In the Nest

Author: Anna Milbourne
Publisher: Usborne Books
ISBN: 0746052103
Release Date: 2004-10-01
Genre: Birds

Describes a mother bird's nesting season from the building of the nest to the time when the baby birds fly away for good.

Fads and Fallacies in the Name of Science

Author: Martin Gardner
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486131627
Release Date: 2012-05-04
Genre: Science

Fair, witty appraisal of cranks, quacks, and quackeries of science and pseudoscience: hollow earth, Velikovsky, orgone energy, Dianetics, flying saucers, Bridey Murphy, food and medical fads, and much more.

Computer Spacegames

Author: Daniel Isaaman
Publisher: Edc Pub
ISBN: 0860206831
Release Date: 1982
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Offers computer programs for a dozen games, explains how each program works, and suggests ways to modify the games.

Reproductive Biology of Plants

Author: Kishan Gopal Ramawat
Publisher: CRC Press
ISBN: 9781482201338
Release Date: 2016-04-19
Genre: Science

Reproductive biology is the basis of species improvement and a thorough understanding of this is needed for plant improvement, whether by conventional or biotechnological methods. This book presents an up to date and comprehensive description of reproduction in lower plants, gymnosperms and higher plants. It covers general plant biology, pollination, pollen-pistil interaction, post-fertilization changes, and seed dormancy.

New Perspectives on People and Forests

Author: Eva Ritter
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9400711506
Release Date: 2011-04-29
Genre: Science

The aim of this book is to elucidate the role of forests as part of a landscape in the life of people. Most landscapes today are cultural landscapes that are influenced by human activity and that in turn have a profound effect on our understanding of and identification with a place. The book proposes that a better understanding of the bond between people and forests as integrated part of a landscape may be helpful in landscape planning, and may contribute to the discussion of changes in forest cover which has been motivated by land use changes, rural development and the global climate debate. To this end, people’s perception of forest landscapes, the reasons for different perceptions, and future perspectives are discussed. Given the wide range of forest landscapes, and cultural perspectives which exist across the world, the book focuses on Europe as a test case to explore the various relationships between society, culture, forests and landscapes. It looks at historical evidence of the impacts of people on forests and vice versa, explores the current factors affecting people’s physical and emotional comfort in forest landscapes, and looks ahead to how changes in forest cover may alter the present relationships of people to forests. Drawing together a diverse literature and combining the expertise of natural and social scientists, this book will form a valuable reference for students and researchers working in the fields of landscape ecology and landscape architecture, geography, social science, environmental psychology or environmental history. It will also be of interest to researchers, government agencies and practitioners with an interest in issues such as sustainable forest management, sustainable tourism, reserve management, urban planning and environmental interpretation.

Over in the Meadow

Author: Olive A. Wadsworth
Publisher: Paw Prints
ISBN: 144201735X
Release Date: 2009-07-10
Genre:

In the sweet illustrations that depict a sun-drenched meadow filled with loving animal families children can find and count not only the animal babies, but background details that also correspond to the numbers in the classic song. Reprint.

The Jewelled Moth

Author: Katherine Woodfine
Publisher: Egmont UK
ISBN: 9781780316840
Release Date: 2016-02-25
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A fast-paced historical mystery adventure for readers aged 9+, with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell, Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens. The follow up to Katherine Woodfine's bestselling debut novel, The Clockwork Sparrow. THE HONOUR OF YOUR COMPANY IS REQUESTED AT LORD BEAUCASTLE’S FANCY DRESS BALL. Wonder at the puzzling disappearance of the Jewelled Moth! Marvel as our heroines, Sophie and Lil, don cunning disguises, mingle in high society and munch many cucumber sandwiches to solve this curious case! Applaud their bravery as they follow a trail of terrible secrets that leads straight to London’s most dangerous criminal mastermind, and could put their own lives at risk . . . It will be the most thrilling event of the season! *** Cover and interior illustrations by Júlia Sardà. Praise for The Clockwork Sparrow: 'A wonderful book, with a glorious heroine and a true sprit of adventure’ – Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers ‘A real page-turner, it has murders, spies and gangs of thieves. Thrilling!’ – Indiana, aged 10, LoveReadingforKids reviewer 'Dastardliness on a big scale is uncovered in this well-plotted, evocative novel' - Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times 'It's a dashing plot, an atmospheric setting and an extensive and imaginative cast. Katherine Woodfine handles it all with aplomb' - Julia Eccleshare, Guardian 'An incredible read full of mystery, wonder and adventure...This is now one of my top ten.' - Celeste, age 13, LoveReading4Kids reviewer The first book in the Sinclair's Mystery series, The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize in 2016. Katherine Woodfine is a true champion of children’s literature. Until 2015 she was Arts Project Manager for Booktrust, where she project-managed the Children's Laureateship and YALC, the UK’s first Young Adult Literature Convention, curated by Malorie Blackman. She is part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole, a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children’s literature. Katherine blogs at followtheyellow.co.uk. She lives in London.

