Sgt Pepper at Fifty

Author: Mike McInnerney
Publisher: Sterling
ISBN: 1454923784
Release Date: 2017-06-01
Genre: Music

Considered one of the greatest albums ever produced, Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band is celebrating its 50th anniversary. Featuring contributions from leading authorities on the Beatles' music, Sgt. Pepper at Fifty provides an in-depth critique of the album, along with 225 photos and memorabilia by leading collector Mark Naboshek. It looks at the unique cultural circumstances that led to its creation; examines the rich assemblage of influences that informed its sound; explores the landmark cover art; and assesses the record's enduring legacy.

The 1960s Key Themes and Documents

Author: James S. Olson
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 9781440860423
Release Date: 2018-04-30
Genre: History

This volume serves as an invaluable study guide covering all of the key political, social, and cultural concepts of the turbulent 1960s. • Provides for ease of reference through rigorous thematic tagging of encyclopedic entries, period chronology, and primary documents • Helps readers to study a key period of American history • Features additional elements such as a sample document-based essay question and tips for answering document-based essay questions

It was twenty years ago today

Author: Derek Taylor
Publisher: Fireside
ISBN: UOM:49015000724188
Release Date: 1987-06
Genre: Music

The former press agent for the Beatles recreates the events and feelings of 1967, the year "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" was released, capturing the psychedelic and religious explosion, the music, and the civil rights demonstrations

Sgt Pepper s Lonely Hearts Club Band

Author: Brian Southall
Publisher: Charlesbridge Publishing
ISBN: 9781632892133
Release Date: 2017-06-27
Genre: Music

A carefully crafted and collectible volume celebrates the 50th anniversary of a legendary and groundbreaking Beatles album. Expert Brian Southall's unique edition recounts the story behind the music and the cultural climate of 1967 when Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band debuted. The "A-side" of this coolly curated title is all about the Beatles, the music on the album, the recording process, how the disc was received at the time and how it has been acknowledged as one of the greatest albums ever recorded. The "B-side" looks at the state of the world in 1967, from the Summer of Love to anti-war protests to the launch of Rolling Stone magazine to Jimi Hendrix's first UK tour as a solo artist--and so much, much more. Fascinating photographs and text build a complete picture of the world as it was when one of the most famous albums of all time was released.

In Their Lives

Author: Andrew Blauner
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780735210714
Release Date: 2017-05-23
Genre: Music

For readers who loved Tune In and Nick Hornby’s Songbook, an anthology of essays from a chorus of twenty-nine luminaries singing the praises of their favorite Beatles songs. The Beatles’ influence—on their contemporaries, on our cultural consciousness, and on the music industry ever after—is difficult to overstate. We all have a favorite song from the band that made us want to fall in love, tune in, and follow our dreams. Arranged chronologically by the date of the song’s release, these essays highlight both the Beatles’ evolution as well as the span of generations their music affected. From Beatlemaniacs who grew up listening to the iconic albums on vinyl to new fans who download the songs on iTunes, each contributor explores a poignant intersection between Beatles history and personal history. With contributions from twenty-nine authors and musicians—Roz Chast on “She Loves You,” Jane Smiley on “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” Rosanne Cash on “No Reply,” Gerald Early on “I’m a Loser,” Rick Moody on “The End,” Maria Popova on “Yellow Submarine,” David Duchovny on “Dear Prudence,” Chuck Klosterman on “Helter Skelter,” David Hadju on “You Know My Name (Look Up the Number),” and more—the breadth of the band’s impact is clear. From musings on young love and family strife to explorations of racial boundaries and identity, these essays pay tribute to a band that ran the gamut of human experience in a way no musical group has done before or since. Timed for the fiftieth anniversary of the release of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, this anthology captures the full spectrum of reasons fans still love the Fab Four after all these years.

The Beatles Literary Anthology

Author: Mike Evans
Publisher: Plexus Pub
ISBN: STANFORD:36105114261881
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Literary Collections

Compiles accounts of the Beatles by mainstream reporters, rock journalists, cultural commentators, acquaintances, and friends to trace the group's rise to stardom, unique song structure and recording techniques, embrace of psychedelic drugs and pacifism, and much more.

The Beatles Book

Author: Hunter Davies
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781473502475
Release Date: 2016-09-01
Genre: Music

THE BEATLES BOOK is the ultimate authority on the fab four. Hunter Davies, the only ever authorised biographer of the group, brings together three eminent Beatles experts to compile an invaluable and essential guide. Divided into four sections – People, Songs, Places and Broadcast & Cinema – The Beatles Book covers every element of the band’s history and brings every influence that shaped the incredible Beatles phenomenon vividly to life. Hunter and his team have also rated entries to show how important, influential or meaningful that characteristic was in the history of their lives and creations. Illustrated with material from Hunter's remarkable private collection of personal artefacts and memorabilia, this compendium is an beautiful, insightful and entertaining treasure for any Beatles fan.

