NFL Draft 2016 Preview

Author: Nolan Nawrocki
Publisher: ACTA Publications
ISBN: 9780879466435
Release Date: 2016-03-17
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Written by longtime Pro Football Weekly lead draft analyst Nolan Nawrocki, NFL Draft 2016 Preview is the most reliable and comprehensive guide to the NFL draft. Nawrocki produced the draft guide under the Pro Football Weekly brand for more than a decade, and the annual publication came to be regarded as the "Bible of the draft" by pro personnel, agents, and fans. This draft preview provides the detailed scouting reports, rankings, and position-by-position analysis that readers have come to rely on. Featuring detailed evaluations of more than 300 prospects, this 2016 edition includes fresh "buzz" from the NFL's scouting trails, Nawrocki's rankings of the top prospects at each position, and the latest combine measurables on each prospect.

NFL Draft 2017

Author: Nolan Nawrocki
Publisher: ACTA Publications
ISBN: 9780879466503
Release Date: 2017-04-01
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Regarded in NFL circles as one of the nation’s leading independent draft analysts, spending thousands of hours evaluating talent each season, NolanNawrocki’s vast network of contacts allows him to gather intelligence regarding NFL prospects that is unparalleled in the industry. His annual book contains in-depth information on some 350 players eligible for the draft, with the history, strengths, and weaknesses of each player clearly documented. Nawrocki also quotes other scouts on their opinions of individual players and gives probable draft rounds in which they will be drafted and even some teams they would fit best. He ranks the top ten players at each position on both offense and defense and gives the latest measurables available from both the Combine and individual pro days. Nawrocki led Pro Football Weekly’s draft coverage from 2003 to 2013, then independently took over the writing and research on this book in the grand tradition of the iconic football analyst Joel Buchsbaum.

Dtp s 2017 NFL Draft Guide

Author: Daniel Parlegreco
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 154424326X
Release Date: 2017-03-08
Genre:

The Best 2017 Draft Guide Out There! The Most Honest, Unbiased and Completely Raw NFL Draft Guide on the Market Today With 250 + prospects in this guide and 80,000 words written, I believe I did just that. I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the in-depth analysis, grades, and player fits on each and every single player in this year's guide. I even includes all the up-to-date sizes and measurements from the combine for each player. But why should you buy THIS guide, and who exactly am I? Well I'm a normal guy just like you, except that I watch college football tape for fun, and write pages and pages of notes on almost every single eligible player for the draft. Yes, you can say I'm a dork. I also write my reports in such a way that everyone can understand, even the casual football fan. I don't use fancy scout lingo or terms that make you wonder -what the heck is he talking about?- I've been doing this for 5 years now, and I've hit a lot more on players then I miss. I write for multiple publications and have been recognized by many when it comes to my draft evaluations. The other thing that separates me is I don't write or grade players based on what the -talking heads- on TV or on the internet say about players. I come to my own conclusions, whether popular or unpopular. Of course I'm wrong on occasion like every single evaluator out there, but I'm right A LOT. Just for instance, in December of 2015, I said Carson Wentz was the best QB in the 2016 NFL Draft. At the time, he was considered a late round draft pick by most. Many evaluators hadn't even heard of him yet, others blasted me and said -I'm crazy and he's an undraftable guy coming from FCS level North Dakota State.- That is just 1 small example. I can't promise you that I'll be right on all these players, but I can promise you that every single player in this guide I came to my own opinion about after watching the tape. I had no pre-conceived ideas about any of these players, nor do I have a college football team affiliation. I'm not biased, nor am I non-objectionable. With that being said, I'm more excited then ever about this draft class. There is so much depth at so many positions, it is hard to find a 'weak' spot in this draft. Some will say 'QB' but I disagree wholeheartedly. I think there could easily be 3 franchise QB's in this draft class. Let's get into it my 2017 Draft Evaluations!

