Bait and Switch

Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Publisher: Granta Books
ISBN: 1862078971
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Displaced workers

The author of the international bestseller Nickel and Dimed delivers a stark warning about the future that faces corporate employees everywhere.

Bait and Switch

Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Publisher: Metropolitan Books
ISBN: 1429915706
Release Date: 2006-07-25
Genre: Political Science

The bestselling author of Nickel and Dimed goes back undercover to do for America's ailing middle class what she did for the working poor Barbara Ehrenreich's Nickel and Dimed explored the lives of low-wage workers. Now, in Bait and Switch, she enters another hidden realm of the economy: the shadowy world of the white-collar unemployed. Armed with a plausible résumé of a professional "in transition," she attempts to land a middle-class job—undergoing career coaching and personality testing, then trawling a series of EST-like boot camps, job fairs, networking events, and evangelical job-search ministries. She gets an image makeover, works to project a winning attitude, yet is proselytized, scammed, lectured, and—again and again—rejected. Bait and Switch highlights the people who've done everything right—gotten college degrees, developed marketable skills, and built up impressive résumés—yet have become repeatedly vulnerable to financial disaster, and not simply due to the vagaries of the business cycle. Today's ultra-lean corporations take pride in shedding their "surplus" employees—plunging them, for months or years at a stretch, into the twilight zone of white-collar unemployment, where job searching becomes a full-time job in itself. As Ehrenreich discovers, there are few social supports for these newly disposable workers—and little security even for those who have jobs. Like the now classic Nickel and Dimed, Bait and Switch is alternately hilarious and tragic, a searing exposé of economic cruelty where we least expect it.

Bait and Switch

Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 0805076069
Release Date: 2005-09-06
Genre: Business & Economics

Focuses on the world of white-collar unemployment as seen through the eyes of the unemployed, describing the woes of "surplus" employees who are forced to confront the realities of financial hardship with few social supports or security.

Bait and Switch

Author: Larry Brooks
Publisher: Turner
ISBN: 1630262781
Release Date: 2013-11-05
Genre: Fiction

A lighter thriller, in the vein of Nelson Demille, unfolding in the world of Silicon Valley billionaires and the women who seek and use them for their money. The man: Wolfgang Schmitt: former model, newly single, habitual wiseass. It's a profile only his ailing mother could love—but it makes him perfect for one thing . . . The bait: Billionaire Nelson Scott wants Schmitt to seduce his wife—setting off a prenuptial clause that will keep her hands off his money. The job pays a million bucks just for trying. Another four if Schmitt pulls it off. All he has to do is say yes . . . The switch: Next thing he knows, he's dealing with a lot more than he bargained for. Like Scott's gorgeous, stiletto-sharp lawyer. A couple of shady suits who may or may not be Feds. And a few more dead bodies than he's used to. But in the big leagues of money and power, Schmitt happens.

Bait and Switch

Author: Julie A. Mertus
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781135934729
Release Date: 2013-06-17
Genre: Political Science

It has become routine for the U.S. government to invoke human rights to justify its foreign policy decisions and military ventures. But this human rights talk has not been supported by a human rights walk. Policymakers consistently apply a double standard for human rights norms: one the rest of the world must observe, but which the U.S. can safely ignore. Based on extensive interviews with leading foreign policymakers, military officials, and human rights advocates, Mertus tells the story of how America's attempts to promote human rights abroad have, paradoxically, undermined those rights in other countries. The second edition brings the story up to date, including new sections on the second half of the Bush administration and the Iraq War, and updates on Afghanistan. The first edition of Bait and Switch won the American Political Science Association's 2005 Best Book on Human Rights.

Bait Switch

Author: Megan L. Hunter
Publisher: BookBaby
ISBN: 9781936268719
Release Date: 2015-06-01
Genre: Family & Relationships

Has your fairytale romance suddenly transformed into relationship chaos? Are you bewildered with how the person of your dreams has morphed into someone you barely recognize—displaying hostile, unpredictable behavior that leaves you exhausted and confused? If your relationship has deteriorated into one high-conflict scenario after another, and you’re trying to decide whether you should dig deep and try to make it work or cut your losses and exit safely, this straight-talking book has the answers you need. In Bait & Switch, relationship expert Megan Hunter provides an inside view of complicated relationships and the "Complicated Operating System". She offers practical strategies to help real couples deal with the behavior and ensuing conflict. Hunter explores the interactions, conscious and unconscious, that occur in a bait and switch relationship—both during the convincing “sales pitch” given before the partners commit to each other through marriage or moving into together and then immediately after, when the switch has been thrown and distressing behaviors are swiftly revealed—and recommends strategies for changing these dynamics. You’ll learn about the brain science behind this behavior, take tests to determine exactly what kind of relationship you’re dealing with, and develop new skills to help you minimize and contain the conflict in your relationship. In short, this book offers hope to stop the swirling chaos, whether you ultimately decide to stay or leave.

