NFL Draft 2017

Author: Nolan Nawrocki
Publisher: ACTA Publications
ISBN: 9780879466503
Release Date: 2017-04-01
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Regarded in NFL circles as one of the nation’s leading independent draft analysts, spending thousands of hours evaluating talent each season, NolanNawrocki’s vast network of contacts allows him to gather intelligence regarding NFL prospects that is unparalleled in the industry. His annual book contains in-depth information on some 350 players eligible for the draft, with the history, strengths, and weaknesses of each player clearly documented. Nawrocki also quotes other scouts on their opinions of individual players and gives probable draft rounds in which they will be drafted and even some teams they would fit best. He ranks the top ten players at each position on both offense and defense and gives the latest measurables available from both the Combine and individual pro days. Nawrocki led Pro Football Weekly’s draft coverage from 2003 to 2013, then independently took over the writing and research on this book in the grand tradition of the iconic football analyst Joel Buchsbaum.

NFL Draft 2016 Preview

Author: Nolan Nawrocki
Publisher: ACTA Publications
ISBN: 9780879466435
Release Date: 2016-03-17
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Written by longtime Pro Football Weekly lead draft analyst Nolan Nawrocki, NFL Draft 2016 Preview is the most reliable and comprehensive guide to the NFL draft. Nawrocki produced the draft guide under the Pro Football Weekly brand for more than a decade, and the annual publication came to be regarded as the "Bible of the draft" by pro personnel, agents, and fans. This draft preview provides the detailed scouting reports, rankings, and position-by-position analysis that readers have come to rely on. Featuring detailed evaluations of more than 300 prospects, this 2016 edition includes fresh "buzz" from the NFL's scouting trails, Nawrocki's rankings of the top prospects at each position, and the latest combine measurables on each prospect.

Dtp s Preview of the 2017 NFL Draft

Author: Daniel Parlegreco
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1532977964
Release Date: 2016-04-27
Genre:

It is never too early to start analyzing and preparing for the 2017 NFL Draft. The 2017 NFL Draft is going to have some of the brightest and most exciting players we have seen in several years. In fact, I won't be in the slightest surprised if this class yields an All-Pro QB, one of the best pass rushers we've ever seen, or a Hall of Fame RB. The depth and star power is of a completely different class then we saw in the 2016 Draft Class. Who are these players I am referencing? What makes me so confident they can be THAT good? What other big named prospects should you keep an eye on throughout the college football season? What further down the line guys are going to RISE up like crazy in the coming months? In this preview, we are going to break down the 20 names your going to hear a lot of in the coming months! I am going to give you a run down of the pros, cons, player comparisons, things to watch for during the season, and a whole lot more! If your wondering who I am, I wrote the highly popular DTP's 2016 NFL Draft Guide which sold hundreds and hundreds of copies. I am an amateur scout who enjoys writing about, and watching film. I watch these players completely unbiasedly and view things with no pre-conceived ideas. I pride myself on beating the pavement and watching the film, unlike many other 'DRAFT GURUS.' I don't have any college affiliation, nor do I root for a team. I look for the best players that will be STARS in the NFL. So there you have it! Let's now get into these 2017 Draft Prospects and review 20 of the top guys! Trust me, your going to get excited when you hear about some of them!

CRAPSHOOT THE NFL DRAFT

Author: David V. Gray
Publisher: Outskirts Press
ISBN: 1478779683
Release Date: 2017-01-18
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Crapshoot is the encyclopedia of the modern NFL draft. The NFL is the most popular sport in America, and outside of the Super Bowl, the NFL Draft has become the second-most watched NFL event. Crapshoot-The NFL Draft: 1967-2017 celebrates the 50th anniversary of the first common draft held in 1967. It is the most complete and comprehensive interpretation and history of the NFL Draft. The book looks at how the draft has grown and addresses the question why some drafted players succeed while others fail. It also assesses each draft class-the steals and busts, the bests and worsts of the draft. Have you ever wondered what the best and worst first-round draft class is? How about the best and worst second-round draft class? The best and worst top five picks? Top ten picks? The best and worst offensive draft class and defensive draft class? The best and worst quarterback, running back, and wide receiver class? The best and worst team first-round picks? If you're a fan of the NFL Draft, this book is for you.

