National Geographic Readers Seed to Plant

Author: Kristin Baird Rattini
Publisher: National Geographic Society
ISBN: 9781426315909
Release Date: 2014-01-07
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Kids see plants, flowers, and trees around them every day. In this lively and educational reader, they'll learn how those plants grow. Kids will take this magical journey from seed pollination to plant growth, learning about what plants need to thrive and grow with the same careful text, brilliant photographs, and the fun approach National Geographic Readers are known for.

From Seeds to Leaves

Author: Doug Stewart
Publisher: Black Inc.
ISBN: 9781863952255
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Gardening

If you have an interest in the power of seeds to transform the earth, or in planting Australian native trees and shrubs on a small scale or large, From Seeds to Leaves is the book for you. It describes how to collect your own fruit and nuts, extract, store and germinate seed normally difficult to grow, and lots more.

From Seed to Bloom

Author: Eileen Powell
Publisher: Garden Way Publishing Company
ISBN: UOM:49015003040186
Release Date: 1995-01
Genre: Gardening

A Gardener's Easy Reference Guide to Growing more than 500 Flowers and Herbs from Seed -- It's Simple and Fun When You Know How! Plant by plant, From Seed to Bloom is a one-stop reference -- containing everything you need to know in order to germinate and grow more than 500 genera of flowering plants. Each plant entry includes such essential information as hardiness zones, directions for sowing seeds indoors and out, spacing, and germination time and requirements. From Seed to Bloom also covers: -- When to transplant seedlings outdoors -- Light and soil requirements -- Propagation techniques -- General plant care -- Flowering season -- How to encourage blooms From Seed to Bloom puts all the information gardeners need most into one handbook -- no more searching a variety of books, seed catalogs, and old seed packets for essential instructions. The advantages of germinating seeds yourself are many: Growing from seed is usually less expensive than buying mature plants, especially for mass plantings. Germinating and growing the plants yourself ensures that your plants are as healthy as possible. Also, unusual, exotic, or marginally hardy plants that are often unavailable at nurseries may be obtainable in the form of seed. From Seed to Bloom helps you grow the flowering plants that you see in magazines but can never find.

From Seed to Plant

Author: Amy Tao
Publisher: Cricket Media
ISBN: 9781642622294
Release Date: 2018-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Inside every seed waits a tiny plant, ready to grow. Watch the process of a pumpkin plant from tiny seed to full-size fruit! You'll also see other plant seeds, which come in many different sizes, shapes, and colors. Some can be as big as your head, but poppy seeds are so little you can hold hundreds in one hand!

Seed to Plant

Author: Kristin Baird Rattini
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266603
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre:

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 2: Becoming fluentThese books are a good match for kids who are developing reading stamina and enjoy a longer book. They are ideal for readers of Green, Orange and Turquoise books. Kids see plants, flowers, and trees around them every day. In this lively and educational reader, they'll learn how those plants grow. Kids will take this magical journey from seed pollination to plant growth, learning about what plants need to thrive and grow with the same careful text, brilliant photographs, and the fun approach that National Geographic Readers are known for.

From Seed to Plant

Author: Allan Fowler
Publisher: Turtleback
ISBN: 061354501X
Release Date: 2001-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes the development of a seed into a plant by means of pollination, fertilization, and seed dispersal.

Terrestrial Orchids

Author: Hanne N. Rasmussen
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 0521451655
Release Date: 1995-08-24
Genre: Nature

This book contains a detailed survey of the biology of terrestrial orchids, from seed dispersal to establishment and life of the adult plant.

Seeds

Author: Michael Fenner
Publisher: CABI
ISBN: 0851999476
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Science

This new edition of a successful text, originally published in 1992, has been thoroughly revised and updated to include recent advances. In addition, new chapters have been introduced to ensure comprehensive coverage of all aspects of seed ecology. These include evolutionary ecology of seedsize, the roles of fire and of gaps in regeneration and seedling colonization. Chapters are written by internationally acknowledged experts to give a comprehensive overview of all aspects of seed ecology which will be invaluable to advanced students and researchers in seed science and plantecology.

Starting Seeds

Author: Barbara W. Ellis
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781603428507
Release Date: 2013-01-16
Genre: Gardening

Get a jump on the gardening season! In this Storey BASICS® guide, Barbara Ellis provides the basic information that you need to start a variety of vegetables, herbs, and flowers from seed. Ellis shares simple, proven techniques for sowing seeds, managing indoor plants, and creating proper growing conditions so your seedlings can thrive. Packed with expert advice suitable for both beginners and experienced gardeners, Starting Seeds will inspire you to plant a seed and watch it grow.

Seeds 3rd Edition

Author: Robert S Gallagher
Publisher: CABI
ISBN: 9781780641836
Release Date: 2013-12-06
Genre: Technology & Engineering

The 3rd edition of Seeds: The Ecology of Regeneration in Plant Communities highlights the many advances in the field of seed ecology and its relationship to plant community dynamics that have taken place in recent years. The new edition also features chapters on seed development and morphology, seed chemical ecology, implications of climate change on regeneration by seed, and the functional role of seed banks in agricultural and natural ecosystems. The book is aimed at advanced level students and researchers in the fields of seed science, seed ecology and plant ecology.

Plant a Little Seed

Author: Bonnie Christensen
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
ISBN: 9781466816688
Release Date: 2012-05-08
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

With a little help from a watering can, bright sunlight, and a lot of patience, two friends plant seeds in their community garden and watch how they grow. Slowly, the seeds turn into sprouts, which grow into stems, followed by leaves and buds! The garden will soon be teeming with life and ready for a harvest season celebration. But until then, the children water and wait and dream . . .

How to Grow Your Own Tobacco from Seed to Smoke

Author: Ray French
Publisher: Crestline Books
ISBN: 0785832173
Release Date: 2014-08-15
Genre: Gardening

How to Grow Your Own Tobacco covers everything you need to know to plant, harvest, and cure your own tobacco including troubleshooting for pests and diseases. Author and horticulturist Ray French summarizes the history of growing tobacco and then explains how age-old growing practices have now become a part of the easy, sustainable, organic methods for the home gardener. Ray also includes information on varieties and grades of tobacco, seed starting techniques, and suggestions for growing in the ground or in containers, all in this handy guide.