Blueberries for Sal

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101654811
Release Date: 1976-09-30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

What happens when Sal and her mother meet a mother bear and her cub? A Caldecott Honor Book! Kuplink, kuplank, kuplunk! Sal and her mother a picking blueberries to can for the winter. But when Sal wanders to the other side of Blueberry Hill, she discovers a mama bear preparing for her own long winter. Meanwhile Sal's mother is being followed by a small bear with a big appetite for berries! Will each mother go home with the right little one? With its expressive line drawings and charming story, Blueberries for Sal has won readers' hearts since its first publication in 1948. "The adventures of a little girl and a baby bear while hunting for blueberries with their mothers one bright summer day. All the color and flavor of the sea and pine-covered Maine countryside."—School Library Journal, starred review.

Blueberries for Sal

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher:
ISBN: 0670050024
Release Date: 1967
Genre: Bears

With their mothers, a little girl and a bear cub pick blueberries in the country. Wandering astray, however, each one mistakes the other's mother for her own.

LIFE

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN:
Release Date: 1948-12-27
Genre:

LIFE Magazine is the treasured photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. It now lives on at LIFE.com, the largest, most amazing collection of professional photography on the internet. Users can browse, search and view photos of today’s people and events. They have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.

Involving Parents Through Children s Literature

Author: Anthony D. Fredericks
Publisher: Libraries Unlimited
ISBN: 1563080222
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Education

Contains activity sheets based upon popular children's books, designed in a convenient format so that they can be taken home by children. Each sheet includes a summary of the book, discussion questions and a list of learning activities for adults and children.

Letters from the Trail

Author: Blueberry
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781479723874
Release Date: 2012-12-20
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Letters from the trail: Excerpts from a collection of letters written by a 50+ year old woman from Maine and Maryland as she pursued a life goal of hiking the entire 2,170+ miles on the Appalachian Trail. This book is filled with information people always ask about hiking the AT, including where she slept, what she ate, how she stayed safe, how she planned her hike, what she carried for equipment. This is an inspirational book for those who want to hike, an information book for the questions people ask, and a tribute to life in the outdoors- - -all rolled into one.

Very Blueberry

Author: Jennifer Trainer Thompson
Publisher: Celestial Arts
ISBN: 9780307788818
Release Date: 2011-03-23
Genre: Cooking

Groundbreaking studies show that blueberries contain disease-fighting compounds not found in any other food. The high amounts of antioxidants found in them are believed to have powerful anti-memory-loss and cancer-preventing properties. And, despite their natural sweetness, blueberries are remarkably low in the carbohydrates and sugar calories overabundant in other fruit. Very Blueberry goes beyond the blueberry muffin (though it does include a sub-lime recipe for it!) and features this essential fruit in innovative new recipes like Goat Cheese Tart with Caramelized Onions and Blueberries; Arugula, Prosciutto, and Blueberry Salad with Honey-Citrus Vinaigrette; Pork Tenderloin with Peach-Blueberry Chutney; and Blueberry Salsa. With this charming, little cookbook, incorporating the recommended half a cup of blueberries into your daily diet will always be a sweet delight. • Features more than 40 blueberry recipes for breakfasts, soups, salads, entrées, jams, and gifts. • The blueberry is number one in antioxidant activity of all fruits and vegetables. Antioxidants prevent health problems like Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, cancer, diabetes, circulation problems, and urinary tract infections. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Quotation Index to Children s Literature

Author: Melanie Axel-Lute
Publisher: Libraries Unlimited
ISBN: 1563088096
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Education

Presents over 1,800 quotations from nearly five hundred works of children's literature, arranged alphabetically by author, and includes quotes from fairy tales and nursery rhymes, as well as keyword and title indexes, and a bibliography.

What to Read When

Author: Pam Allyn
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101032398
Release Date: 2009-04-02
Genre: Education

Read Pam Allyn's posts on the Penguin Blog The books to read aloud to children at the important moments in their lives. In What to Read When, award-winning educator Pam Allyn celebrates the power of reading aloud with children. In many ways, books provide the first opportunity for children to begin to reflectively engage with and understand the world around them. Not only can parents entertain their child and convey the beauty of language through books, they can also share their values and create lasting connections. Here, Allyn offers parents and caregivers essential advice on choosing appropriate titles for their children—taking into account a child’s age, attention ability, gender, and interests— along with techniques for reading aloud effectively. But what sets this book apart is the extraordinary, annotated list of more than three hundred titles suitable for the pivotal moments in a child’s life. With category themes ranging from friendship and journeys to thankfulness, separations, silliness, and spirituality, What to Read When is a one-of-a-kind guide to how parents can best inspire children through reading together. In addition, Pam Allyn includes an indispensable “Reader’s Ladder” section, with recommendations for children at every stage from birth to age ten. With the author’s warm and engaging voice throughout, discussion questions to encourage in-depth conversations, as well as advice on helping kids make the transition to independent reading, this book will help shape thoughtful, creative, and curious children, imparting a love of reading that will last a lifetime. These Penguin Young Reader's Books are referenced in What to Read When Sylvia Jean: Drama Queen by Lisa Campbell Ernst (Penguin Young Reader’s Group: 2005) Two Is For Twins, by Wendy Cheyette Lewison, illustrations by Hiroe Nakata (Penguin Young Readers: 2006) Remember Grandma? by Laura Langston (Penguin Group (USA): May 2004) Soul Looks Back in Wonder compiled by Tom Feelings (Puffin Books) Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey (Penguin Books USA, Incorporated: December 1957) When I was Young in the Mountainsby Cynthia Rylant illustrated by Diane Goode (Penguin Young Readers Group: January 1993) Nana Upstairs and Nana Downstairs by Tomie DePaola (Puffin Books, an imprint of Penguin Books, Inc.:1973) Good Night, Good Knight by Shelly Moore Thomas, illustrations by Jennifer Plecas (Penguin Young Readers Group: 2002)

Marla Frazee

Author: Sheila Griffin Llanas
Publisher: ABDO
ISBN: 9781614785019
Release Date: 2012-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

This biography introduces readers to Marla Frazee, illustrator of the beautiful, award-winning All the World picture book. Readers will learn about Frazee's childhood and current family life in California, her early interest in drawing, as well as the real-life inspiration for some of her picture book stories such as A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever and Roller Coaster. Easy-to-read text and full-color photos highlight Frazee's childhood, family, education, life as an illustrator, and her beloved works, including the popular Clementine books. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.

Time of Wonder

Author: Robert McCloskey
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780451481856
Release Date: 1989-06-15
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Winner of the Caldecott Medal! For fans of Blueberries for Sal, One Morning in Maine, and Make way for Ducklings. "Out on the islands that poke their rocky shores above the waters of Penobscot Bay, you can watch the time of the world go by, from minute to minute, hour to hour, from day to day . . ." So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal. The spell of rain, the gulls and a foggy morning, the excitement of sailing, the quiet of the night, the sudden terror of a hurricane, and, in the end, the peace of the island as the family packs up to leave are shown in poetic language and vibrant, evocative pictures.