The Enemy Next Door

Author: Darryl Hurd
Publisher: Tate Publishing
ISBN: 9781617399800
Release Date: 2011-05
Genre: Fiction

Abe slid a manila envelope across the table. 'You will go into Cairo as a buyer for a leather company in southwestern Virginia. I am sending a man with you. He will help you find what you need. Remember, he is not your bodyguard. He can only help.' Right on cue, our waiter re-appeared, and I was introduced to him. Pete Simon didn't plan on spending his twilight years as a globe-trotting spy, but when he and his friend Tyne Colson set up a website devoted to categorizing and tracking suspicious Islamic groups in their area, they find themselves caught up in an unexpected adventure. Despite their age, Pete and Tyne are devoted patriots who will stop at nothing to help protect their country. Tyne stays behind to track the movements of the groups at home, and Pete sets off to trace the origins of the cells. On a whirlwind chase through Israel, Afghanistan, Cairo, and Pakistan, Pete unearths a plot that will have far-reaching implications. They may have discovered The Enemy Next Door, but will they be able to stop them in time?

The Enemy Next Door

Author: Robert L. Boyer
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781462813407
Release Date: 2007-03-13
Genre: History

Robert L. Boyer is a native Detroiter. After serving in the United States Army for two years, he was honorably discharged, but was notified that he had been laid off from his job as a city bus driver. He was soon recalled to work, but in the sanitation department. Boyer saw this as an opportunity to enroll in night school at Highland Park Junior College in order to better himself. He soon transferred to Wayne State University where he acquired a bachelor?s degree in sociology, with which he began a career in social casework. He went on to earn his master?s degree from the college of education. He changed careers and went to work for General Motors where he was employed for nearly twenty-seven years. He retired as manager of Southeast Michigan Regional Benefit Centers. He is a member of Hopewell Baptist Church in Detroit where he teaches Sunday school and serves on the Board of Trustees.

Die Frau nebenan

Author: Yewande Omotoso
Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage
ISBN: 9783843714761
Release Date: 2017-03-10
Genre: Fiction

Das Geschenk einer späten Freundschaft – eine wichtige neue Erzählstimme aus Afrika Hortensia und Marion sind Nachbarinnen. Eine ist schwarz, eine weiß. Beide blicken auf beeindruckende Karrieren zurück. Ihre gegenseitige Abneigung pflegen sie mit viel Eifer, aber was wissen sie wirklich voneinander? „Yewande Omotoso bietet aufregende neue Einsichten. Das ästhetische und politische Engagement in ihrem Roman ist sichtbar in dem tiefen Mitgefühl, das sie ihren Heldinnen entgegenbringt. Obwohl sie deren Ansichten, Verfehlungen und heimliche Sehnsüchte kompromisslos offenlegt, erzählt sie in ihrer wunderschönen, fast heiteren Sprache von dem Recht auf einen individuellen Lebensentwurf unabhängig von Herkunft und Hautfarbe.“ Chris Abani, Autor von „Graceland“ "Yewande Omotoso erinnert an Nadine Gordimer. Sie untersucht die Geographie der Nähe, die die großen Kräfteverhältnisse im Kleinen abbildet." Times Literary Supplement "Voller Charme und verspielter Energie - und doch lauert die Geschichte der Kolonialherrschaft und der Sklaverei im Hintergrund." Herald Scotland

Dein Ego ist dein Feind

Author: Ryan Holiday
Publisher: FinanzBuch Verlag
ISBN: 9783960920458
Release Date: 2017-06-10
Genre: Self-Help