Dtp s 2017 NFL Draft Guide

Author: Daniel Parlegreco
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 154424326X
Release Date: 2017-03-08
Genre:

The Best 2017 Draft Guide Out There! The Most Honest, Unbiased and Completely Raw NFL Draft Guide on the Market Today With 250 + prospects in this guide and 80,000 words written, I believe I did just that. I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the in-depth analysis, grades, and player fits on each and every single player in this year's guide. I even includes all the up-to-date sizes and measurements from the combine for each player. But why should you buy THIS guide, and who exactly am I? Well I'm a normal guy just like you, except that I watch college football tape for fun, and write pages and pages of notes on almost every single eligible player for the draft. Yes, you can say I'm a dork. I also write my reports in such a way that everyone can understand, even the casual football fan. I don't use fancy scout lingo or terms that make you wonder -what the heck is he talking about?- I've been doing this for 5 years now, and I've hit a lot more on players then I miss. I write for multiple publications and have been recognized by many when it comes to my draft evaluations. The other thing that separates me is I don't write or grade players based on what the -talking heads- on TV or on the internet say about players. I come to my own conclusions, whether popular or unpopular. Of course I'm wrong on occasion like every single evaluator out there, but I'm right A LOT. Just for instance, in December of 2015, I said Carson Wentz was the best QB in the 2016 NFL Draft. At the time, he was considered a late round draft pick by most. Many evaluators hadn't even heard of him yet, others blasted me and said -I'm crazy and he's an undraftable guy coming from FCS level North Dakota State.- That is just 1 small example. I can't promise you that I'll be right on all these players, but I can promise you that every single player in this guide I came to my own opinion about after watching the tape. I had no pre-conceived ideas about any of these players, nor do I have a college football team affiliation. I'm not biased, nor am I non-objectionable. With that being said, I'm more excited then ever about this draft class. There is so much depth at so many positions, it is hard to find a 'weak' spot in this draft. Some will say 'QB' but I disagree wholeheartedly. I think there could easily be 3 franchise QB's in this draft class. Let's get into it my 2017 Draft Evaluations!

DTP 2018 NFL Draft Guide

Author: Daniel Parlegreco
Publisher:
ISBN: 1983818747
Release Date: 2018-02-21
Genre:

For those who have or haven't bought my guide in the past, here is what comes in this year's version of my NFL Draft Guide:- In-depth player profiles of 300 + prospects (most I've ever done)- Best positional and schematic fits for each player- Strengths and weaknesses of every player- Where I personally would feel comfortable drafting each player- Scouting glossary of terms used (New this year)I can't promise you that I'll be right on all these players, but I can promise you that every single player in this guide I came to my own opinion about after watching the tape. I had no pre-conceived ideas about any of these players.With that being said, I'm more excited than ever about this draft class. There is so much depth at so many positions, it is hard to find a 'weak' spot in this draft! I cannot wait to talk and see where all these QBs go. It's crazy to think that this might be the strongest QB class we've seen in years! Come on and dig in with me on these players.

Draft Report

Author: Mel Kiper, Jr.
Publisher:
ISBN: 1419692453
Release Date: 2008-04-23
Genre: Sports & Recreation

The Draft Report is Mel's most in depth book taking you through a player's high school and college career, referencing pertinent stats, historical data & injuries also key strengths and weaknesses.

On the Clock

Author: Barry Wilner
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781630761028
Release Date: 2015-04-01
Genre: Sports & Recreation

