From Seed to Plant

Author: Allan Fowler
Publisher: Turtleback
ISBN: 061354501X
Release Date: 2001-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes the development of a seed into a plant by means of pollination, fertilization, and seed dispersal.

From Seeds to Leaves

Author: Doug Stewart
Publisher: Black Inc.
ISBN: 9781863952255
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Gardening

If you have an interest in the power of seeds to transform the earth, or in planting Australian native trees and shrubs on a small scale or large, From Seeds to Leaves is the book for you. It describes how to collect your own fruit and nuts, extract, store and germinate seed normally difficult to grow, and lots more.

From Seed to Bloom

Author: Eileen Powell
Publisher: Garden Way Publishing Company
ISBN: UOM:49015003040186
Release Date: 1995-01
Genre: Gardening

A Gardener's Easy Reference Guide to Growing more than 500 Flowers and Herbs from Seed -- It's Simple and Fun When You Know How! Plant by plant, From Seed to Bloom is a one-stop reference -- containing everything you need to know in order to germinate and grow more than 500 genera of flowering plants. Each plant entry includes such essential information as hardiness zones, directions for sowing seeds indoors and out, spacing, and germination time and requirements. From Seed to Bloom also covers: -- When to transplant seedlings outdoors -- Light and soil requirements -- Propagation techniques -- General plant care -- Flowering season -- How to encourage blooms From Seed to Bloom puts all the information gardeners need most into one handbook -- no more searching a variety of books, seed catalogs, and old seed packets for essential instructions. The advantages of germinating seeds yourself are many: Growing from seed is usually less expensive than buying mature plants, especially for mass plantings. Germinating and growing the plants yourself ensures that your plants are as healthy as possible. Also, unusual, exotic, or marginally hardy plants that are often unavailable at nurseries may be obtainable in the form of seed. From Seed to Bloom helps you grow the flowering plants that you see in magazines but can never find.

Seed to Plant

Author: Kristin Baird Rattini
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266603
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre:

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 2: Becoming fluentThese books are a good match for kids who are developing reading stamina and enjoy a longer book. They are ideal for readers of Green, Orange and Turquoise books. Kids see plants, flowers, and trees around them every day. In this lively and educational reader, they'll learn how those plants grow. Kids will take this magical journey from seed pollination to plant growth, learning about what plants need to thrive and grow with the same careful text, brilliant photographs, and the fun approach that National Geographic Readers are known for.

Planting Seeds

Author: Kathryn Clay
Publisher: Capstone Classroom
ISBN: 9781491483091
Release Date: 2016-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

"Simple nonfiction text and full-color photographs present planting seeds in spring"--

Starting Seeds

Author: Barbara W. Ellis
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781603428507
Release Date: 2013-01-16
Genre: Gardening

Get a jump on the gardening season! In this Storey BASICS® guide, Barbara Ellis provides the basic information that you need to start a variety of vegetables, herbs, and flowers from seed. Ellis shares simple, proven techniques for sowing seeds, managing indoor plants, and creating proper growing conditions so your seedlings can thrive. Packed with expert advice suitable for both beginners and experienced gardeners, Starting Seeds will inspire you to plant a seed and watch it grow.

Bodge Plants a Seed

Author: Simon Smith
Publisher:
ISBN: 055103209X
Release Date: 2000-07-25
Genre: Children's stories

Meet Bodge, Big Al, Fat Jim, Stumpy and all their friends. They are here to teach children the parables in a way that is delightful and unforgettable. Bodge Plants a Seed is the retelling of the Parable of the Sower that Jesus told. Book includes text of parable from the NIrV Bible.

Terrestrial Orchids

Author: Hanne N. Rasmussen
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 0521451655
Release Date: 1995-08-24
Genre: Nature

This book contains a detailed survey of the biology of terrestrial orchids, from seed dispersal to establishment and life of the adult plant.

Growing from Seed

Author: Alan R. Toogood
Publisher: Dk Pub
ISBN: 0789483785
Release Date: 2002-01-01
Genre: Gardening

Here are two new competitively priced, compact, full-color guides that focus on a specific gardening topic, solve an array of gardening problems, and present every important plant group. Find the solutions to your gardening problems from the American Horticultural Society's Practical Guides! Select from this ever-growing library of titles for the best gardening advice on plants and plant care, garden design, and garden construction. Growing From Seed includes: How to propagate from seed -- flowering plants, vegetables, fruit, herbs, and tree. Essential know-how -- illustrated guide to propagation materials, tools and equipment; soils and growing media; preparing and germinating seedlings; the importance of garden hygiene. Techniques -- collecting and sowing seeds; propagation techniques; growing on and pricking out; common problems affecting seeds. Plant gallery -- photographic catalog of plants including annuals, biennials, perennials, bulbous plants, fruit, vegetables, herbs, and trees.

RHS I Can Grow A Sunflower

Author: DK
Publisher: Dorling Kindersley Ltd
ISBN: 9780241349236
Release Date: 2018-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

A delightful introduction to plant life and nature, as little ones get hands-on to grow their own sunflowers. Includes sunflower seeds, a sunflower height chart, and exciting flaps. RHS I Can Grow a Sunflower is a friendly approach to plant science and a great gift for little gardeners. Sixteen bright board ebook pages reveal the life cycle of a sunflower, and the excitement of growing a plant from seed. Little children follow the journey of a mystery seed, learning how to plant it, and what it needs to grow. Could it magically become the tallest of all the garden flowers? RHS I Can Grow a Sunflower includes facts about garden creatures, from the helpful ladybird to busy worms, and the visiting bees and butterflies who spread pollen. Children will enjoy read-aloud text, easy-to-follow pictures that show the life cycle of a sunflower - underground, above ground, and through the year - and flaps that show plants growing and creatures hiding. RHS I Can Grow a Sunflower includes a packet of sunflower seeds and a height chart that reinforces how tall a sunflower grows, making this the perfect book for getting young gardeners hands-on for the very first time. "This is a wonderful first gardening book for young children that perfectly captures the magic of growing a beautiful plant from a tiny seed." - Jamie Butterworth, RHS Ambassador