Off the Leash

Author: Matthew Gilbert
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9781250014214
Release Date: 2014-07-29
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

OFF THE LEASH is a group portrait of dog people, specifically the strange, wonderful, neurotic, and eccentric dog people who gather at Amory Park, overlooking Boston near Fenway Park. And it's about author Matthew Gilbert's transformation, after much fear and loathing of dogs and social groups, into one of those dog people with fur on their jackets, squeaky toys in their hands, and biscuits in their pockets. Gilbert, longtime TV critic at The Boston Globe, describes his reluctant trip into the dog park subculture, as the first-time owner of a stubbornly social Yellow Lab puppy named Toby. Like many Americans, he was happily accustomed to the safe distance of TV viewing and cell-phone web surfing, tethered to the digital leash. But the headstrong, play-obsessed Toby pulls him to Amory, and Amory becomes an exhilarating dose of presence for him. The joyous chaos of wrestling dogs and the park's cast of offbeat dog owners - the "pack of freaks" - gradually draw him into the here and now. At the dog park, the dog owners go off the leash, too. Dog-park life can be tense. When dogs fight, their owners - such as the reckless Charlotte - bare their teeth at each other, too. Amid the rollicking dog play, feelings tend to surface faster, unedited. But Gilbert shows how Amory is an idyllic microcosm, too, the home of enduring friendships and, as the droll but vulnerable Hayley knows, romantic crushes. Meeting daily, a gathering of dog owners can be like group therapy, or The Office, or a standup concert. As a TV critic, Matthew Gilbert is well-known by his readership for his humorous and wry writing style. A charming narrative that will appeal to anyone who has ever enjoyed watching a puppy scamper through a park, OFF THE LEASH is a paean to dog lovers and their pets everywhere, perfect for fans of Marley & Me and Merle's Door.

Off the Leash

Author: Jean Ellen Whatley
Publisher:
ISBN: 0985007133
Release Date: 2012-09-26
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The author describes her life-changing nine-thousand mile journey she, and her dog Libby, took across the United States.

Off Leash

Author: Daniel Potter
Publisher:
ISBN: 0996594019
Release Date: 2015-09-01
Genre:

When Thomas Khatt awakens to the magical world following the sudden, violent death of his elderly Archmagus neighbor, he doesn't get the standard package of awesome power combined with a hero destiny. Nope, he trades his thumbs in for a tail, tawny fur and four feet with a very low co-efficient of friction on linoleum. His destiny as one of three talking mountain lions in the magical world? To be sold at auction and bonded to some pimply faced apprentice for life. Thomas would rather eat dirty kitty litter. Armed only with an impressive set of chompers and buckets of snark, Thomas faces off against a lightning-bolt throwing granny and a sexy union recruiter as he desperately tries hold the threads of his old life together. To stay off the leash he'll have to take advantage of the chaos caused by the Archmagus' death and help the local Inquisition solve his murder. A pyromanic squirrel, religious werewolves, and cat-hating cops all add to the chaos as Thomas attempts to become the first Freelance Familiar.

Benji Off the Leash

Author: Joe Camp
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780060730840
Release Date: 2004-07-06
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Follows the adventures of lovable mutt Benji and his sidekick, Lizard Tongue, as they struggle to save Benji's mother from a greedy backyard breeder.

Off The Leash Doggy Doodles

Author: Rupert Fawcett
Publisher: Frances Lincoln
ISBN: 0711237980
Release Date: 2016-06-07
Genre: Art

Fans of Rupert Fawcett's Off The Leash cartoons will love this Doodle Sketch Book for Dog Lovers. Learn how to draw Off The Leash style doggies and then practise to your heart's content in the pages of this fantastic doodle sketchbook. You'll go barking mad for it!

Off the Leash

Author: Rupert Fawcett
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 9781466864719
Release Date: 2014-10-14
Genre: Pets

Originally launched on Facebook, Rupert Fawcett's charming and heartfelt Off the Leash cartoons have developed a huge daily following around the world. This books brings together the very best of those cartoons, featuring the secret thoughts and conversations of dogs of every size, shape and breed. The cartoons appeal to all sorts of people, from passionate dog lovers who have eight sleeping on their bed at night, to people who don't have any pets at all, but can still identify with the characteristics. Let's face it, who doesn't like to be fed, have their tummy stroked and snooze on the sofa in the afternoon? A celebration of our favorite belly-scratching, tail-chasing, bed-stealing canine friends.

