Fannie Flagg s Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook

Author: Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345533821
Release Date: 2011-11-02
Genre: Cooking

After the tremendous success of her novel, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, and the beloved movie that followed, author Fannie Flagg received thousands of requests from all over the world asking for recipes from the little cafe of her Alabama childhood that was the model for the cafe in her novel. Now, she joyfully shares those recipes, in what may well be the first cookbook ever written by a satisfied customer rather than a cook! Inside you'll find wonderful recipes for: * Skinless Fried Chicken * Pork Chops with Apples and Sweet Potatoes * Baked Ham and Pineapple Rings * Baked Turkey with Traditional Cornbread Dressing * Black-eyed Peas * Fried Okra * Creamed Onions * Broccoli Casserole * Southern Cream Gravy * Fried Catfish * Scalloped Oysters * Down Home Crab Cakes * Beaten Biscuits * Corn Pones * Lemon Ice Box Pie * Kentucky Bourbon Chocolate Pecan Pie * And much more! The recipes in Fannie Flagg's Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook are all for delicious hearty happy food that comes with all sorts of things, from gravies to hot sauces (very often the secret's in the sauce). But most of all this food, and this book, comes with love. "If you liked her novel, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, and if you liked the movie they made from that novel, you'll like this cookbook....It's funny, just like Flagg." --Richmond Times-Dispatch "Recommended...All the traditional dishes are here, along with the author's irreverent, irresistible commentary on Southern cooking and culture." --Library Journal Note: This edition does not include photos.

Fannie Flagg s Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook

Author: Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Fawcett
ISBN: 0449910288
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Cooking

A cookbook of hearty Southern food encompasses more than 150 recipes for such classic dishes as Fried Okra, Candied Yams, Lemon Ice Box Pie, Beaten Biscuits, Skinless Fried Chicken, Black-eyed Peas, Fried Catfish, and, of course, Fried Green Tomatoes. Reprint.

Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe

Author: Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781446442036
Release Date: 2012-02-29
Genre: Fiction

The day Idgie Threadgoode and Ruth Jamison opened the Whistle Stop Cafe, the town took a turn for the better. It was the Depression and that cafe was a home from home for many of us. You could get eggs, grits, bacon, ham, coffee and a smile for 25 cents. Ruth was just the sweetest girl you ever met. And Idgie? She was a character, all right. You never saw anyone so headstrong. But how anybody could have thought she murdered that man is beyond me. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is a mouth-watering tale of love, laughter and mystery. It will lift your spirits and above all it'll remind you of the secret to life: friends.

Aunt Bee s Mayberry Cookbook

Author: Ken Beck
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: 9781418567675
Release Date: 1991-03-13
Genre: Cooking

Aunt Bee and her friends have stirred up a cookbook that brings home all the flavor of "The Andy Griffith Show's" Mayberry. You'll enjoy most of the 300 mouth-watering recipes (but not all?included is the recipe for Kerosene Cucumbers) for the foods served by Aunt Bee and others in Mayberry. From good old-fashioned, down-home cooking to some of Mayberry's more unusual meals, you'll discover favorite Mayberry-style dishes for all occasions?inspired by Aunt Bee's unsurpassed talents in the kitchen and her special love for her family and friends. Aunt Bee's Mayberry Cookbook is also chock-full of wonderful, rare photographs from "The Andy Griffith Show" and offers entertaining glimpses into "the friendly town." Many of the recipes are favorites from members of the show's cast and crew.

Cooking in the Lowcountry from The Old Post Office Restaurant

Author: Jane Stern
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: 9781418557881
Release Date: 2004-06-14
Genre: Cooking

The exquisite menu at The Old Post Office Restaurant on Edisto Island, SC, has garnered this one-of-a-kind establishment legions of fans from around the country. It has been written up in the New York Times, Travel and Leisure, USA Today, Wine Spectator and Gourmet. This exciting new cookbook is part of the Roadfood Cookbook Series by Jane and Michael Stern, two of the most popular and successful food writers in America. Like a visit to this historic Southern island (less than an hour from Charleston), Lowcountry Cooking from The Old Post Office Restaurant contains more than 150 favorite recipes for Southern dishes with a classical twist, such as Fussed-Over Pork Chop, P.B.'s Ultimate Filet Mignon, Coca Cola Cake, and Key Lime Mousse. It includes an 8-page color insert. Chef Philip Bardin says, "Breads and desserts are prepared daily and all of the produce and seafood are local and the freshest available in the area. Our stone-ground grits - milled to our specifications - have been a specialty since 1988." Previous Roadfood cookbooks include: Blue Willow Inn Cookbook (1-55853-991-3), El Charo Cookbook (1-55853-992-1), Durgin-Park Cookbook (1-4016-0028-X), Harry Carey's Cookbook (1-4016-0095-6), Louie's Backyard Cookbook (1-4016-0038-7), Carbone's Cookbook (1-4016-0122-7), and The Famous Dutch Kitchen Restaurant Cookbook (1-4016-0138-3).