The NFL draft features no action on the field. No passing, running, tackling, or kicking. Hey, there isn't even a field. Yet the draft has become more popular than many other sporting events, including the NBA and NHL playoff games, against which it goes head-to-head for viewers. In fact, the draft has spawned its own cottage industry in which names such as Gil Brandt, Mel Kiper Jr., and Mike Mayock have become as well known as any of the first-round selections. In On the Clock, Barry Wilner and Ken Rappoport chronicle the history of the proceedings. The veteran sportswriters take you from the first grab bag in 1936, when Philadelphia chose Heisman Trophy winner Jay Berwanger of the University of Chicago only for him to decline to play in the NFL, to the 2014 draft—considered one of the deepest in talent ever. Along the 78-year journey, learn about the competitions for the top overall spot (Peyton Manning vs. Ryan Leaf), the unhappy No. 1s (John Elway and Tom Cousineau), the big flops (JaMarcus Russell), and the late-rounders-turned-superstars (Tom Brady). Meet the draft wizards, from Paul Brown to Bill Walsh and Jimmy Johnson, and read about the draft whiffs that cost personnel executives their jobs. On the Clock takes you behind the scenes at one of pro football’s most suspenseful annual events.

The Pro Football Draft

Author: Jim Gigliotti
Publisher: Mason Crest Publishers
ISBN: 1422235831
Release Date: 2016-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

"With the first selection in the draft . . ." With those words each spring, the NFL commissioner makes a dream come true for one young man. Today, that dream-come-true moment is watched more closely than ever, and has been talked about, analyzed, and dissected for months leading up to it, and to the hundreds of draft picks that follow. The annual selection of college players by the NFL has turned into a year-round extravaganza of stats, stories, and predictions. A veteran football journalist is the ringmaster of reporting for this circus, which connects money, media, and miracles.Professional football is clearly the most popular and successful sports league in American history. Rather than focus on the star players or big games, this series takes a broader, deeper look at the sport off the field. The insider experience of the authors reveals the secrets that make the NFL No. 1. Just because you know who won the Super Bowl doesn't mean you know ALL ABOUT PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL. The National Football League is by far Americas most popular and successful sports league. Fans know who won the Super Bowl and who the top players are, but do they know how the league is run? How games get on TV? How the draft works? This series, written by longtime pro football journalists, takes an inside look behind the scenes of pro football, opening up new ways to enjoy the game (or even consider careers off the field). Bonus volumes on the state of high school and college football help readers get perspective on the roles of those levels of the sport on the NFL itself. For NFL fans, for sports fans, for business students, this series scores a touchdown! Each title in the ALL ABOUT PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL series includes color photos throughout, and back matter including an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities, and expand their viewpoints through our content rich nonfiction books. Key Icons in this series are: Words to Understand shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced color type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions, building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content-rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text-Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter referring back to subjects covered within. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the material they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and give readers suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. Educational Videos are offered in chapters through the use of a QR code, that, when scanned, takes the student to an online video showing a moment in history, a speech, or an instructional video. This gives the readers additional content to supplement the text. A Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the readers knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.

Football Outsiders Almanac 2017

Author: Aaron Schatz
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1974013782
Release Date: 2017-07-24
Genre:

The most authoritative and innovative annual guide to both the NFL and college football is back for an all-new season with more cutting-edge statistical analysis, obsessive film study, and trademark humor. Includes comprehensive coverage of all 32 NFL teams, analysis of offseason personnel changes, over 500 KUBIAK fantasy football projections, and breakdowns of the top 50 college football teams for 2017. With numerous statistical measures that go far beyond standard NFL stats, Football Outsiders Almanac 2016 gives NFL fans the kind of sabermetric-like statistical analysis that revolutionized the fan's understanding of baseball. It's also written with a knowing dry wit that gets under the skin of America's most popular spectator sport. Groundbreaking team and player DVOA ratings that correct for situation and opponent to reveal which offenses and defenses are truly superior, and which players really help win games. Exclusive data from our partners at Sports Info Solutions, unavailable in standard NFL stats, tells you which quarterbacks benefit the most from yards after catch or play best under pressure; which teams most often blitz or run specific offensive formations; and which defensive backs stop the other team's passing game, measured by pass coverage on every single play rather than just tackles. NEW FOR 2017: Data on how receivers performed based on where they lined up before the snap: wide, tight, in the slot, or in the backfield. Detailed information on each team's performance in 2016 by offensive and defensive personnel package. Detailed individual stats for offensive linemen and defensive players. Extensive coverage of all 32 teams with week-by-week stats from the 2016 season, five-year performance trends, and analysis of off-season personnel changes. Exclusive 2017 predictions that give the odds on each team as a Super Bowl contender ... or a contender for the top pick in the 2018 draft. 2017 fantasy football projections for more than 500 skill position players based on the KUBIAK forecasting system. Breakdowns on the top 50 college football teams and full win-loss projections for all 130 Division I-A (FBS) teams. "A book that any self-respecting NFL fan needs to purchase." -- Bill Simmons, The Ringer.com "Football Outsiders has now built a system that has some serious traction behind it. I personally find it fascinating." -- John Schneider, General Manager, Seattle Seahawks "Exhausting, enlightening, surprising in many cases, and an absolute must-read if you like the NFL. -- Peter King, TheMMQB.com "It's important for you, the working football fan, to know more about football than other football fans. The Football Outsiders Almanac will give you all the background knowledge you need to make your football-watching companions feel uninformed and inadequate." -- Drew Magary, Deadspin.com "Football is a nearly impossible game for even its most devout practitioners to understand. Football Outsiders is the best way I know to make it make sense." -- Will Leitch, New York Magazine/SportsonEarth.com

