Hier k nnte das Ende der Welt sein

Author: John Corey Whaley
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446245679
Release Date: 2014-03-17
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Cullen stehen wie immer quälend lange Ferien in der Kleinstadt Lily bevor. Es ist ein Ort, an den man ziehen möchte, kurz bevor man stirbt. Teenager kann so viel Ruhe und Frieden deprimieren – zumal wenn sie unglücklich verliebt sind. Zum Beispiel in Ada, auch die "Schwarze Witwe" genannt, weil sie bisher quasi alle ihre Freunde durch mysteriöse Unfälle verloren hat. Da taucht eines Tages ein Fremder auf und behauptet, er habe eine ausgestorbene Spechtart in Lily entdeckt. Kurz darauf verschwindet, inmitten der aufkommenden Specht-Hysterie, Cullens Bruder Gabriel ... Ein spannendes Jugendbuch über das Erwachsenwerden, die Suche nach dem Glück und – die erste Liebe.

Nina Nandu s Nervous Noggin

Author: Barbara deRubertis
Publisher: Triangle Interactive, Inc.
ISBN: 9781684440566
Release Date: 2017-12-16
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Nina Nandu has just moved to a new neighborhood, and she does NOT want to go to a new school. But Granny Nandu and teacher Alpha Betty have other ideas—plus a big surprise for Nina!

Kartoffel Noggin

Author: P. J. Hoge
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9781462055074
Release Date: 2011-10-10
Genre: Fiction

Kartoffel Noggin, the fifth installment of the Prairie Preacher series, transports readers from the small North Dakota farming community the Schroeder family calls home to war-torn South Vietnam. The year is 1969, and Andy Schroder, the little boy we first met in Prairie Preacher, is now eighteen and has been drafted by the army to serve in the Vietnam War. During his tour of duty, Andy learns a lot about humanity, morality, and the will to survive. He worries about his family at home, especially his dear Annie who had promised to become his wife. He also befriends a wide variety of characters: Jackson, an Indian boy from South Dakota; Chicago, a young black man from Chicago’s inner city; Swede, a tall kid from northern Minnesota; and Bandaid, the medic from Boston. Together, they face death, fear, and tragedy, and forge a special bond that can never be broken. Andy’s harrowing experiences force him to shed his simplistic attitude toward morality. He discovers that he is capable of things he never imagined, and he witnesses “good guys” succumb to hatred and “bad guys” display love and compassion. He soon realizes that when he returns to North Dakota, he will not be the same person he was when he left. Though he may leave Vietnam, Vietnam will never leave him.

Das zweite Leben des Travis Coates

Author: John Corey Whaley
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446248625
Release Date: 2015-02-23
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Seinen Kopf einfrieren und später auf einen gesunden Körper transplantieren? Travis hätte nie damit gerechnet, dass diese absurde Idee Realität werden könnte. Seine Einwilligung gab er, weil er Leukämie hatte – und nichts zu verlieren. Nun ist er nach fünf Jahren tatsächlich "wieder da". Doch er findet sein altes Leben nicht mehr. Sein Zimmer sieht anders aus. Seine Eltern scheinen ihm etwas zu verheimlichen. Und das Mädchen, das er liebt, hat sich mit einem anderen verlobt. Travis muss lernen, mit der Vergangenheit abzuschließen und neu anzufangen. Nur sind solche Dinge leichter gesagt als getan. Ein faszinierendes Jugendbuch über Identität, das Erwachsenwerden, Freundschaft und Liebe.

Noggin and the Whale

Author: Oliver Postgate
Publisher: Noggin the Nog
ISBN: 1405281537
Release Date: 2016-05-01
Genre: Children's stories

Exquisite new hardback editions of the classic Noggin the Nog books about a friendly Viking, based on the beloved BBC series created by Oliver Postgate and BAFTA-award winning Peter Firmin, creators of The Clangers, Bagpuss and Ivor the Engine. It is King Noggin's birthday and he is taking all the children in the village out on a musical boat trip. But soon an aquatic visitor interrupts the party and won't let them play - will they ever find out what it wants? Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell's How to be a Viking, Noggin the Nog pairs Peter Firmin's charming and colourful illustrations with Oliver Postgate's inimitable storytelling to create the ideal books for newly independent readers. Peter Firmin partnered with Oliver Postgate to found Smallfilms in 1959 and together they went on to produce some of the BBC's best-loved television shows for children including Ivor the Engine, Noggin the Nog, Bagpuss and The Clangers - which recently returned to screens in the US and UK, narrated by William Shatner and Michael Palin.

