Sgt Pepper at Fifty

Author: Mike McInnerney
Publisher: Sterling
ISBN: 1454923784
Release Date: 2017-06-01
Genre: Music

Considered one of the greatest albums ever produced, Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band is celebrating its 50th anniversary. Featuring contributions from leading authorities on the Beatles' music, Sgt. Pepper at Fifty provides an in-depth critique of the album, along with 225 photos and memorabilia by leading collector Mark Naboshek. It looks at the unique cultural circumstances that led to its creation; examines the rich assemblage of influences that informed its sound; explores the landmark cover art; and assesses the record's enduring legacy.

Sgt Pepper at Fifty

Author: Bill DeMain
Publisher:
ISBN: 1785584448
Release Date: 2017-05
Genre:

Five decades on from its release at the height of the Summer of Love in 1967, Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band remains a keystone not just of the Beatles career but also of popular music as a whole.

It was twenty years ago today

Author: Derek Taylor
Publisher: Fireside
ISBN: UOM:49015000724188
Release Date: 1987-06
Genre: Music

The former press agent for the Beatles recreates the events and feelings of 1967, the year "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" was released, capturing the psychedelic and religious explosion, the music, and the civil rights demonstrations

Sgt Pepper s Lonely Hearts Club Band

Author: Brian Southall
Publisher: Charlesbridge Publishing
ISBN: 9781632892133
Release Date: 2017-06-27
Genre: Music

A carefully crafted and collectible volume celebrates the 50th anniversary of a legendary and groundbreaking Beatles album. Expert Brian Southall's unique edition recounts the story behind the music and the cultural climate of 1967 when Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band debuted. The "A-side" of this coolly curated title is all about the Beatles, the music on the album, the recording process, how the disc was received at the time and how it has been acknowledged as one of the greatest albums ever recorded. The "B-side" looks at the state of the world in 1967, from the Summer of Love to anti-war protests to the launch of Rolling Stone magazine to Jimi Hendrix's first UK tour as a solo artist--and so much, much more. Fascinating photographs and text build a complete picture of the world as it was when one of the most famous albums of all time was released.

In Their Lives

Author: Andrew Blauner
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780735210714
Release Date: 2017-05-23
Genre: Music

For readers who loved Tune In and Nick Hornby’s Songbook, an anthology of essays from a chorus of twenty-nine luminaries singing the praises of their favorite Beatles songs. The Beatles’ influence—on their contemporaries, on our cultural consciousness, and on the music industry ever after—is difficult to overstate. We all have a favorite song from the band that made us want to fall in love, tune in, and follow our dreams. Arranged chronologically by the date of the song’s release, these essays highlight both the Beatles’ evolution as well as the span of generations their music affected. From Beatlemaniacs who grew up listening to the iconic albums on vinyl to new fans who download the songs on iTunes, each contributor explores a poignant intersection between Beatles history and personal history. With contributions from twenty-nine authors and musicians—Roz Chast on “She Loves You,” Jane Smiley on “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” Rosanne Cash on “No Reply,” Gerald Early on “I’m a Loser,” Rick Moody on “The End,” Maria Popova on “Yellow Submarine,” David Duchovny on “Dear Prudence,” Chuck Klosterman on “Helter Skelter,” David Hadju on “You Know My Name (Look Up the Number),” and more—the breadth of the band’s impact is clear. From musings on young love and family strife to explorations of racial boundaries and identity, these essays pay tribute to a band that ran the gamut of human experience in a way no musical group has done before or since. Timed for the fiftieth anniversary of the release of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, this anthology captures the full spectrum of reasons fans still love the Fab Four after all these years.

Birth of an Icon REVOLVER 50

Author: Klaus Voormann
Publisher: Delius Klasing Verlag Gmbh
ISBN: 3667109628
Release Date: 2016-11-09
Genre:

* Half a century after Revolver exploded onto the pop scene, the artist behind the album cover presents his side of the Beatles' story* The narrative is presented through a striking mixture of words and black-and-white graphics"...It is good for me to see the other side of a story I know so well and to realize aspects like the sheer panic that Klaus must have felt." (Paul McCartney)The monochrome pop-art style of the Revolver album has become an integral part of the Beatles brand. In this book the artist behind the cover reveals the source of his inspiration, as well as the tale of how this cover grew from a sketch made on a kitchen table in an attic flat into one of the most iconic pieces of cover art in history.