Believe It

Author: Nick Foles
Publisher: NavPress
ISBN: 9781496436528
Release Date: 2018-06-26
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

*New York Times Bestseller* Get ready to defy the odds when everyone’s counting you out. When the Philadelphia Eagles’ starting quarterback went down with a torn ACL in week 14 of the 2017 NFL season, many fans—and commentators—assumed the Eagles’ season was over. Instead, Nick Foles came off the bench and, against all odds, led the Eagles to their first Super Bowl victory in history. How did Nick get it done—winning MVP honors, silencing the critics, and shocking the world? How did the man who was on the verge of retiring just two seasons earlier stay optimistic and rally the team to an astounding win? How did he stay ready despite numerous trades and discouraging injuries, able to step up in the moment and perform at the top of his game? Believe It offers a behind-the-scenes look at Nick’s unlikely path to the Super Bowl, the obstacles that threatened to hold him back, his rediscovery of his love for the game, and the faith that grounded him through it all. Learn from the way Nick handled the trials and tribulations that made him into the man he is today—and discover a path to your own success.

The Man I Never Met

Author: Adam Schefter
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781250161901
Release Date: 2018-09-04
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A powerful true story of loss and hope by one of the biggest names in sports media. On September 11, 2001, Joe Maio went to work in the north tower of the World Trade Center. He never returned, leaving behind a wife, Sharri, and 15-month old son, Devon. Five years later, Sharri remarried, and Devon welcomed a new dad into his life. For thousands, the whole country really, 9/11 is a day of grief. For Adam and Sharri Maio Schefter and their family it’s not just a day of grief, but also hope. This is a story of 9/11, but it’s also the story of 9/12 and all the days after. Life moved on. Pieces were picked up. New dreams were dreamed. The Schefters are the embodiment of that. This book will give voice to all those who have chosen to keep living. It’s gratifying and beautiful. But also messy and hard. Like most families. Except that one day every year history comes roaring back. How do you embrace that? How do you honor that? The Man I Never Met is also a peek at Adam Schefter, the man behind the headlines and injury reports; a real person who has a real family. His book will follow in the path of recent ESPN books by Tom Rinaldi and the late Stuart Scott – books that have transcended sport to examine the raw emotion of life.

Football and Manliness

Author: Thomas P. Oates
Publisher: University of Illinois Press
ISBN: 9780252099489
Release Date: 2017-03-30
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Women, African Americans, and gays have recently upended US culture with demands for inclusion and respect, while economic changes have transformed work and daily life for millions of Americans. The national obsession with the National Football League provides a window on this dynamic period of change, reshaping ideas about manliness to respond to new urgencies on and beyond the gridiron. Thomas P. Oates uses feminist theory to break down the dynamic cultural politics shaping, and shaped by, today's NFL. As he shows, the league's wildly popular product provides an arena for media producers to work out and recalibrate the anxieties, contradictions, and challenges that characterize contemporary masculinity. Oates draws from a range of pop culture narratives to map the complex set of theories about gender and race and to reveal a league and fan base in flux. Though longing for a past dominated by white masculinity, the mediated NFL also subtly aligns with a new economic reality that demands it cope with the shifting relations of gender, race, sexuality, and class. Indeed, pro football crafts new meanings of each by its canny mobilization of historic ideological processes.

