -- Winter Haven is full of secrets and rumors. First there's Wendy, a teenager who's visiting her aunt Adrie, the owner of a local inn, and who tells so many fanciful stories and secrets, it's hard to know what's true. Then there are the Crystals, a snobbish girls' club, who blackball Wendy because of a dark secret they reveal to Jill. Even Nana seems to be keeping secrets -- with her Germanfriend Ida Wilmar! Who's a friend and who's an enemy? As German subs torpedo American and Canadian ships off the Maine coast, Jill is anxious for her mother's safety. Her fears are heightened when she finds a wounded pigeon with the message Sonnabend ivattached to its leg! When Nana and Ida Wilmar whisper to each other and Jill hears that same word -- Sonnabend -- she determines to uncover the truth behind the mysteries in Winter Haven. But she soon finds herself in grave danger when she uncovers the biggest secret of all -- and must run for her life! Based on startling historical events that took place in the harbors of Maine during World War II, Shadows on the Seais a fast-paced mystery that will keep readers guessing from beginning to end.

Of Land Sea and Sky

Author: Malcolm Snook
Publisher: Trafford Publishing
ISBN: 9781425157593
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The story of an unconventional man; tales of adventure, travel and inspirational meetings. From hazardous sports to bold business ventures, music, and dance - all life is here.

Sea Sky

Author: Patty Jansen
Publisher: Capricornica Publications
ISBN:
Release Date: 2016-09-20
Genre: Fiction

Sanity is a lone voice crying in the desert. The world is under increasing threat from as yet undiscovered sources of icefire, but all the people who have answers are cut off from the authorities, kings or councils, with the power to mobilise the scientists and armies to keep the world safe. Young meteorology student Javes is stuck in the remote desert of the north. The area bristles with technology of an ancient past, but he cannot tell anyone about it because roads and telegraph lines have been cut by bad weather and invading bandits. Lana, a fellow student, is on her way to meet him, but Aranian soldiers raid the bus that she's travelling on. She is taken to the capital to serve at the king's court. King Orik of Arania seems hell-bent on destroying the two neighbouring countries that have poked fun at Arania for over forty years. No one is watching the skies. No one is tallying up the disasters. No one is searching for the source of icefire, even though it will kill the whole world if left unchecked.

Light and Color in the Outdoors

Author: Marcel Minnaert
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9781461227229
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Photography

All of science springs from the observation of nature. In this classic book, the late Professor Minnaert accompanies the reader on a tour of nature's light and color and reveals the myriad phenomena that may be observed outdoors with no more than a pair of eyes and an enquiring mind. From the intriguing shape of the dapples beneath a tree on a sunny day, via rainbows, mirages, and haloes, the colors of liquid, ice, and the sky, to the appearance of the sun, moon, planets, and stars - Minnaert describes and explains them all in a clear language accessible to laymen. This new English edition is supplemented by 80 plates, over half of them in color, taken by the acclaimed photographer Pekka Parviainen, illustrating many of the phenomena - ordinary and exotic - discussed in the book.

The Twilight Patriots

Author: Charles D. Taylor
Publisher: Crossroad Press
ISBN:
Release Date:
Genre: Fiction

(Previously published as The Sunset Patriots) Admiral Theodore Magnuson, Director of the Office of Naval Intelligence, didn't like the idea of sending the Seventh Fleet to Vladivostock for a New Year's celebration with the Russians. The President didn't give a damn what Magnuson thought, however; he was after detente. Fearing the worst, Magnuson decides to run his own intelligence mission, sending men into Russia and China. The Admiral is certain the U.S. visit to the usually closed Soviet port is a cover for something. Something big. The Chinese are faced with a similar problem — and a big question. Why is a combined U.S.-Soviet fleet steaming into the East China Sea?