The Beatles All These Years

Author: Mark Lewisohn
Publisher:
ISBN: 1408705753
Release Date: 2015-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The Beatles have been at the top for fifty years, their music remains exciting, their influence is still huge, their acclaim and achievements cannot be surpassed. But who really were the Beatles, and how did they and everything else in the 1960s fuse so explosively? Mark Lewisohn's three-part biography is the first true and accurate account of the Beatles, a contextual history built upon impeccable research and written with energy, style, objectivity and insight. This first volume covers the crucial and less-known early period - the Liverpool and Hamburg years of a hungry rock and roll band, when all the sharp characters and situations take shape. This is the Beatles like you've never read them before. It isn't just 'another book', it's the book, from the world-acknowledged authority. Forget what you know and discover The Complete Story.

Psychedelia

Author: Richard Morton Jack
Publisher: Sterling
ISBN: 1454921153
Release Date: 2017-04-11
Genre: Antiques & Collectibles

Never were so many classic rock albums made in such a short time! During the mid- to late 1960s, artists explored trippy new sounds, musicianship reached unsurpassable levels, and audiences embraced the genuinely experimental. From Cream's Disraeli Gears to the Zombies' Odessey and Oracle, Psychedelia examines 101 of the era's most groundbreaking records. Contemporary reviews, rare photographs, new interviews, and reproductions of cover artwork will make this a fan favorite.

The Beatles

Author: Terry Burrows
Publisher:
ISBN: 1780979290
Release Date: 2017-08
Genre:

The Beatles: The Band that Changed the World, an unofficial publication, tells the story of the Fab Four as never before. It shows in beautiful photographs and unique documents and memorabilia reproduced on-the-page, the group's journey from the backstreets of Liverpool and Hamburg to their sell-out concerts in Shea Stadium and their quest for musical perfection. In 1964 half of the American population watched the boys play live on The Ed Sullivan Show and 400 million TV viewers saw them record "All You Need Is Love" in 1967. They were awarded MBEs by the Queen, they jammed with Elvis and sold millions of records all over the world. The Beatles: The Band that Changed the World takes you as close as you can get to that wild ride that spanned two decades and changed the world forever...

The Beatles Collected

Author: Pete Nash
Publisher: Clarksdales
ISBN: 1905959699
Release Date: 2015-10-13
Genre: Music

An illustrated guide to Beatles collectibles includes a range of merchandise, including guitars, plastic models, clothes, wigs, bubblegum cards and even Beatles mothballs. Original.

The Beatles Discography

Author: Stephen E. Donnelly
Publisher: Outskirts Press
ISBN: 1432769243
Release Date: 2011-03-09
Genre:

THE BEATLES DISCOGRAPHY Presents The Beatles Recorded Legacy Like Never BeforeThe Beatles Discography has their US and UK releases side by side with important releases from Germany, France and more plus their solo releases in the same chronological listing, complete with release dates, record labels & numbers, full track listings with composer & producer credits, recording dates, mix variations and song lengths, all in a compact and easy to understand format with many rare images of front & back covers, picture sleeves and record labels.Volume One The 60's covers the period between January 1st, 1961 through December 31st, 1970, from their first recordings with Tony Sheridan and EMI to their final original album Let It Be and the first releases of John, Paul, George and Ringo as solo artists.Section One is a chronological listing with hundreds of full-color images of the LPs, EPs and singles, packed with information about each release including title, release date, producer and more.Section Two is a chronological listing of songs by the date of completion with a complete history of appearances on disc and all related information including mix variations, composers, lengths and more. THE BEATLES DISCOGRAPHY, Volume One The 60's is the ultimate guide to the recorded works of the greatest band in history and an essential part of every Beatles fan's library.

Nothing Is Real When the Beatles Met the East

Author: Luca Beatrice
Publisher: Silvana Editoriale
ISBN: 8836633889
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Art

Following the release of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band(1967), the Beatles—at that point the most famous band in the world—found themselves increasingly drawn to Eastern mysticism, culminating with the band’s 1968 trip to India (accompanied, of course, by wives and girlfriends as well as an entourage of friends, assistants and reporters). The journey that John, Paul, George and Ringo made to study at the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi’s ashram would become a key event in the history of Western pop culture: followed breathlessly in the international media, it caused an enormous stir and was fundamental in spreading a certain fascination with the East that influenced music, literature, cinema and fashion at the end of the 1960s. Nothing Is Realtakes its title from a memorable line from the Beatles’ song “Strawberry Fields Forever.” Eastern thinking and spiritual practices felt liberating and modern to a generation looking for alternatives, and the Beatles’ trip was a watershed moment, announcing definitively that Europe and the United States had a genuine trend on its hands. Taking the Beatles’ 1968 journey as its point of departure, Nothing Is Realinvokes this extraordinary moment through contemporary reports, archival photographs, album covers, books and magazines from the period, and artworks by Ettore Sottsass, Alighiero Boetti, Francesco Clemente, Luigi Ontani, Aldo Mondino and Julian Schnabel.