Warren Sharp s 2018 Football Preview

Author: Warren Sharp
Publisher:
ISBN: 1721539034
Release Date: 2018-06-26
Genre:

Simply the best, analytical 2018 football preview you can buy Welcome to previewing the NFL through a lens you've never witnessed before. Warren Sharp's 252-page full color 2018 Football Preview is unlike anything you have seen before. Stunning visualizations built with the reader in mind and innovative, next level thought process abound in every team chapter and article. This book shares insights into the players, coaches, teams and philosophies with one goal in mind: to get you prepared for the 2018 season by delivering the smartest information in the fastest, most direct way possible for optimal reviewing and retention. PDF copy here: http://bit.ly/1qPWB7d "There are so many preseason NFL previews available that offer fans insight into the season, however, few dig as deep as Warren's, with a unique view of what really matters during the season. Sharp's detailed approach is a must read for any football fan--and it's one of my main summer reads."- Michael Lombardi, 3-time Super Bowl Champion, working with Bill Belichick, Bill Walsh & Al Davis "Warren's preview exemplifies the use of analytics and information in a way that should be interesting to any fan. It is more in depth than many teams in the NFL are using today. Every GM and coach would serve themselves well to read the analysis of their team. They would both learn something and immediately appreciate the benefit of the information. No one presents it better, and breaks down what it means better than Warren."- Joe Banner, Longtime Philadelphia Eagles President "This book breaks down each team by every category imaginable and describes exactly what they did in every situation. If you coach any level of football, from youth to the NFL, you will assuredly receive valuable information. You won't want to put it down."- Kevin Kelley, Head Football Coach & 7-time State Champion at Pulaski Academy Every key element you would want to study is included, such as Fantasy Football (player profiles, ranks & visualizations), Vegas Odds (forecast team wins, division rankings, lines for all 2018 games), Coaching (strategic advice for teams, real vs optimal play calling analysis & uncovering team tendencies) and Front Office Analysis (positional spending, roster construction & cap analysis). Team chapters are detailed and intelligently organized for a massive revolution in reader understanding and information retention. Features embedded audio and video. Warren believes the best way to be successful in fantasy football or betting is to do the opposite of most other publications. There is an industry rush to dive head first into player rankings & projections. Warren starts with fundamental discussion of the game, the teams, their coaching strategy and the players. He then analyzes their strengths and weaknesses with visualizations and data to support the narrative. Using that framework, Warren constructs projections and outlook. By previewing the NFL season in this manner, the reader walks away with much more than ever envisioned or delivered in a season preview. Find out why pro bettors, linesmakers and pro-DFS players view this season preview as indispensable. It's a must have if you want to bet on the 2018 Pro Football season. This preview incredibly combines evergreen philosophical "football" analysis you would find in a reference book with immediate, relevant predictions for the 2018 season. "Warren's dedication and acumen for analyzing football is clearly evident. This book is completely unlike anything I've read in a preview before. His ability to approach the game logically, analytically and in a predictive manner sets him apart from the crowd. I have no doubt after reading this preview you will be far more prepared for your fantasy drafts and just football in general. If you're a NFL fan of any kind, I cannot recommend this preview enough."Evan Silva, Rotoworld.com Senior Football Editor

When It Was Just a Game

Author: Harvey Frommer
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781589799219
Release Date: 2015-09-30
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Written by acclaimed sports author and oral historian Harvey Frommer and with an introduction by pro football Hall of Famer Frank Gifford, When It Was Just a Game tells the fascinating story of the ground-breaking AFL–NFL World Championship Football game played on January 15, 1967: Packers vs. Chiefs. Filled with new insights, containing commentary from the recently discovered unpublished memoir of Kansas City Chiefs coach Hank Stram, and featuring oral history from many who were at the game—media, players, coaches, fans—the book presents back story and front story in the words of those who lived it and saw it go on to become the Super Bowl, the greatest sports attraction the world has ever known. Archival photographs and drawings help bring the event to life.