Sgt Pepper at Fifty

Author: Mike McInnerney
Publisher: Sterling
ISBN: 1454923784
Release Date: 2017-06-01
Genre: Music

Considered one of the greatest albums ever produced, Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band is celebrating its 50th anniversary. Featuring contributions from leading authorities on the Beatles' music, Sgt. Pepper at Fifty provides an in-depth critique of the album, along with 225 photos and memorabilia by leading collector Mark Naboshek. It looks at the unique cultural circumstances that led to its creation; examines the rich assemblage of influences that informed its sound; explores the landmark cover art; and assesses the record's enduring legacy.

Sgt Pepper at Fifty

Author: Bill DeMain
ISBN: 1785584448
Release Date: 2017-05

Five decades on from its release at the height of the Summer of Love in 1967, Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band remains a keystone not just of the Beatles career but also of popular music as a whole.

In Their Lives

Author: Andrew Blauner
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780735210714
Release Date: 2017-05-23
Genre: Music

For readers who loved Tune In and Nick Hornby’s Songbook, an anthology of essays from a chorus of twenty-nine luminaries singing the praises of their favorite Beatles songs. The Beatles’ influence—on their contemporaries, on our cultural consciousness, and on the music industry ever after—is difficult to overstate. We all have a favorite song from the band that made us want to fall in love, tune in, and follow our dreams. Arranged chronologically by the date of the song’s release, these essays highlight both the Beatles’ evolution as well as the span of generations their music affected. From Beatlemaniacs who grew up listening to the iconic albums on vinyl to new fans who download the songs on iTunes, each contributor explores a poignant intersection between Beatles history and personal history. With contributions from twenty-nine authors and musicians—Roz Chast on “She Loves You,” Jane Smiley on “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” Rosanne Cash on “No Reply,” Gerald Early on “I’m a Loser,” Rick Moody on “The End,” Maria Popova on “Yellow Submarine,” David Duchovny on “Dear Prudence,” Chuck Klosterman on “Helter Skelter,” David Hadju on “You Know My Name (Look Up the Number),” and more—the breadth of the band’s impact is clear. From musings on young love and family strife to explorations of racial boundaries and identity, these essays pay tribute to a band that ran the gamut of human experience in a way no musical group has done before or since. Timed for the fiftieth anniversary of the release of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, this anthology captures the full spectrum of reasons fans still love the Fab Four after all these years.

It was twenty years ago today

Author: Derek Taylor
Publisher: Fireside
ISBN: UOM:49015000724188
Release Date: 1987-06
Genre: Music

The former press agent for the Beatles recreates the events and feelings of 1967, the year "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" was released, capturing the psychedelic and religious explosion, the music, and the civil rights demonstrations

Sgt Pepper s Lonely Hearts Club Band

Author: Brian Southall
Publisher: Charlesbridge Publishing
ISBN: 9781632892133
Release Date: 2017-06-27
Genre: Music

A carefully crafted and collectible volume celebrates the 50th anniversary of a legendary and groundbreaking Beatles album. Expert Brian Southall's unique edition recounts the story behind the music and the cultural climate of 1967 when Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band debuted. The "A-side" of this coolly curated title is all about the Beatles, the music on the album, the recording process, how the disc was received at the time and how it has been acknowledged as one of the greatest albums ever recorded. The "B-side" looks at the state of the world in 1967, from the Summer of Love to anti-war protests to the launch of Rolling Stone magazine to Jimi Hendrix's first UK tour as a solo artist--and so much, much more. Fascinating photographs and text build a complete picture of the world as it was when one of the most famous albums of all time was released.

The Beatles Book

Author: Hunter Davies
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781473502475
Release Date: 2016-09-01
Genre: Music

THE BEATLES BOOK is the ultimate authority on the fab four. Hunter Davies, the only ever authorised biographer of the group, brings together three eminent Beatles experts to compile an invaluable and essential guide. Divided into four sections – People, Songs, Places and Broadcast & Cinema – The Beatles Book covers every element of the band’s history and brings every influence that shaped the incredible Beatles phenomenon vividly to life. Hunter and his team have also rated entries to show how important, influential or meaningful that characteristic was in the history of their lives and creations. Illustrated with material from Hunter's remarkable private collection of personal artefacts and memorabilia, this compendium is an beautiful, insightful and entertaining treasure for any Beatles fan.