Noggin

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: OCLC:51450793
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Internet games

Noggin.com has Blues Clues games, and Sesame games, things to print-out and color in. There's also a place to make up Nogginy words, a section where you can learn all kinds of facts--like why you have a belly button. Plus a part where you can draw us stuff, and mail us stuff, and ask us just about anything.

We All Looked Up

Author: Tommy Wallach
Publisher: cbj Verlag
ISBN: 9783641182601
Release Date: 2016-03-08
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Was wäre, wenn ein riesiger Asteroid durchs All Richtung Erde trudeln würde und man eventuell nur noch zehn Wochen Zeit hätte, um all seine Wünsche und Hoffnungen in die Tat umzusetzen? Peter, Eliza, Anita und Andy müssen sich kurz vor dem Schulabschluss genau dieser Frage stellen. Ihnen bleiben zehn Wochen, um all ihre Hoffnungen und ihre Herzen in die Waagschale zu werfen, denn vielleicht, vielleicht, ist es die einzige Zukunft, die sie haben. In diesem existentiellen Carpe-Diem-Szenario stellt sich für den Sunnyboy Peter ebenso wie für die ehrgeizige Anita die Frage, was für sie wirklich zählt, und auch der sorglose Andy und die fatalistische Eliza mit ihrer Nach-mir-die-Sintflut-Haltung müssen zum ersten Mal ernsthaft ihr Leben überdenken.

The Vertebrate Organizer

Author: Horst Grunz
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 3540140328
Release Date: 2004-02-20
Genre: Science

The organizer area plays a central role in the formation of the embryonic axis and the central nervous system of all vertebrates including the human fetus. In The Vertebrate Organizer outstanding molecular development biologists and embryologists report their latest approaches in this fascinating research area using different vertebrate model organisms. The presented data are of central importance for the understanding of early human embryogenesis.

Mehr als das

Author: Patrick Ness
Publisher: cbt Verlag
ISBN: 9783641125158
Release Date: 2014-03-24
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

In welcher Wirklichkeit leben wir? Ein Junge ertrinkt, verzweifelt und verlassen in seinen letzten Minuten. Er stirbt. Dann erwacht er, nackt, verletzt und durstig, aber lebendig. Wie kann das sein? Und an was für einem seltsamen, verlassenen Ort befindet er sich? Während er versucht zu verstehen, was mit ihm geschehen ist, regt sich Hoffnung bei dem Jungen. Ist das vielleicht doch noch nicht das Ende? Bietet dieses Leben vielleicht doch mehr als das?

Joggin Your Noggin

Author: Mary Randolph
Publisher:
ISBN: 0615640273
Release Date: 2012-05-20
Genre: Speech therapy

The "Joggin' Your Noggin" series of word games is aimed at improving the lives of people struggling with dementia. Unlike many Alzheimer's activities books directed to caregivers, "Joggin' Your Noggin" is designed to be completed by a person in mild to moderate stages, independently or with some support. Written by a Speech-Language Pathologist, the games offer an opportunity not only for fun, entertainment, and a sense of accomplishment, but also for essential mental stimulation. "Complete the Song Title, " "Name the Opposite," "Picture the Description," and "Fill in the Blank" are but a few examples. When shared with caregivers, family or friends, meaningful interaction is automatic. Individual questions provide a springboard to reminisce about fond memories and create moments of shared joy. Activities Directors and Recreation Therapists will find a wealth of ready-made content to incorporate into group activities. The level of difficulty, based on vocabulary, varies from the simplest in Volume I to the most advanced in Volume IV. Answers are readily accessible on the following page or at the back of the book. Each volume contains over 70 games and is sold at a more affordable price than similar products. The "Joggin' Your Noggin" series continues to receive very positive reviews.