DTP 2018 NFL Draft Guide

Author: Daniel Parlegreco
Publisher:
ISBN: 1983818747
Release Date: 2018-02-21
Genre:

For those who have or haven't bought my guide in the past, here is what comes in this year's version of my NFL Draft Guide:- In-depth player profiles of 300 + prospects (most I've ever done)- Best positional and schematic fits for each player- Strengths and weaknesses of every player- Where I personally would feel comfortable drafting each player- Scouting glossary of terms used (New this year)I can't promise you that I'll be right on all these players, but I can promise you that every single player in this guide I came to my own opinion about after watching the tape. I had no pre-conceived ideas about any of these players.With that being said, I'm more excited than ever about this draft class. There is so much depth at so many positions, it is hard to find a 'weak' spot in this draft! I cannot wait to talk and see where all these QBs go. It's crazy to think that this might be the strongest QB class we've seen in years! Come on and dig in with me on these players.

CRAPSHOOT THE NFL DRAFT

Author: David V. Gray
Publisher: Outskirts Press
ISBN: 1478779683
Release Date: 2017-01-18
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Crapshoot is the encyclopedia of the modern NFL draft. The NFL is the most popular sport in America, and outside of the Super Bowl, the NFL Draft has become the second-most watched NFL event. Crapshoot-The NFL Draft: 1967-2017 celebrates the 50th anniversary of the first common draft held in 1967. It is the most complete and comprehensive interpretation and history of the NFL Draft. The book looks at how the draft has grown and addresses the question why some drafted players succeed while others fail. It also assesses each draft class-the steals and busts, the bests and worsts of the draft. Have you ever wondered what the best and worst first-round draft class is? How about the best and worst second-round draft class? The best and worst top five picks? Top ten picks? The best and worst offensive draft class and defensive draft class? The best and worst quarterback, running back, and wide receiver class? The best and worst team first-round picks? If you're a fan of the NFL Draft, this book is for you.

Dtp s Preview of the 2017 NFL Draft

Author: Daniel Parlegreco
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1532977964
Release Date: 2016-04-27
Genre:

It is never too early to start analyzing and preparing for the 2017 NFL Draft. The 2017 NFL Draft is going to have some of the brightest and most exciting players we have seen in several years. In fact, I won't be in the slightest surprised if this class yields an All-Pro QB, one of the best pass rushers we've ever seen, or a Hall of Fame RB. The depth and star power is of a completely different class then we saw in the 2016 Draft Class. Who are these players I am referencing? What makes me so confident they can be THAT good? What other big named prospects should you keep an eye on throughout the college football season? What further down the line guys are going to RISE up like crazy in the coming months? In this preview, we are going to break down the 20 names your going to hear a lot of in the coming months! I am going to give you a run down of the pros, cons, player comparisons, things to watch for during the season, and a whole lot more! If your wondering who I am, I wrote the highly popular DTP's 2016 NFL Draft Guide which sold hundreds and hundreds of copies. I am an amateur scout who enjoys writing about, and watching film. I watch these players completely unbiasedly and view things with no pre-conceived ideas. I pride myself on beating the pavement and watching the film, unlike many other 'DRAFT GURUS.' I don't have any college affiliation, nor do I root for a team. I look for the best players that will be STARS in the NFL. So there you have it! Let's now get into these 2017 Draft Prospects and review 20 of the top guys! Trust me, your going to get excited when you hear about some of them!

The Bill James Handbook 2017

Author: Bill James
Publisher: ACTA Publications
ISBN: 9780879466480
Release Date: 2016-11-04
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Bill James and the Baseball Info Solutions team of analysts continue to pack in new content, including a fresh look at the continued rise and effectiveness of The Shift and a new breakdown of home runs and long flyouts. And, as always, the book forecasts fresh hitter and pitcher projections for those looking to get an early jump on the next season.

