From Seed to Plant

Author: Gail Gibbons
Publisher:
ISBN: 1430110791
Release Date: 2012-02-29
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Reveals the mystery of how seeds are formed and grow into plants, detailing the life cycles of flowers, trees, fruits, and vegetables.

Seed to Plant

Author: Kristin Baird Rattini
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266603
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre:

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 2: Becoming fluentThese books are a good match for kids who are developing reading stamina and enjoy a longer book. They are ideal for readers of Green, Orange and Turquoise books. Kids see plants, flowers, and trees around them every day. In this lively and educational reader, they'll learn how those plants grow. Kids will take this magical journey from seed pollination to plant growth, learning about what plants need to thrive and grow with the same careful text, brilliant photographs, and the fun approach that National Geographic Readers are known for.

National Geographic Readers Seed to Plant

Author: Kristin Baird Rattini
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426315916
Release Date: 2014-01-07
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Kids see plants, flowers, and trees around them every day. In this lively and educational reader, they'll learn how those plants grow. Kids will take this magical journey from seed pollination to plant growth, learning about what plants need to thrive and grow with the same careful text, brilliant photographs, and the fun approach National Geographic Readers are known for.

Terrestrial Orchids

Author: Hanne N. Rasmussen
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 0521451655
Release Date: 1995-08-24
Genre: Nature

This book contains a detailed survey of the biology of terrestrial orchids, from seed dispersal to establishment and life of the adult plant.

From Seed to Plant

Author: Allan Fowler
Publisher: Childrens Press
ISBN: 0516273078
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes the development of a seed into a plant by means of pollination, fertilization, and seed dispersal.

From Seed to Bloom

Author: Eileen Powell
Publisher: Garden Way Publishing Company
ISBN: UOM:49015003040186
Release Date: 1995-01
Genre: Gardening

A Gardener's Easy Reference Guide to Growing more than 500 Flowers and Herbs from Seed -- It's Simple and Fun When You Know How! Plant by plant, From Seed to Bloom is a one-stop reference -- containing everything you need to know in order to germinate and grow more than 500 genera of flowering plants. Each plant entry includes such essential information as hardiness zones, directions for sowing seeds indoors and out, spacing, and germination time and requirements. From Seed to Bloom also covers: -- When to transplant seedlings outdoors -- Light and soil requirements -- Propagation techniques -- General plant care -- Flowering season -- How to encourage blooms From Seed to Bloom puts all the information gardeners need most into one handbook -- no more searching a variety of books, seed catalogs, and old seed packets for essential instructions. The advantages of germinating seeds yourself are many: Growing from seed is usually less expensive than buying mature plants, especially for mass plantings. Germinating and growing the plants yourself ensures that your plants are as healthy as possible. Also, unusual, exotic, or marginally hardy plants that are often unavailable at nurseries may be obtainable in the form of seed. From Seed to Bloom helps you grow the flowering plants that you see in magazines but can never find.

From Seed to Plant

Author: Amy Tao
Publisher: Cricket Media
ISBN: 9781642622294
Release Date: 2018-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Inside every seed waits a tiny plant, ready to grow. Watch the process of a pumpkin plant from tiny seed to full-size fruit! You'll also see other plant seeds, which come in many different sizes, shapes, and colors. Some can be as big as your head, but poppy seeds are so little you can hold hundreds in one hand!

Growing Plants from Seed

Author: George Abraham
Publisher: Lyons Press
ISBN: CORNELL:31924097724334
Release Date: 1991-01-01
Genre: Gardening

A guide for first-time seed growers addresses soil mixtures, lighting, types of seed, seed-starting kits, and more to help any gardener experience the rewarding feeling of growing flowers and vegetables from seed. Original.

Plant a Little Seed

Author: Bonnie Christensen
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
ISBN: 9781466816688
Release Date: 2012-05-08
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

With a little help from a watering can, bright sunlight, and a lot of patience, two friends plant seeds in their community garden and watch how they grow. Slowly, the seeds turn into sprouts, which grow into stems, followed by leaves and buds! The garden will soon be teeming with life and ready for a harvest season celebration. But until then, the children water and wait and dream . . .

Bodge Plants a Seed

Author: Simon Smith
Publisher:
ISBN: 055103209X
Release Date: 2000-07-25
Genre: Children's stories

Meet Bodge, Big Al, Fat Jim, Stumpy and all their friends. They are here to teach children the parables in a way that is delightful and unforgettable. Bodge Plants a Seed is the retelling of the Parable of the Sower that Jesus told. Book includes text of parable from the NIrV Bible.

Growing from Seed

Author: Alan R. Toogood
Publisher: Dk Pub
ISBN: 0789483785
Release Date: 2002-01-01
Genre: Gardening

Here are two new competitively priced, compact, full-color guides that focus on a specific gardening topic, solve an array of gardening problems, and present every important plant group. Find the solutions to your gardening problems from the American Horticultural Society's Practical Guides! Select from this ever-growing library of titles for the best gardening advice on plants and plant care, garden design, and garden construction. Growing From Seed includes: How to propagate from seed -- flowering plants, vegetables, fruit, herbs, and tree. Essential know-how -- illustrated guide to propagation materials, tools and equipment; soils and growing media; preparing and germinating seedlings; the importance of garden hygiene. Techniques -- collecting and sowing seeds; propagation techniques; growing on and pricking out; common problems affecting seeds. Plant gallery -- photographic catalog of plants including annuals, biennials, perennials, bulbous plants, fruit, vegetables, herbs, and trees.

Seeds 3rd Edition

Author: Robert S Gallagher
Publisher: CABI
ISBN: 9781780641836
Release Date: 2013-12-06
Genre: Technology & Engineering

The 3rd edition of Seeds: The Ecology of Regeneration in Plant Communities highlights the many advances in the field of seed ecology and its relationship to plant community dynamics that have taken place in recent years. The new edition also features chapters on seed development and morphology, seed chemical ecology, implications of climate change on regeneration by seed, and the functional role of seed banks in agricultural and natural ecosystems. The book is aimed at advanced level students and researchers in the fields of seed science, seed ecology and plant ecology.

Starting Seeds

Author: Barbara W. Ellis
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781603428507
Release Date: 2013-01-16
Genre: Gardening

Get a jump on the gardening season! In this Storey BASICS® guide, Barbara Ellis provides the basic information that you need to start a variety of vegetables, herbs, and flowers from seed. Ellis shares simple, proven techniques for sowing seeds, managing indoor plants, and creating proper growing conditions so your seedlings can thrive. Packed with expert advice suitable for both beginners and experienced gardeners, Starting Seeds will inspire you to plant a seed and watch it grow.