Brother Jimmy s BBQ

Author: Josh Lebowitz
Publisher: ABRAMS
ISBN: 9781613123416
Release Date: 2013-03-01
Genre: Cooking

“New York’s favorite go-to barbecue chain is revealing its best-kept secrets” (New York Daily News). According to owner Josh Lebowitz and executive chef Eva Pesantez, the foundation of Brother Jimmy’s success is the food. Incredible ribs. Country-fried steak. Pulled pork sandwiches. Blackened chicken. And of course, the delicious sides, from mac ‘n’ cheese to black-eyed peas. But beyond the food, there’s something more—Brother Jimmy’s is the place where people go to have a good time. Now, the restaurant’s recipes are presented for the first time, with more than one hundred recipes for Starters, Sides, Beef, Pork, Chicken, Seafood, Rubs & Sauces, and Drinks & Cocktails. From Hush Puppies with Maple Butter to Shrimp and Corn Fritters to Classic Pulled Pork with Slaw, these are the only recipes you’ll need to re-create your favorite restaurant recipes in your own kitchen.

Aunt Bee s Mealtime in Mayberry

Author: Ken Beck
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: 1558537376
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Cooking

Shares Aunt Bee's recipes for dinners with the Darlings, lunches at the courthouse, picnics at Myers Lake, and ice cream on the porch, as well as Goober's, Barney's, Opie's, and Andy's favorite dishes

From Betty Crocker to Feminist Food Studies

Author: Arlene Voski Avakian
Publisher: Liverpool University Press
ISBN: 1558495118
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Cooking

Sheds light on the history of food, cooking, and eating. This collection of essays investigates the connections between food studies and women's studies. From women in colonial India to Armenian American feminists, these essays show how food has served as a means to assert independence and personal identity.

Daisy Fay And The Miracle Man

Author: Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781409027478
Release Date: 2012-01-31
Genre: Fiction

Fannie Flagg takes us on a journey to a South that only Southerners know, to a time when 'Blue Velvet' was played at the Senior Prom, and into the life of Daisy Fay Harper, a sassy, truth-telling heroine who just can't stay out of trouble. What's more she tells us everything - from what (or who) made her Daddy and Momma split up to what is really stashed in the freezer of the family's malt shop. Daisy Fay is coming of age in the Gulf Coast's Shell Beach, which is The End of the Road of the South, but a dandy place to meet the locals like hard-drinking Jimmy Snow, former debutante Mrs Dot and Daisy's own Daddy. They're all part of the fun that takes us down home, back to the '50s, and into the best story ever written east of Texas...

Cold Sassy Tree

Author: Olive Ann Burns
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0618919716
Release Date: 2007-09
Genre: Fiction

Young Will Tweedy becomes chaperon, conspirator, and confidant to his renegade grandpa, E. Rucker Blakeslee, and the old man's young new wife, Miss Love Simpson, in a new edition of the classic novel set against the backdrop of Cold Sassy, Georgia, at the beginning of the twentieth century. Reprint.

The Whole Town s Talking

Author: Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9780399588297
Release Date: 2016-11-29
Genre: Fiction

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive. New York Times Bestseller • Southern Book Prize Winner Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways. Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking. With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies. Praise for The Whole Town’s Talking “A witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg’s down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times.”—People “Fannie Flagg at her best.”—The Florida Times-Union “If there’s one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it’s tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town’s Talking. . . . Brilliant . . . equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.”—The Newport Plain Talk “Delightful.”—The Washington Post “A ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

Can t Wait to Get to Heaven

Author: Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781448112173
Release Date: 2017-05-25
Genre: Fiction

Life is the strangest thing. One minute, Mrs Elner Shimfissle is up a tree, picking figs to make jam, and the next thing she knows, she is off on a strange adventure, running into people she never expected to see again, in the unlikeliest of places. Meanwhile, Elner's highly strung niece Norma takes to her bed, before embarking on a brand new career; Elner's neighbour Verbena turns to the Bible; her truck-driver friend, Luther Griggs, runs his eighteen-wheeler into a ditch; a dark secret emerges from the past - and the entire town is left wondering, 'What's life all about anyway?' Except for Tot Whooten, whose main concern is that the end of the world might come before she can collect her social security. A plea for honest doubt and humanity in an over-certain world, Can't Wait to Get to Heaven is further proof that Fannie Flagg was put on this earth to write.