On the Clock

Author: Barry Wilner
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781630761028
Release Date: 2015-04-01
Genre: Sports & Recreation

The NFL draft features no action on the field. No passing, running, tackling, or kicking. Hey, there isn't even a field. Yet the draft has become more popular than many other sporting events, including the NBA and NHL playoff games, against which it goes head-to-head for viewers. In fact, the draft has spawned its own cottage industry in which names such as Gil Brandt, Mel Kiper Jr., and Mike Mayock have become as well known as any of the first-round selections. In On the Clock, Barry Wilner and Ken Rappoport chronicle the history of the proceedings. The veteran sportswriters take you from the first grab bag in 1936, when Philadelphia chose Heisman Trophy winner Jay Berwanger of the University of Chicago only for him to decline to play in the NFL, to the 2014 draft—considered one of the deepest in talent ever. Along the 78-year journey, learn about the competitions for the top overall spot (Peyton Manning vs. Ryan Leaf), the unhappy No. 1s (John Elway and Tom Cousineau), the big flops (JaMarcus Russell), and the late-rounders-turned-superstars (Tom Brady). Meet the draft wizards, from Paul Brown to Bill Walsh and Jimmy Johnson, and read about the draft whiffs that cost personnel executives their jobs. On the Clock takes you behind the scenes at one of pro football’s most suspenseful annual events.

Relentless

Author: Julian Edelman
Publisher: Hachette Books
ISBN: 9780316479844
Release Date: 2017-10-24
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Bill Belichick: "Julian is the epitome of competitiveness, toughness, and the great things that are possible when someone is determined to achieve their goals." Tom Brady: "It's a privilege for me to play with someone as special as Julian." The Super Bowl champion wide receiver for the New England Patriots shares his inspiring story of an underdog kid who was always doubted to becoming one of the most reliable and inspiring players in the NFL. When the Patriots were down 28-3 in Super Bowl LI, there was at least one player who refused to believe they would lose: Julian Edelman. And he said so. It wasn't only because of his belief in his teammates, led by the master of the comeback, his friend and quarterback Tom Brady-or the coaching staff run by the legendary Bill Belichick. It was also because he had been counted out in most of his life and career, and he had proved them all wrong. Whether it was in Pop Warner football, where his Redwood City, California, team won a national championship; in high school where he went from a 4'10", 95-pound freshman running back to quarterback for an undefeated Woodside High team; or college, where he rewrote records at Kent State as a dual-threat quarterback, Edelman far exceeded everyone's expectations. Everyone's expectations, that is, except his own and those of his father, who took extreme and unorthodox measures to drive Edelman to quiet the doubters with ferocious competitiveness. When he was drafted by the Patriots in the seventh round, the 5'10" college quarterback was asked to field punts and play wide receiver, though he'd never done either. But gradually, under the tutelage of a demanding coaching staff and countless hours of off-season training with Tom Brady, he became one of the NFL's most dynamic punt returners and top receivers who can deliver in the biggest games. Relentless is the story of Edelman's rise, and the continuing dominance of the Patriot dynasty, filled with memories of growing up with a father who was as demanding as any NFL coach, his near-constant fight to keep his intensity and competitiveness in check in high school and college, and his celebrated nine seasons with the Patriots. Julian shares insights into his relationships and rivalries, and his friendships with teammates such as Tom Brady, Wes Welker, Matt Slater, and Randy Moss. Finally, he reveals the story behind "the catch" and life on the inside of a team for the ages. Inspiring, honest, and unapologetic, Relentless proves that the heart of a champion can never be measured. *Features a limited edition poster of Edelman inside book jacket.

Solid Fool s Gold

Author: Bill James
Publisher: ACTA Publications
ISBN: 9780879466084
Release Date: 2011-03-15
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Since he first began publishing his Baseball Abstracts in the 1980s, Bill James has constantly challenged conventional wisdom by asking simple questions like, "Is that really true?" or "What if we looked at the question this way?" He has sparked a virtual revolution in the way the game of baseball is understood and played, from how players are evaluated or positioned to whether or not they should attempt to bunt or steal a base. In Solid Fool s Gold James continues his lifelong work with new analyses of: Hot pitchers, clutch pitching, and "late career" players The predictability of RBI A better way to organize the minor leagues The 33 best starting rotations and the worst teams of all time The best pitching matchups of the 1980s (and 2010) How the "Expansion Time Bomb" will affect the Hall of Fame But it is not just baseball that draws James inquisitive eye. He discusses the growing expectation for tips and decreasing effectiveness of advertising; his new method for measuring rainfall; the counterproductive use of physical stop lights and red-light cameras; and the statistical inefficiencies of the federal Transportion Security Administration. James wonders how Buck O Neil would have related to his ancestor s cousin (Supreme Court Justice James Clark McReynolds), proposes whimsical rules for Olympic NASCAR Racing, and poeticizes about Ricky Weeks and WikiLeaks. He compares the chances of a particular-size town producing a Justin Verlander or a William Shakespeare, imagines Roger Maris apologizing in heaven for having beaten Babe Ruth s single-season home run record, and explains how to "battle expertise with the power of ignorance." As a bonus, he includes one of his seminal articles from The Bill James Baseball Abstract 1983 titled "The Law of Competitive Advantage" and looks at how it has held up over the intervening years.