All The Songs

Author: Philippe Margotin
Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal
ISBN: 9781603763714
Release Date: 2014-02-04
Genre: Music

**NOTE: EBOOK DOES NOT INCLUDE ANY IMAGES** Every album and every song ever released by the Beatles?from "Please Please Me" (U.S. 1963) to "The Long and Winding Road" (U.S. 1970)?is dissected, discussed, and analyzed by two music historians in this lively and fully illustrated work. All the Songs delves deep into the history and origins of the Beatles and their music. This first-of-its-kind book draws upon decades of research, as music historians Margotin and Guesdon recount the circumstances that led to the composition of every song, the recording process, and the instruments used. Here, we learn that one of John Lennon's favorite guitars was a 1958 Rickenbacker 325 Capri, which he bought for £100 in 1960 in Hamburg, Germany. We also learn that "Love Me Do," recorded in Abbey Road Studios in September 1962, took 18 takes to get right, even though it was one of the first songs John and Paul ever wrote together. And the authors reveal that when the Beatles performed "I Want to Hold Your Hand" on The Ed Sullivan Show in 1964, John's microphone wasn't turned on, so viewers heard only Paul singing. All the Songs is the must-have Beatles book for the any true Beatles fan.

The Beatles on the Roof

Author: Tony Barrell
Publisher: Omnibus Press
ISBN: 9781783239696
Release Date: 2017-10-26
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

At lunchtime on a bitterly cold January day in 1969, the strains of guitar chords could be heard in the streets surrounding London’s Savile Row. Crowds gathered – At ground level and above. People climbed onto roofs and postboxes, skipped lunch to gather and listen: For the first time in more than two years, The Beatles were playing live. Ringing from the rooftops, disturbing the well-to-do ears of the tailors below, they upset the establishment and bewildered the police. It was filmed by director Michael Lindsay-Hogg, who hoped the footage would act as the finale to a celebratory TV special. When it finally surfaced, it was in the bleak, tumultuous documentary Let It Be. And The Beatles would never play live again. Tony Barrell examines the concert within the context of its time. He speaks to those who were there: the fans, film-makers, roadies, Apple Corps staff and police. He explores the politics of 1968, when peace gave way to protest, and how music promotion began to collide with cinéma vérité and reality TV. The Beatles on the Roof makes essential reading for anyone interested in the band’s reinventions and relationships, revealing why the rooftop concert happened at all, why it happened the way that it did, and why it would never happen again.

The Beatles Lyrics

Author: Hunter Davies
Publisher: Little, Brown
ISBN: 9780316247153
Release Date: 2014-10-07
Genre: Music

The definitive book of Beatles songs, shown as first written by their own hands and put into authoritative context, for the 50th anniversary of the Beatles coming to America. For the Beatles, writing songs was a process that could happen anytime -- songs we all know by heart often began as a scribble on the back of an envelope or on hotel stationery. These original documents have ended up scattered across the world at museums and universities and with collectors and friends. Many have never been published before. More than 100 songs and lyrics are reproduced in THE BEATLES LYRICS, providing Hunter Davies a unique platform to tell the story of the music. The intimacy of these reproductions -- there are sections crossed out and rewritten, and words tossed into the final recordings that were never written down -- ensures that THE BEATLES LYRICS will be a treasure for musicians, scholars, and fans everywhere.

The Beatles Collected

Author: Pete Nash
Publisher: Clarksdales
ISBN: 1905959699
Release Date: 2015-10-13
Genre: Music

An illustrated guide to Beatles collectibles includes a range of merchandise, including guitars, plastic models, clothes, wigs, bubblegum cards and even Beatles mothballs. Original.

The Beatles All These Years

Author: Mark Lewisohn
ISBN: 1408705753
Release Date: 2015-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The Beatles have been at the top for fifty years, their music remains exciting, their influence is still huge, their acclaim and achievements cannot be surpassed. But who really were the Beatles, and how did they and everything else in the 1960s fuse so explosively? Mark Lewisohn's three-part biography is the first true and accurate account of the Beatles, a contextual history built upon impeccable research and written with energy, style, objectivity and insight. This first volume covers the crucial and less-known early period - the Liverpool and Hamburg years of a hungry rock and roll band, when all the sharp characters and situations take shape. This is the Beatles like you've never read them before. It isn't just 'another book', it's the book, from the world-acknowledged authority. Forget what you know and discover The Complete Story.


Author: Richard Morton Jack
Publisher: Sterling
ISBN: 1454921153
Release Date: 2017-04-11
Genre: Antiques & Collectibles

Never were so many classic rock albums made in such a short time! During the mid- to late 1960s, artists explored trippy new sounds, musicianship reached unsurpassable levels, and audiences embraced the genuinely experimental. From Cream's Disraeli Gears to the Zombies' Odessey and Oracle, Psychedelia examines 101 of the era's most groundbreaking records. Contemporary reviews, rare photographs, new interviews, and reproductions of cover artwork will make this a fan favorite.