Blueberries for Sal

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101654811
Release Date: 1976-09-30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

What happens when Sal and her mother meet a mother bear and her cub? A Caldecott Honor Book! Kuplink, kuplank, kuplunk! Sal and her mother a picking blueberries to can for the winter. But when Sal wanders to the other side of Blueberry Hill, she discovers a mama bear preparing for her own long winter. Meanwhile Sal's mother is being followed by a small bear with a big appetite for berries! Will each mother go home with the right little one? With its expressive line drawings and charming story, Blueberries for Sal has won readers' hearts since its first publication in 1948. "The adventures of a little girl and a baby bear while hunting for blueberries with their mothers one bright summer day. All the color and flavor of the sea and pine-covered Maine countryside."—School Library Journal, starred review.

LIFE

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN:
Release Date: 1948-12-27
Genre:

LIFE Magazine is the treasured photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. It now lives on at LIFE.com, the largest, most amazing collection of professional photography on the internet. Users can browse, search and view photos of today’s people and events. They have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.

Involving Parents Through Children s Literature

Author: Anthony D. Fredericks
Publisher: Libraries Unlimited
ISBN: 1563080222
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Education

Contains activity sheets based upon popular children's books, designed in a convenient format so that they can be taken home by children. Each sheet includes a summary of the book, discussion questions and a list of learning activities for adults and children.

Time of Wonder

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780451481856
Release Date: 1989-06-15
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Winner of the Caldecott Medal! For fans of Blueberries for Sal, One Morning in Maine, and Make way for Ducklings. "Out on the islands that poke their rocky shores above the waters of Penobscot Bay, you can watch the time of the world go by, from minute to minute, hour to hour, from day to day . . ." So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal. The spell of rain, the gulls and a foggy morning, the excitement of sailing, the quiet of the night, the sudden terror of a hurricane, and, in the end, the peace of the island as the family packs up to leave are shown in poetic language and vibrant, evocative pictures.

Letters from the Trail

Author: Blueberry
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781479723874
Release Date: 2012-12-20
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Letters from the trail: Excerpts from a collection of letters written by a 50+ year old woman from Maine and Maryland as she pursued a life goal of hiking the entire 2,170+ miles on the Appalachian Trail. This book is filled with information people always ask about hiking the AT, including where she slept, what she ate, how she stayed safe, how she planned her hike, what she carried for equipment. This is an inspirational book for those who want to hike, an information book for the questions people ask, and a tribute to life in the outdoors- - -all rolled into one.

Very Blueberry

Author: Jennifer Trainer Thompson
Publisher: Celestial Arts
ISBN: 9780307788818
Release Date: 2011-03-23
Genre: Cooking

Groundbreaking studies show that blueberries contain disease-fighting compounds not found in any other food. The high amounts of antioxidants found in them are believed to have powerful anti-memory-loss and cancer-preventing properties. And, despite their natural sweetness, blueberries are remarkably low in the carbohydrates and sugar calories overabundant in other fruit. Very Blueberry goes beyond the blueberry muffin (though it does include a sub-lime recipe for it!) and features this essential fruit in innovative new recipes like Goat Cheese Tart with Caramelized Onions and Blueberries; Arugula, Prosciutto, and Blueberry Salad with Honey-Citrus Vinaigrette; Pork Tenderloin with Peach-Blueberry Chutney; and Blueberry Salsa. With this charming, little cookbook, incorporating the recommended half a cup of blueberries into your daily diet will always be a sweet delight. • Features more than 40 blueberry recipes for breakfasts, soups, salads, entrées, jams, and gifts. • The blueberry is number one in antioxidant activity of all fruits and vegetables. Antioxidants prevent health problems like Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, cancer, diabetes, circulation problems, and urinary tract infections. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Herr Tiger wird wild

Author: Peter Brown
Publisher: cbj Verlag
ISBN: 9783641142087
Release Date: 2014-07-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Warnung: Dieses Buch ist unerhört wild! Langweilt es dich, immer brav und anständig zu sein? Willst du frei sein und was erleben? Herr Tiger weiß genau, wie du dich fühlst! Er beschließt, wild zu werden und sein Glück zu suchen, gegen den Strom zu schwimmen und ganz er selbst zu sein. Und siehe da: Als er seine Freunde vermisst und es ihn eines Tages wieder zurück nach Hause zieht, hat sich auch das Leben dort verändert. Ein wunderschönes Bilderbuch für alle wilden Tiger da draußen!