Blueberries for Sal

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101654811
Release Date: 1976-09-30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

What happens when Sal and her mother meet a mother bear and her cub? A Caldecott Honor Book! Kuplink, kuplank, kuplunk! Sal and her mother a picking blueberries to can for the winter. But when Sal wanders to the other side of Blueberry Hill, she discovers a mama bear preparing for her own long winter. Meanwhile Sal's mother is being followed by a small bear with a big appetite for berries! Will each mother go home with the right little one? With its expressive line drawings and charming story, Blueberries for Sal has won readers' hearts since its first publication in 1948. "The adventures of a little girl and a baby bear while hunting for blueberries with their mothers one bright summer day. All the color and flavor of the sea and pine-covered Maine countryside."—School Library Journal, starred review. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Blueberries for Sal

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Puffin
ISBN: 0142416436
Release Date: 2010-06
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Little Bear and Sal both go berrying with their mothers, but after sitting down to rest, they each end up following the other one's mother.

One Morning in Maine

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780140501742
Release Date: 1976
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

It's a big day for a little girl when she discovers her first loose tooth and makes a trip to the grocery store on the mainland.

Splish Splash ZooBorns

Author: Andrew Bleiman
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781481430999
Release Date: 2015-06-09
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Beat the heat—and the bathtime blues—with this splashtastic Level 1 Ready-to-Read about baby zoo animals that’s perfect for emerging readers! How do adorable baby zoo animals handle the summer heat? Baby hippos splish and splash; baby elephants take baths; and baby dolphins dive in the water! Cool off with the ZooBorn babies in this sweet Level 1 Ready-to-Read that’s perfect for even the youngest animal lover!

More Blueberries

Author: Susan Musgrave
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
ISBN: 9781459807099
Release Date: 2015-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

These young twins can't get enough of their favorite snack -- and they aren't the only ones! With playful rhyming text from award-winning poet Susan Musgrave and gorgeous illustrations by Esperança Melo, this exuberant board book will delight little ones and have everyone happily shouting, "More blueberries!"

Time of Wonder

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780451481856
Release Date: 1989-06-15
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Winner of the Caldecott Medal! For fans of Blueberries for Sal, One Morning in Maine, and Make way for Ducklings. "Out on the islands that poke their rocky shores above the waters of Penobscot Bay, you can watch the time of the world go by, from minute to minute, hour to hour, from day to day . . ." So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal. The spell of rain, the gulls and a foggy morning, the excitement of sailing, the quiet of the night, the sudden terror of a hurricane, and, in the end, the peace of the island as the family packs up to leave are shown in poetic language and vibrant, evocative pictures.

Lentil

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780451481795
Release Date: 1978-04-27
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Young Lentil wants to learn to sing, but no matter how hard he tries he can’t sing on key. He can’t even pucker his lips to whistle! So Lentil learns to play the harmonica instead and beautifully carries his tune through the winding streets of Alto, Ohio. Lentil masters his craft just as the beloved Colonel Carter returns to town and the Alto residents decide to plan a special celebration. But Old Sneep, the grouchiest man in town, doesn’t want anyone celebrating Colonel Carter’s homecoming. When Old Sneep stops the welcoming parade in its tracks, Lentil’s music turns out to be just what Alto needs. Robert McCloskey, the Caldecott-winning author and illustrator of Make Way for Ducklings, brings readers this delightful two color picture book.

Amelia Bedelia Bookworm

Author: Herman Parish
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780060518929
Release Date: 2005-06-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Amelia Bedelia is helping out at the library! She may not know the difference between a stegosaurus and a thesaurus, but Amelia Bedelia will go to any lengths to make reading fun. Ages 4 – 8

Peekaboo Blueberry

Author: Barney Saltzberg
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0152060626
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In an adorable follow-up to Hi, Blueberry! that features an interactive surprise, little ones, by lifting the flaps, can play peekaboo with the mischievous bunny and her mouse friends.

Burt Dow Deep water Man

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780140509786
Release Date: 1989
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Burt goes fishing, takes refuge from a storm in a whale's stomach, and decorates a whole school of whales' tails with striped band-aids.

Bring Me Some Apples and I ll Make You a Pie

Author: Robbin Gourley
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0618158367
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

From the whippoorwill's call on the first day of spring through the first snowfall, Edna Lewis and members of her family gather fruits, berries, and vegetables from the fields, garden, and orchard on their Virginia farm and turn them into wonderful meals, a wonderful beginning for a woman who would become an award-winning African-American chef.

The Peter Rabbit Collection

Author: Beatrix Potter
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1541361415
Release Date: 2016-12-30
Genre:

ONCE upon a time there were four little Rabbits, and their names were- Flopsy, Mopsy, Cotton-tail, and Peter. They lived with their Mother in a sand-bank, underneath the root of a very big fir tree. "NOW, my dears," said old Mrs. Rabbit one morning, "you may go into the fields or down the lane, but don't go into Mr. McGregor's garden: your Father had an accident there; he was put in a pie by Mrs. McGregor." "NOW run along, and don't get into mischief. I am going out." THEN old Mrs. Rabbit took a basket and her umbrella, to the baker's. She bought a loaf of brown bread and five currant buns. FLOPSY, Mopsy, and Cottontail, who were good little bunnies, went down the lane to gather blackberries; BUT Peter, who was very naughty, ran straight away to Mr. McGregor's garden and squeezed under the gate! FIRST he ate some lettuces and some French beans; and then he ate some radishes; AND then, feeling rather sick, he went to look for some parsley. BUT round the end of a cucumber frame, whom should he meet but Mr. McGregor!