The Beatles Collected

Author: Pete Nash
Publisher: Clarksdales
ISBN: 1905959699
Release Date: 2015-10-13
Genre: Music

An illustrated guide to Beatles collectibles includes a range of merchandise, including guitars, plastic models, clothes, wigs, bubblegum cards and even Beatles mothballs. Original.

Counting Down the Beatles

Author: Jim Beviglia
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781442271555
Release Date: 2017-03-02
Genre: Music

Counting Down the Beatles features Beviglia’s list of the finest songs in the band’s unparalleled catalog. Each song is accompanied by information on the song’s writing and recording, context on where it falls within the band’s timeline, and the author’s analysis and explanation why it deserves its position in this hallowed canon.

The Beatles All These Years

Author: Mark Lewisohn
Publisher:
ISBN: 1408705753
Release Date: 2015-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The Beatles have been at the top for fifty years, their music remains exciting, their influence is still huge, their acclaim and achievements cannot be surpassed. But who really were the Beatles, and how did they and everything else in the 1960s fuse so explosively? Mark Lewisohn's three-part biography is the first true and accurate account of the Beatles, a contextual history built upon impeccable research and written with energy, style, objectivity and insight. This first volume covers the crucial and less-known early period - the Liverpool and Hamburg years of a hungry rock and roll band, when all the sharp characters and situations take shape. This is the Beatles like you've never read them before. It isn't just 'another book', it's the book, from the world-acknowledged authority. Forget what you know and discover The Complete Story.

A Portrait of Bowie

Author: Brian Hiatt
Publisher: Cassell
ISBN: 9781844039289
Release Date: 2016-10-06
Genre: Music

HIS LIFE WAS A WORK OF ART Now, artists and musicians who worked with David Bowie during his lifetime - or who were his contemporaries - pay tribute to the icon through their own words on what it was like to work in collaboration with a man whose fluid artistic genius repeatedly broke boundaries, right up until his death. Alongside these text tributes are 40 stunning illustrative and photographic portraits of Bowie throughout his career. The contributing artists and photographers include (alphabetically): Edward Bell, Derek Boshier, Anton Corbijn, Kevin Cummins, Chuck Connelly, Chalkie Davies, Stephen Finer, Greg Gorman, Derry Moore, Terry O'Neill, Mick Rock, Masayoshi Sukita, George Underwood, Justin de Villeneuve and more. Alongside these remarkable portraits are insightful, personal written pieces by his contemporaries, and musicians and artists who worked closely with Bowie, including Zachary Alford, Carlos Alomar, Toni Basil, Gail Ann Dorsey, Mike Garson, Dana Gillespie, Debbie Harry and Chris Stein, Cyndi Lauper, and Nile Rodgers, among others. The book is curated by Brian Hiatt, of Rolling Stone magazine, as General Editor. ** Newly revised and improved ebook edition, optimized for both small- and large-screen devices **

London Rock

Author: Alec Byrne
Publisher: Virgin Books Limited
ISBN: 0753550008
Release Date: 2017-11-27
Genre: Photographers

Up close, back stage, tiny gigs, pre-famous - Led Zep to Bowie as you've never seen them. Released to coincide with an exhibition at Proud Central, London (8th December - 28 January), this huge rock treasure chest contains over 250 previously unpublished premium images from the epicentre of London's exploding music scene, from the mid-sixties to the early seventies. Lavishly produced to create a fitting showcase for Alec's extraordinarily rich, until now hidden, private collection, London Rock is a stunning experience.

Dreaming the Beatles

Author: Rob Sheffield
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062207678
Release Date: 2017-04-25
Genre: Music

Rob Sheffield, the Rolling Stone columnist and bestselling author of Love Is a Mix Tape offers an entertaining, unconventional look at the most popular band in history, the Beatles, exploring what they mean today and why they still matter so intensely to a generation that has never known a world without them. Dreaming the Beatles is not another biography of the Beatles, or a song-by-song analysis of the best of John and Paul. It isn’t another exposé about how they broke up. It isn’t a history of their gigs or their gear. It is a collection of essays telling the story of what this ubiquitous band means to a generation who grew up with the Beatles music on their parents’ stereos and their faces on T-shirts. What do the Beatles mean today? Why are they more famous and beloved now than ever? And why do they still matter so much to us, nearly fifty years after they broke up? As he did in his previous books, Love is a Mix Tape, Talking to Girls About Duran Duran, and Turn Around Bright Eyes, Sheffield focuses on the emotional connections we make to music. This time, he focuses on the biggest pop culture phenomenon of all time—The Beatles. In his singular voice, he explores what the Beatles mean today, to fans who have learned to love them on their own terms and not just for the sake of nostalgia. Dreaming the Beatles tells the story of how four lads from Liverpool became the world’s biggest pop group, then broke up—but then somehow just kept getting bigger. At this point, their music doesn’t belong to the past—it belongs to right now. This book is a celebration of that music, showing why the Beatles remain the world’s favorite thing—and how they invented the future we’re all living in today.