Off The Leash A Dog s Best Friend

Author: Rupert Fawcett
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447268093
Release Date: 2014-10-09
Genre: Pets

In its first year as a daily cartoon blog on Facebook, Off The Leash developed a regular daily following of half a million dog lovers from around the world, and has become a place where people who are passionate about pooches share anecdotes, pictures and jokes. Capturing the secret thoughts and dreams of dogs, Rupert Fawcett's cartoons are brilliantly observed - and touchingly true to life. As well as the best dog photos sent in by fans, Off The Leash: A Dog's Best Friend rounds up a second selection of touching, hilarious drawings of dogs of every size, shape and breed doing what they do best: stealing beds, out-smarting cats and questing for the perfect stick . . .

Cobb Off the Leash

Author: Beau Smith
Publisher: IDW Publishing
ISBN: 9781623024109
Release Date: 2013-09-18
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Beau Smith's latest creation explodes onto the scene! Aided and abetted by fellow comics legend Eduardo Barreto, Smith creates a tough guy for the new millennium in the form of Frank Cobb. Cobb is a former Level One Secret Service agent who has been off the radar for the last few years. When his aimless actions land him in jail, one of his former government contacts decides that it's time Cobb's special talents were put to a more productive use. In this debut Cobb story, "Off the Leash," Cobb's protective skills will be needed to save a very important witness from a sadistic Russian Mafia leader with connections to a terrorist cell.

Off The Leash It s a Dog s Life

Author: Rupert Fawcett
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9780752265759
Release Date: 2015-10-08
Genre: Pets

In its first year as a daily cartoon blog on Facebook, Off The Leash developed a regular daily following of half a million dog lovers from around the world, and has become a place where people who are passionate about pooches share anecdotes, pictures and jokes. Capturing the secret thoughts and dreams of dogs, Rupert Fawcett's cartoons are brilliantly observed - and touchingly true to life. This third book, Off The Leash: It's A Dog's Life, celebrates the wonderful world we create for our dogs - from the gloriously cheeky pooches who steal our sofa space, out-smart cats and wrap us around their little paws, to the adoring four-legged friends who want nothing more than our complete and undivided attention. Featuring dogs of every size, shape and breed, these cartoons delightfully capture the glorious relationships between dogs and their owners.

Akermanis Off the Leash

Author: J. Akermanis
Publisher: Hardie Grant Publishing
ISBN: 9781742735542
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Say what you like about Jason Akermanis - footballer, showman, show-off, troublemaker - there's no denying that he's made an impression in his 15 years as an AFL star player. Now, after more than 300 games, three Premierships and a Brownlow Medal, the curtain has come down on his extraordinary career. No longer restrained by contractual obligations and free to speak at last, Aker reveals a no-holds-barred look at a stellar sporting career, including behind-the-scenes details of Aker's falling out with Leigh Matthews, his move to the Western Bulldogs, run ins with fellow players, and his though.

The Other End of the Leash

Author: Patricia McConnell, Ph.D.
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 0307489183
Release Date: 2009-02-19
Genre: Pets

The Other End of the Leash shares a revolutionary, new perspective on our relationship with dogs, focusing on our behavior in comparison with that of dogs. An applied animal behaviorist and dog trainer with more than twenty years experience, Dr. Patricia McConnell looks at humans as just another interesting species, and muses about why we behave the way we do around our dogs, how dogs might interpret our behavior, and how to interact with our dogs in ways that bring out the best in our four-legged friends. After all, although humans and dogs share a remarkable relationship that is unique in the animal world, we are still two entirely different species, each shaped by our individual evolutionary heritage. Quite simply, humans are primates and dogs are canids (like wolves, coyotes, and foxes). Since we each speak a different native tongue, a lot gets lost in the translation. The Other End of the Leash demonstrates how even the slightest changes in your voice and the way you stand can help your dog understand what you want. Once you start to think about your own behavior from the perspective of your dog, you’ll understand why much of what appears to be doggy-disobedience is simply a case of miscommunication. Inside you will learn • How to use your voice so that your dog is more likely to do what you ask. • Why “getting dominance” over your dog is a bad idea. • Why “rough and tumble primate play” can lead to trouble–and how to play with your dog in ways that are fun and keep him out of trouble. • How dogs and humans share personality types–and why most dogs want to live with benevolent leaders rather than “alphawannabees!” In her own insightful, compelling style, Patricia McConnell combines wonderful true stories about people and dogs with a new, accessible scientific perspective on how they should behave around each other. This is a book that strives to help you make the most of life with your dog, and to prevent problems that might arise in that most rewarding of relationships. From the Hardcover edition.