Viele Menschen glauben, dass die Gründe, die sie daran hindern, erfolgreich zu sein, in ihrer Umwelt zu finden sind. Aber in Wirklichkeit steckt der größte Feind in jedem von uns selbst: unser Ego. Es macht uns blind für unsere Fehler, verhindert, dass wir aus ihnen lernen, und hemmt unsere Entwicklung. Denn gerade in Zeiten, in denen die schamlose Selbstdarstellung in sozialen Netzwerken oder im Reality-TV eine Selbstverständlichkeit ist, liegt die wahre Herausforderung in der Idee, weniger Zeit in das Erzählen der eigenen Größe zu stecken und stattdessen die wirklich wichtigen Missionen des Lebens zu meistern. Mit einer Fülle an Beispielen aus Literatur, Philosophie und Geschichte zeigt Ryan Holiday eindrucksvoll und praxisnah, wie die Überwindung des eigenen Egos zum unnachahmlichen Erfolg verhilft. Bewaffnet mit den Erkenntnissen aus diesem Buch kann sich jeder seinem größten Feind stellen – dem eigenen Ego.

Holistic Living

Author: Euckay U. Onyeizugbo
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 1462870112
Release Date: 2011-06-01
Genre: Self-Help

Wholeness is a process that encompasses all that we are as humans-in-interaction. The contemporary human is in a great deal of psychological distress. As a result, people do all sorts of extreme things to ease the tension. For instance, some become hedonistic with inordinate desires for drugs (alcohol, tranquilizers, etc.), food, and sex; whereas some become fanatical in their belief system, including religious beliefs, with tendency toward externality. The extent that the human person succeeds in integrating the physical, psychosocial and spiritual domain is the extent that humanity evolves to a higher level of consciousness whereby the individual being at peace with oneself, reaches out creatively and assertively to neighbours, and to the larger world that encompasses humans and the natural order in harmony.

The Couple Next Door

Author: Shari Lapena
Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE
ISBN: 9783732540297
Release Date: 2017-02-01
Genre: Fiction

Jedes Paar hat seine Geheimnisse. Manche sind tödlich ... Deine Nachbarin möchte nicht, dass du dein Baby zur Dinnerparty mitbringst. Dein Ehemann sagt, das sei schon in Ordnung. Ihr wohnt ja gleich nebenan. Außerdem habt ihr ein Babyfon und könnt abwechselnd nach der Kleinen sehen. Deine Tochter schläft, als du das letzte Mal nach ihr siehst. Doch jetzt herrscht Totenstille im Haus. Du rennst ins Kinderzimmer - und dein schlimmster Alptraum wird wahr: Die Wiege ist leer. Es bleibt nur eins: die Polizei zu rufen - doch wer weiß, was sie finden wird ... Shari Lapena hat mit ihrem Debüt "The Couple Next Door" einen hochspannenden Thriller geschrieben, der in den USA und England innerhalb kürzester Zeit zum Mega-Bestseller avancierte. "THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR ist 2016 der Thriller, über den am meisten gesprochen werden wird" Stylist

Our Frail Blood

Author: Peter Nathaniel Malae
Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
ISBN: 9780802193711
Release Date: 2013-03-05
Genre: Fiction

"Malae is like a young Nelson Algren or Richard Wright, one of those writers who can hit with both hands." —Russell Banks By way of Italy, the Felice family puts down new roots in Southern California, settling into a grand Victorian home and buying a share of the great American Dream. But for their five, first-generation children, an idyllic childhood didn’t quite translate into success and happiness. Rather, the pressures of living up to expectations drove a wide rift through the family. After decades apart, the five siblings find themselves together again at their ailing mother’s bedside, caught in a deadlocked feud over her hospice care. Into the morass steps Murron Teinetoa, one of their bastard children, who carries an idealistic hope of finally fitting in among her estranged relatives. In an interweaving narrative, Malae portrays the Felices in their formative years of the fifties; he excavates the personal lives of the siblings in the eighties and nineties; and he follows Murron in the present as she raises her son as a single mother. A powerful and fiery multi-generational story, Our Frail Blood captures the beauty and horror, the strength and fragility, the selfishness and love comprising the threads of familial bonds.