Straight Outta Comcast

Author: Will Powers
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1544218435
Release Date: 2017-03-06
Genre:

Many people wonder how Comcast remains in business while having such a bad reputation. And why haven't they been exposed? I used to wonder the same thing myself...I realized that in order for anyone to ever publish an accurate and true tell all book exposing Comcast and reveal all what they are doing and how they are doing it, it would require a tremendous amount of focus and organization of facts. Not just organization of events, but an organization of one's thoughts on the matter. Because we all know that when someone or something irritates or frustrates us, it can sometimes be difficult to focus and truly put things into perspective. Fortunately, throughout my 3 years of working at Comcast, I kept a journal of every significant event and occurrence that I saw as unethical, shady or something that was just plain ole messed up. I admit that initially I had no specific reason for keeping a journal, but as time went on, something told me that my detailed note taking would one day serve a purpose. After about a year and a half, I got the idea to write a book about Comcast. I wanted the world to know exactly what's going on and even show readers how to escape agreements without paying an early termination fee. Because of what I see unfolding and how it is affecting and going to affect so many consumers, something had to be done. Bottom line, what they are doing just ain't right. Enough is Enough!

Bait and Switch

Author: Darlene Gardner
Publisher:
ISBN: 0505525216
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Fiction

Trading places with his identical twin brother in order to catch a criminal, Mitch, a cop on an undercover mission, encounters Peyton, his brother's gorgeous and extremely irate girlfriend, and, determined to get back into her good graces for his brother's sake, he finds himself falling in love with the spirited beauty. Original.

Bait and Switch

Author: Blythe Warren
Publisher: Bella Books
ISBN: 9781642470024
Release Date: 2017-10-01
Genre: Fiction

Full-time marine biologist and part-time heartbreaker Liv Cucinelli knows that there are plenty of fish in the sea. So why can’t she seem to escape the lure of the one woman she hates the most? When Liv is unexpectedly reunited with Mira Butler—the homophobic princess who ruined Liv’s college career—the last thing she wants is to spend even a second in the company of her former nemesis. Having loathed Mira for years, she’s not prepared to forgive her, let alone pursue a friendship. But Mira, who is oblivious to the destruction she caused, refuses to leave Liv alone. Once Liv learns the truth about their shared past, she begins to see there is more to Mira than she could have ever anticipated. Can they overcome their stormy history to become friends? Or maybe even more?

Bait and Switch

Author: MC Lee
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 9781635334241
Release Date: 2017-07-11
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

When Leo’s mission to investigate a high school student gets complicated, Jack gets called in—and finally learns the truth about himself.

Bait and Switch

Author: Sharon Healy-Yang
Publisher: Touchpoint Press
ISBN: 0692597948
Release Date: 2015-12-15
Genre:

It's wartime New York, 1943. Jessica Minton, an up-and-coming young stage actress, is pondering the mixed blessings of rehearsals for a play that just doesn't seem to be jelling, the attentions of a reliable beau she isn't quite sure she wants to marry, and playing referee for her sister and brother-in-law's tempestuous marriage. Just as she thinks her life couldn't get any crazier, she becomes entangled with deceit, espionage, and murder when an unsettlingly attractive stranger makes her the unwilling custodian of a mysterious package in a Manhattan stalked by fifth columnists. Those who claim to be her allies may or may not be on the level, as Jessica is shot at, nearly stabbed in the midst of a performance, and held at gun point by a Nazi double agent. As if dodging homicide were not enough, Jessica finds herself romantically torn between her boyfriend and the elusive owner of the package--either of whom could be an Axis spy. With the help of her madcap sister Liz and a smart-aleck cat Dusty, Jessica is challenged to puzzle out whom to trust, with not just her country but her own life depending on her. Romance and adventure in the vein of Susan Elia McNeal, Kathryn Miller Haines, and Rhys Bowen.

Bait and Switch

Author: JoAnn Ross
Publisher: Mira Books
ISBN: 1551661721
Release Date: 1996
Genre: Fiction

Forging great works of art as part of her plan for revenge, Sara Madison plans to steal an ancient jeweled crown but is thwarted by Noah Lancaster, an art expert who is sworn to mend Sara's ways. Reissue.

Bait Switch

Author: Megan Hunter
Publisher: Unhooked Books
ISBN: 1936268701
Release Date: 2015-03-31
Genre: Family & Relationships

A conflict resolution expert offers assistance to people stuck in a high-conflict relationships, addressing the perspective of both sides of the argument and providing step-by-step strategies for either staying in the relationship or getting out of it. Original. 1,000 first printing.