The Complete Idiot s Guide to Ghosts Hauntings 2nd Edition

Author: Tom Ogden
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101126707
Release Date: 2004-09-07
Genre: Body, Mind & Spirit

A unique guide to the world of the paranormal, The Complete Idiot's Guide® to Ghosts and Hauntings is a perennial favorite. Now updated, revised, and expanded with new information on ghost hunting and observing, this new edition includes new tips on gathering and recording paranormal data, and a new section devoted to "faking it" - showing readers how to haunt their own houses to amuse and bewilder friends. - Expanded appendixes featuring new Internet sites devoted to the paranormal, as well as modern-day "haunted houses" open to the public - Additional information on the origin of spiritualism and its followers - Strong seller for Halloween season - Completely reorganized for easier reading and referencing

Gale encyclopedia of the unusual and the unexplained 2

Author: Brad Steiger
Publisher:
ISBN: 0787653845
Release Date: 2003-01-01
Genre: Curiosities and wonders

Responding to the surging interest among students for information on topics relating to magic, witchcraft, the supernatural and other mysterious phenomena, Gale presents this in-depth, comprehensive 3-vol. set. Information is arranged in an objective manner, presenting varying viewpoints when appropriate, and is written at a level that younger students and researchers can understand. Chapters offer a thorough look at the history of each topic and cover the people and practices, as well as popular literature, television programs and movies, related to the subject. Other features include: Approximately 300 photos and illustrations "Making the Connection," a detailed glossary "Delving Deeper," a helpful further readings section Cumulative index Sidebars highlighting unusual facts, features, and people, as well as related books, films, Web sites, and other sources of relevant information

Arnhem 1944

Author: Martin Middlebrook
Publisher: Stackpole Books
ISBN: 9780811708265
Release Date: 2011-01
Genre: History

* Exciting overview of the World War II battle made famous by the classic movie and book A Bridge Too Far * Boots-on-the-ground story of British paratroopers fighting off Germans in Holland during Operation Market Garden * Masterly analysis of why the operation failed * Draws from the personal experiences of more than 500 participants * Written by an accomplished military historianMartin Middlebrook has written numerous works of military history, including the classic The First Day on the Somme (978-1-84415-465-4). He lives in England

Illustrated Dictionary of Science

Author: Corinne Stockley
Publisher: Usborne Books
ISBN: 0746087144
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Biology

This great study aid has topics arranged thematically so that words are explained in context, with a fully integrated system of cross-referencing plus a comprehensive index.

King Jack and the Dragon

Author: Peter Bently
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780723270928
Release Date: 2012-07-26
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Night is falling, bedtime is looming and playtime is nearly over . . . but brave King Jack is more than a match for dragons and terrible beasties. This magical make-believe adventure, illustrated by picture book star Helen Oxenbury, is the perfect bedtime tale for little boys and brave children everywhere.

Go Away Big Green Monster

Author: Ed Emberley
Publisher:
ISBN: 074458132X
Release Date: 1992
Genre: Children's stories

What has a bluish-greenish nose, sharp white teeth and big yellow eyes? It is the Big Green Monster, in this book children can change the features of the monster, it is designed to help dispel their fears of night-time monsters.

A Guide to the Birds of East Africa

Author: Nicholas Drayson
Publisher: HMH
ISBN: 9780547391588
Release Date: 2009-09-10
Genre: Fiction

“A charming love triangle in Nairobi, Kenya, forms the center of a novel that manages to be both sweet and gripping.” —Publishers Weekly For the past three years, Mr. Malik, a widower and avid birdwatcher, has been secretly in love with Rose Mbikwa, the lovely woman who leads the Tuesday morning bird walk sponsored by the East African Ornithological Society. Beneath his unassuming exterior and carefully sculpted comb-over lies a warm and passionate heart. But just as he gets up the nerve to ask Rose to the annual Nairobi Hunt Club Ball—Nairobi’s social event of the season—a boyhood nemesis arrives and becomes equally enraptured with Rose. Rather than force her to choose between them, the two men agree to a clever solution: whoever can identify the most species of birds in one week’s time will win the privilege of asking Ms. Mbikwa to the ball. Set against a lush Kenyan landscape rich with wildlife and political intrigue, this humorous novel is a “welcome respite from our crazy world” (USA Today). “This charming novel . . . If you are a fan of Alexander McCall Smith’s, you’ll find Drayson’s knowing, sprightly writing just as entertaining.” —People “[This book is] a sheer delight for birders and nonbirders alike.” —Minneapolis Star-Tribune “As bright and perky as a purple-backed sunbird.” —TheNew York Times Book Review