Der Schattenkrieg

Author: Ronen Bergman
Publisher: DVA
ISBN: 9783641095154
Release Date: 2018-01-22
Genre: History

Von der Staatsgründung Israels bis heute - die erste umfassende Geschichte der geheimen Tötungskommandos des Mossad Mordanschläge, die dem israelischen Geheimdienst Mossad zugeschrieben werden, sorgen immer wieder für Aufsehen. Doch über die Hintergründe dieser Aktionen war bislang kaum etwas bekannt. In seinem packend geschriebenen Enthüllungsbuch deckt der israelische Geheimdienstexperte Ronen Bergman nun erstmals die ganze Dimension eines Schattenkriegs auf, der seit Jahrzehnten im Geheimen ausgetragen wird. Er beschreibt die Erfolge und Misserfolge der zum Teil unbekannten Attentate, benennt Opfer, Täter und Verantwortliche und fragt, welchen Preis Staat und Gesellschaft in Israel für ihre Sicherheit bezahlen.

The Enemy of My Enemy

Author: Richard Bard
Publisher: Richard Bard
ISBN: 9781452430379
Release Date: 2011-12-13
Genre: Fiction

The Enemy of My Enemy (Brainrush 2) became the Amazon #1 Top Rated (best reviewed) Mystery/Thriller, AND the #1 Top Rated Action/Adventure within one month of its release. It maintained the #1 or #2 slots for 10 straight months. Bestselling author Richard Bard returns with his highly-rated Brainrush thriller series, pitting hero Jake Bronson against his jihadist nemesis--and a new bioweapon that threatens the soul of every mother in America. When a freak accident gave Jake Bronson near-superhuman mental powers and landed his loved ones in the crosshairs of an Islamic terrorist, the only way out was with guns blazing. But Jake was unable to put a stop to his nightmares or his murderous nemesis, Luciano Battista, in that ferocious Afghan mountains showdown. Now the terror czar and his minions have brought the fight to American soil--along with the most terrifying bioweapon that has ever threatened the free world. They demand vengeance, and Jake's family and friends are caught in the crossfire. From California's beaches and Mexico's deserts to the depths of a raging underground river and the treacherous Venezuelan jungle, Jake and his unlikely alliance of combat veterans and gangsters wage a rolling war of wits, weapons, and indomitable will--to rescue those they love, to save America from extinction, and to stop a madman's bid for global conquest dead in its tracks. An “international thriller with soul.” Ideal reading for fans of Michael Crichton, Clive Cussler, James Rollins, Marcus Sakey, Michael Grumley, Brad Thor, Dan Brown, Matthew Reilly, Tom Clancy, Robert Ludlum, and Vince Flynn.

A Real Engagement

Author: Marjorie Lewty
Publisher: Harlequin
ISBN: 9781459253254
Release Date: 2011-07-15
Genre: Fiction

Two halves of a whole… Inheriting a house in the south of France was a wonderful surprise for Josie. After the loss of her mother, some time in the sun was just what she needed. But the other half of the villa belonged to architect Leon Kent—who firmly believed he had bought both halves! It seemed he had a temporary solution and, before Josie knew it, she was playing the part of his fiancée. The trouble was, the more she got to know Leon, the longer she wore his ring, the more she wished the engagement was for real….

Red Notice

Author: Bill Browder
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446443198
Release Date: 2015-02-23
Genre: Political Science

Moskau nach dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion: Die Oligarchen sichern sich die Pfründe und machen ein Vermögen. Der Amerikaner Bill Browder nutzt die Gunst der Stunde und investiert in aufstrebende Unternehmen. Doch dann kommt er Putin und seiner Politik in die Quere: Er wird erpresst, verfolgt und bedroht. In einem Rechtsstaat kann man sich dagegen wehren. Aber nicht in einem Russland, wo Willkür und Tyrannei herrschen. Browders Anwalt Sergej Magnitski wird unter fadenscheinigen Vorwänden inhaftiert, gefoltert und schließlich im Gefängnis erschlagen. Aber Bill Browder gibt nicht auf. Als Menschenrechtsaktivist macht er international Druck auf Putin. Eine wahre Geschichte – packend geschrieben wie ein Thriller.