The Bill James Handbook 2018

Author: Bill James
Publisher: ACTA Publications
ISBN: 9780879466565
Release Date: 2017-11-02
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Bill James and Baseball Info Solutions team of analysts continue to pack in new content, including a fresh look at the continues rise and effectiveness of The Shift and a new breakdown of home runs and long flyouts. And, as always, the book forecasts fresh hitter and pitcher projections for those looking to get an early jump on the next season.

If I Did it

Author: O. J. Simpson
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015073908801
Release Date: 2007
Genre: True Crime

In 1994, Ron Goldman and Nicole Brown Simpson were brutally murdered at her home in Brentwood, California. O.J. Simpson was tried for the crime in a case that captured the attention of the American people, but was ultimately found not guilty of criminal charges. The victims' families brought civil cases against Simpson, and he was found liable for willfully and wrongfully causing the deaths of Ron and Nicole by committing battery with malice and oppression. In 2006, HarperCollins announced the publication of a book in which O.J. Simpson told how he hypothetically would have committed the murders. In response to public outrage that Simpson stood to profit from these crimes, HarperCollins canceled the book. A Florida bankruptcy court awarded the rights tothe Goldmans in August 2007 to partially satisfy the unpaid civil judgment, which has risen, with interest, to over $38 million. The Goldman family views this book as his confession, and has worked hard to ensure that the public will read this book and learn the truth. This is the original manuscript approved by O.J. Simpson, with up to 14,000 words of key additional commentary.--From publisher's description.

NFL Draft Elite 60

Author: Dane Brugler
Publisher: Triumph Books
ISBN: 9781633195592
Release Date: 2016-04-04
Genre: Sports & Recreation

NFL Draft Elite 60: The 2016 Superstars of Tomorrow is the must-have guide for football fans interested in learning more about the cream of the crop of college prospects, the players bound to make a major impact on the field and in fantasy football matchups during their rookie year and beyond. Including 60 full-color photographs, the player profiles are chock full of scouts' analysis, strengths & weaknesses, career projections and up-to-the-minute NFL Combine results. This striking and informative book eschews the dense presentation and content of the average draft guide and hones in on the most essential facts and observations about the core group of players that will impact the league for years to come. NFL Draft Elite 60 focuses on all of the best prospects on the board, from well-known seniors like Notre Dame's Ronnie Stanley and Alabama's Reggie Ragland, to diamonds in the rough like Jason Spriggs out of Indiana and Darian Thompson from Boise State. Draft industry leader Dane Brugler has all of the top 60 future stars profiled, thoroughly analyzed and thoughtfully projected, providing essential information to every NFL and fantasy football fan around the country

When It Was Just a Game

Author: Harvey Frommer
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781589799219
Release Date: 2015-09-30
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Written by acclaimed sports author and oral historian Harvey Frommer and with an introduction by pro football Hall of Famer Frank Gifford, When It Was Just a Game tells the fascinating story of the ground-breaking AFL–NFL World Championship Football game played on January 15, 1967: Packers vs. Chiefs. Filled with new insights, containing commentary from the recently discovered unpublished memoir of Kansas City Chiefs coach Hank Stram, and featuring oral history from many who were at the game—media, players, coaches, fans—the book presents back story and front story in the words of those who lived it and saw it go on to become the Super Bowl, the greatest sports attraction the world has ever known. Archival photographs and drawings help bring the event to life.